Fascinating Article from a Hip-Hop Artist on “Why I Left the Major Label System”

If you are an artist with major marketing dollars behind you, then streaming may work out better for you in the long run, but if you are indie, like the vast majority of artists are, betting that you will continue to make money off someone playing a song of yours twenty years from now is a fool’s bet. A true fan will understand that streaming should enhance the sale, not replace it. This could be the sale of an album, a t-shirt or a concert ticket, but there should be some form of support. Unfortunately, having this understanding requires high moral fiber and an unusually acute awareness of how the record business is run. When I was coming up pre-internet, you had to own an album or two to consider yourself a fan of an artist. Now, someone will call themselves my biggest fan because they’ve seen one of my videos on YouTube for free. I can’t make this up, people come up to me all the time saying things like this.

Read More!

Posted on February 24, 2015, in current trends. Bookmark the permalink. 49 Comments.

  1. Yes, Hg fascinating article indeed thank you. The business has always be been a very hard nut to crack, but in today’s market that statement is a huge understatement.
    One thing I got from the article is that you have to stay connected to your fans in order for them to want to open up their pocket book and buy your product no matter what level of success.

  2. Enjoying the performanceson The Voice.

  3. I have watched The Voice for the last 2 nights and it has been very entertaining. Some good performances. 🙂

  4. chirp, chirp, chirp, hehe

  5. Soul Clarkian

  6. I really like Clark. He is the one to watch for me on AI this year. I want to see how he progresses. It will be interesting to see what show does better the ratings this week-The Voice or AI. peter-Thanks for posting the videos.

  7. It’s funny to me how this blog in particular, but all of the fan blogs of David have taken on topics away from David, lol. Don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy any conversions and let’s face it, the drought continues, so it does seem understandable why the change.
    What I since in this site is that most that still comment have given up on David ( 🙂 ) but still enjoy commenting, which is ok, at least, something to read, lol. I know call me silly, but I haven’t given up on David and still will keep commenting about him.

  8. Interesting thought peter, so you are saying that David no longer is interested in pursuing a music career? Yes, from what he has been doing since his return has given that impression. So here the thing, should the fan sites shut down or like I think you would wish would happen, that the subject be completely changed from a David fan site to, I don’t know, what you feel you are enjoying doing, lol. Yes, you have become active again with a lot of great videos with some phenomenal talent (yes, I don’t only reserve that word for David, lol) and I do enjoy most of them, but hum, I guess what I’m saying until David himself says that he no longer wants to have a music career…I’m here waiting, granted my expectations have changed, but still think he might get back a music career.
    Now as far as following his every move, I don’t have any interest in his private life and keep on looking for anything that shows me that he is working on his career, lol, I know, stupid of me to hang on, but what the heck, it’s still a David Archuleta fan site.

    • well cq it seems you may be on the right track,peter is doeing just what some of you have been accuseing the church is doeing (uesubg david)except they are paying him, peter is useing his name to promote other artist.it is still a david fan site until hg changes the name,

      • Promote? Really?

        David is promoting posthumous baptism under the guise of genealogy (RootsTech, “Nunca Pense”). Other than that, he has pretty much lost his promotional power. He may regain it later, though.

        I was not criticizing anyone on this site. It’s just that I get the impression that he wants to be left alone until he releases new music.

  9. Peter, I tend to agree with you. I dont see him reaching out to fans, at this time. I don’t think he really wants to have any contact until he releases his new ‘babies’, so to speak. But if I were him, I would be reaching out as much as I could, if he wants any kind of a decent career. Keeping in contact is key, IMO

  10. peter is right. David could not have made it more obvious he wants nothing to do with fans until and to me “if” he releases his new music. Everything since he returned has been involving his church or church members. I have no interest in that at all but to those that do- then good for you. 🙂 Frankly am bored with David’s career and will no longer comment on it as there is nothing for me to comment on anymore. lol. It has all been stated over and over and over again by me. I am done but that is just me. lol. There is a David fan site for those really devoted fans- FOD. 🙂 Now I hope Clark does well on AI. 🙂

  11. cq, David still wants a music career and I’m still here waiting too. Kari and David were in Cali on business when David got asked to go Mexico. It was a fun trip for them and good for David to see some latino fans.

    • Really…i had no clue. I’m glad for that, but he could still be a little more open with us. He was pre-mission. So I don’t quite fully get his approach, or lack of, with keeping us in the loop. We are tired of ‘waiting’ and guessing. For me, its not the waiting, but its the waiting and wondering if he is even interested in his career. I would just like a little more communication on how things are going musically. I don’t need another one of those ‘famous’ blogs, just a tweet to let us know that he is still working. If he isn’t communicating then it leaves us wondering if he still even wants a career in music. He pops up once in a blue moon and it usually isn’t about working on music.

    • dfan, business, 🙂 sounds good to me,

    • Not that it matters, but David was not with Kari in Cali on business when he got the invite to Mexico. He was sighted at the Walmart in Utah after Kari tweeted about being glad she had her passport. It was a fun trip. Lots of Mexican LDS fans. He was very happy because he was in his element and he could actually communicate with them w/o his mom being there. haha.

  12. Stream! Buy! Vote!

    (Just kidding.)

  13. I know the day’s not over yet, but today is David’s brother Daniel’s 21st birthday. Will David tweet a birthday greeting to his brother? A 21st birthday is a big deal after all. David has always tweeted birthday greetings to members of his family. I think he’s continued to do so since his return. I don’t know why it bothers me & makes me a little sad to think he may be estranged from his dad & brother. But the day isn’t over yet.

    Peter, I agree with you. This is what David wants. Didn’t he say something like we should go live our lives & stop living for him? We wouldn’t know anything about what he’s up to if not for the random tweets or photos from people he runs into or while sightseeing like in Mexico. Mostly LDS people which is rather ironic if you get my drift.

    Am I mistaken, or didn’t HG change the name of this site from “Soul David” to Soul Davidians” so that we could discuss other topics besides David since there wasn’t a lot to discuss about him while he was gone? Unfortunately, there’s still not a lot to discuss. Maybe when he releases, IF he’s able to release his new music, there will be some legitimate excitement & reasons to discuss David & his artistry. In the meantime, there’s a whole slew of new artists we can admire with the start of the new season of The Voice here & in other countries. as well as AI, for those who still watch AI. I’m still amazed at all the talented singers out there we are introduced to year after year!

    • Actually, David hasn’t wished a happy birthday to any of his family members, except his mom, since his return. He didn’t wish any of his sisters a happy birthday. I believe Claudia and jazzy birthdays are in October. So it doesn’t surprise me. Amber’s is in February I believe. Don’t quote me on that one. I’m not sure when his dads is though. But I believe there is tension between the men.

  14. I hope everyone that comments here understands that I didn’t mean that other artists and other conversation shouldn’t be done, in the contrary, I welcome other conversation, including other artists videos, after all we are still in a drought mode, lol. I just felt like I needed to make that comment, hope no one is offended.

    • No offense here cq. I admire how you will stand by David, even when you get those little nagging doubts about where he’s headed, you still have high hopes. I like how at the same time you can be realistic too.

  15. Since HG has changed the name of the site from Soul David (a site about David) to Soul Davidians (a site about the posters themselves) I will follow her advise and comment about what the Soul Davidians have on their mind.

    First of all, to Peter, our resident videographer, who posts videos about anybody but David on a David Archuleta site. Your flavor of the week is the generic Clark Beckham, whose “ken doll” appearance makes David’s “look” seem like Marilyn Manson in comparison. Watching Clark take a hatchet to the Percy Sledge classic “When a Man Loves a Woman” was truly painful to watch. If ever AI needed Simon to “tell it like it is” it was for this. Clark does not even qualify for the obligatory “this year’s David Archuleta” comparison. I also said “OMG” when I saw it, which proves that OMG can mean many things.

    Marie (Hope) It’s been literally days since we’ve been treated to this from you: “Frankly I am bored with David’s career and will no longer comment on it as there is nothing for me to comment on anymore. lol”

    Then you add ” It has all been stated over and over and over again by me.”

    Yes, and over, and over, and over, and over, and over…………………………………

    Apparently your’re unfamiliar with the characteristics of addiction. You have said that so many times, I’ve stopped counting, yet you still post it as if nobody remembers the other 20x. See you here very, very soon, lol.

    Dana, this gem, from you, “We are tired of ‘waiting’ and guessing. For me, its not the waiting, but its the waiting and wondering if he is even interested in his career”.

    Poor Dana. “Waiting and guessing” must be exhausting business. When did waiting for an artist to finish creating a CD (which he has said he is, in fact, doing) become a full time commitment which prevents the “waiter” from doing their day to day activities and interacting with the people in their actual lives? Did you quit your job over this? Hang in there, Dana. you’re a real trouper, lol. Anyway, David’s CD is being delayed because, according to Peter, “David is promoting posthumous baptism under the guise of genealogy”.

    This site never disappoints. It’s literally a treasure trove of mind boggling posts that you just don’t see anywhere else. I wonder why.

    I welcome all comments, but please resist the urge to call me a “circus bitch”. You’re better than that, lol.

    • Ho-hum… Yawn….

    • I think I will commit suicide on that one bliss. Nice job there therapist. Lol

      • Please don’t, Dana. You’ve just been promoted to “Whiner In Chief” of the site. Plus, you’re quite the investigative reporter of the pressing issues of the day. Isis, shmIsis. We need to get to the bottom of the real issues, like when David’s siblings birthdays are and who is calling who to wish them a Happy Birthday. Here is what you’ve uncovered so far:

        “Actually, David hasn’t wished a happy birthday to any of his family members, except his mom, since his return. He didn’t wish any of his sisters a happy birthday. I believe Claudia and jazzy birthdays are in October. So it doesn’t surprise me. Amber’s is in February I believe. Don’t quote me on that one. I’m not sure when his dads is though. But I believe there is tension between the men.”

        Glad your’re on the case. We await your follow up with baited breath.

    • OMG. You are losing your touch. Try harder.

      But you are absolutely right: he is not buttoned-up or messed up enough to be “this year’s David Archuleta.” Not even close.

  16. Dana, try to ignore the bait. 😉

    New post up>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

  17. Just me: Exactly. Spot On. 🙂

