Back to the Business of Music-Making

Posted on January 30, 2015, in David's twitter. Bookmark the permalink. 182 Comments.

  1. Correct. Still no appreciation for his fans for the past umpteen years,

    • Bringing this over to this page…And that last sentence…If you’ll be there, then I suppose we will see each other then. Woah! and ppl don’t see a problem with this?????

      • David’s blog. Hmmmm?

        Social Media Break

        I mentioned last week that I have deleted the twitter and instagram apps from my phone. Why? So I could see how much more time I would have on my hands without them.

        I would, without even thinking, pull my phone out, click on these apps, and start looking through photos, and what’s going on in other people’s lives. Not only that, you come across pictures and comments of what other people think about your life. This curiosity of what others think of you starts affecting your own view of who you are, whether it be blowing things up so your head gets big, or being hurt by the very opinionated people who happen to have an opinion about every detail of your life. But that’s beside the main point.

        My main point is that I think I am on my phone for 60 seconds and I look at the time realizing 45 minutes have passed by. I was wasting too much time waiting for a new update, new picture, and imagining that I am connecting to the world when really I was becoming disconnected to reality— feeling unaccomplished and a little empty after all that time with each curiosity session of snooping around other people’s lives and what other snoopy people thought of my own life.

        I am on a journey to not be so caught up in what everyone else thinks. What is the purpose in this? It is to care more about what I think. The more you are caught up in what everyone else thinks, you disregard yourself. “Nevermind what I think of myself and what is going on in my life! I am too busy worrying about what everyone else thinks of me!” I feel my brain was telling myself.

        These same thoughts have gone through my mind throughout all of my life. Lately I have gotten so sick of them that I decided to try and shut the voices of others off, including the ones that got stuck inside my mind. The best solution I had for this was to stop looking at everything on social media. I cannot focus on very many things at once. When I am worried about what everyone else is telling me to do, or comparing myself to what other people are showing on twitter, Instagram, and other sites I cannot focus on what my own feelings are, or what that still, small voice within is trying to tell you.

        RESULTS:

        How has this been going so far? Well, my thoughts and feelings are very connected to what comes out of me musically. The more in tune I am with myself, the more music comes out. It has been refreshing to get more of my own stories out through lyrics, or even with melodies. I am discovering that the only way to get this music out is to get rid of all of the other voices from my head. When I have all of the other voices going through my mind, whatever is coming out feels superficial, dead, and empty.

        Now, am I disregarding social life and contact with other humans? No! Of course not! I have actually spent more time personally with people visiting them, spending time, and catching up with friends. I just need a balance of experiences spending time with these people along with the alone time to reflect more on what’s on my mind and in my soul.

        I have been creating music with many of these friends and also with a lot of great writers. I am in Nashville to be more focused on this new music project and have been forming more of this story I feel like I need to tell in the next chapter. It is exciting for me, because I feel good in the process. I don’t really know where it’s all going or where it’ll end up, but the fact that I am trying is one of the greatest feelings about it. I’m not afraid of making mistakes like I used to, and sometimes you’ve got to fall so you know what it feels like to get back up. I think getting back on your feet to keep going can be a feeling that feels even better than smooth sailing the entire time. You may end at the same destination whether you fall or smooth sail the whole time, but something about pushing through and fighting the good fight makes the entire journey all worth it—perhaps even greater than the destination itself that you were moving towards.

        CONCLUSION:

        What I am basically trying to say is I need silence in order to function. My quiet time is valuable to me. Everyone keeps asking me how things are in Nashville. I say “It’s really nice. It’s quiet.” Part of this is because I have decided to make this quiet time for me, but also this town is a place where I feel peace.

        Whoever may happen to be reading this, I would encourage you to try this yourself, and delete your social media apps even if it’s for a couple of days and see how much more you notice about yourself and life in general. You’re not going to die without it, even if at first you feel like it and that you’re “behind the times.” It’s worth it. Trust me. Next week I will be back in Utah for the RootsTech 2015 convention. I will be singing a few songs and also premiering the music video I shot in Costa Rica last Summer. It’s a song I wrote that’s actually in Spanish, and is about finding yourself by looking in the past. If you’ll be there, then I suppose we will see each other then.

        David

      • Dana, yes, that was so matter of fact, without any enthusiasm, but I still want to focus on him sharing that he is concentrating on his music.
        There’s a lot going on with this young man.

  2. The blog wasn’t that bad it was not recognizing the fans I guess. But maybe that will come later. That last sentence seemed a little cold though.

    • Basically, he doesn’t like reading about himself, seeing photos of himself and doesn’t like reading about all the opinions people have about his him & his life.

      I get it. I really do. IF he was a huge superstar, I would absolutely get it. But he’s NOT. He’s at the cusp of reviving his career and he absolutely will need the social media to promote his music UNLESS he has a sponsor who will foot the bill for promoting his new music. It sounds to me like he still has a ways to go to in getting an album together. He’s definitely taking his time and I hope the result will be great music.

      I was rather surprised he finds peace & quiet in Nashville. Does he mean as opposed to Utah? lol!
      Nashville is anything but quiet & peaceful, but for a musician who lives & breathes music, I guess the atmosphere could be considered peaceful in a sense.

      Anyway, I know fans who will always think everything David says or does is above reproach, will see his blog as wonderful & inspiring. Other’s who read between the lines may see it as another slam to the fans who have used the social media to promote & keep his name out there & in the minds of those who would have already forgotten him the last three years. I wonder what he really thinks about the fan sites?

      Have to get to bed now so good night. Sorry if I offended anyone. Just my opinions…uh-oh. My bad!
      🙂

      • Great comment Senseless, I’m just happy he is concentrating on music, but I do wish he wasn’t so upset ever since he returned, 😦

      • Great point Senseless that if David was a superstar( or even hugely successful) he could get away with this attitude BUT he is not.

      • Cq, I’m thinking that he may have been upset before his mission, but was just putting on a happy face. The “real” David was probably never all happy happy joy joy. Remember the rumors that he was “close to a breakdown” in the years previous?

  3. David just does not want to show the appreciation to his fans that he should. I don’t really care but he has some really die hard supportive fans that need some thanks. They have hung in their unappreciated for literally years. Wow. He just really comes off as being a bit judgmental and preachy about the social media. I mean trying to tell young folks to delete their social media apps. Are you kidding me? lol. Is David going to have any younger fans left except for very conservative religious ones? I guess he does not care so why should anyone else. Oh David. I honestly do not believe David wants a secular career in the music industry. No way. If you are in the music industry you have to use the social media (twitter, instagram ect.) as a tool to advance your music career and keep in contact with your fans. He has not really been in contact with his fans for 3 years now. lol. He had a 2 yr break from the social media on his mission. lol. Oh well. Not my problem and not my career. It is David’s

  4. Interesting blog, I wish it was a little more happy, but really nice to read he is concentrating on his music in Nashville, love that and hoping to get great music from this very complex man.

  5. raelovingangels

    My observation is the same as the last blog. In my humble opinion, he likes the music side of a career but not the business side. Certainly a delima. Not looking at what people write seems smart. What was it that the talk show host said? It will either go to your head, or hurt your heart. ( to paraphrase). Social media is here to stay, however. So on the business side of things, someone, not the artist, generally needs to cultivate it. As was said before, David may have been way more comfortable as an 80’s artist.

    • Ahhhh. I forgot not to include a link, because my comment is in moderation. Here it is without the link:

      “I know that David wasn’t just talking about fan input, but all of social media, however this was excellent advice from TOfan last year:

      “I remember when Bonnie Hunt gave David great advice to not listen to either the praise or the critics. I doubt David goes near fansites with a 10-foot-pole but if he does … STOP READING NOW AND NEVER COME BACK! We need to hear what you have to say — in music obviously, on Twitter, in vlogs, Instagram, whatever you like — yes, it is part of your “job” … but, trust me, you do not need to hear what we have to say. Even this post. It’s a test. Avert your eyes.”

      • Thanks cc; couldn’t recall Bonnie’s name.

      • Bonnie Hunt, said…. When it’s good don’t let it go to your head and when it’s bad don’t let it go to your heart.
        it stood out to me at the time. Much easier said than done I would assume.

      • Great advice from Bonnie Hunt and I agree with TOfan’s comment 100%.
        I really think David has struggled with an addiction to social media. He did before his mission and it’s probably creeping up on him again. Addictions tend to do that. Maybe this is his way of kind of working it out and fighting back.

  6. I hope that since David’s resolved to “shut the voices of others off” he’ll tweet fewer of those darn quotes and communicate more in his own words.

  7. cc halo, I guess yes he might of been upset before the mission and he’s still upset, or should I say the blog gives me the impression that he is upset. I’m just happy that in this blog at least there is some music talk and very happy he said he was concentrating on his music and feel good in Nashville.
    Now how he’s going to sell this music is going to be very interesting if he doesn’t want to us social media, lol. I do think that he has to know that is important if he wishes to have a music career. I’m thinking that’s the reason he’s writing, to sell the music?
    I’m with you 1000% him having fewer of those darn quotes and communicate more in his won words.

  8. I’m guessing he or his management will continue to use social media to promote his music releases and appearance/tours. But I think glimpses of his personal life will appear much less often. And that’s really the way it should be.

    I think a lot of people are struggling with the fact that when David was a teen he seemed to be willing to happily share his daily life with his fans. As a result his fans not only got the opportunity of enjoying his fantastic voice, but they were able to join him on his amazing and unique journey through life. But, David is a musician, not a reality show. And now that he is an adult, he wants and deserves a private life like anyone else.

    I think the fans will just need to get used to the empty nest syndrome that comes with that.

  9. I don’t really have much to say about David’s new blog. Just that when I read it, it’s like reading something written by a stranger. I guess that’s what David really is to us. We, or I, at least thought I knew him but since he’s returned from his mission everything I hear and read from him makes me feel more and more removed from him. I used to feel like he was a sort of long distance friend. Now he is like a stranger. Someone I never knew at all. I feel like the more he tells us about himself now, the more of a stranger he will become because he’s so different than the fantasized version I guess I had of him in my mind. The version where he actually liked and appreciated his fans. I get the impression that the music he is writing now is not for the fans at all, but for himself, and he doesn’t really care if it sells or not so promotion won’t be a problem. Well, this turned out to be more than I thought I was going to say, but I guess that’s all now.

    • I feel a lot like you do. I feel very distant from him as well. I really do not know or even care for this “new” David. he almost seems arrogant in a way. I get the feeling he just doesn’t really care for his fans anymore. Why else wouldn’t he tell us how much he appreciates us waiting and all the support we have carried with us for all these years? Now he has cut us off even more. Granted this blog isn’t as bad as the first one, he still has a chip on his shoulder.

      • I’m not sure I understand the “waiting” comment. He released two albums in 2012 and one in 2013. He didn’t release an album in 2014 but he still released Glorious that year and was featured in 2 other albums. We also got videos of some pretty cool live performances from his trip to the Middle East and some great Christmas performances. David has been one of the most prolific music artists out there. With that in mind, what is it that you are waiting for?

        As for thanking his fans, he has done so in the liner notes of every album he has released. What more were you expecting from him?

      • Ha ha. Waiting with baited breath to see the liner notes to his next album, and if thanking fans is still part of that. He has a very very different tone about fans these days. I don’t think that’s in our imagination. A supposed insider said that he “doesn’t resent us”. Hope it gets better than that.

    • Hitandrun, I get what your saying and appreciate you sharing your true feelings. I don’t relate totally to what you said, but glad you were open about it.

  10. Yes, American Idol and to a lesser extent, Star Search, are reality shows where getting to know the person is part of the journey. It’s a very different avenue to fame than most pop stars, (not that we don’t think we “know” Taylor Swift or Justin Beiber). One of the strongest impressions I came away with, upon meeting David, was that we were strangers to one another–and I didn’t expect to feel that so strongly, having followed him for so long. It seems funny now that he even considered going the ShayCarl route.

  11. Halo, what is this about a breakdown? I have never heard that one. I just can’t imagine David having a “breakdown”. What led ppl into thinking he was close to one?

    • Behind the scenes chatter. I think his recent communications about his unhappiness in his previous career have suggested that one was probably true.

  12. Very interesting conversation, enjoy everyone perspective.
    cchalo, you are so right about the sing reality shows are about the singer, but about his connect with the audience, David had a likeability that was so strong, that connection was immediate. Yes, ShayCarl route is pretty funny to envision.
    Hitandrun, I understand your point, it does seem like a different person, not just a grow up David, one thing though, still has that voice that is beyond compare.
    My2cents, I totally agree with you. Would love for David to keep his personal life private and just give us anything to do with his professional life, which is music, music, music…. Actually for the last year, it’s been more about his philosophy in life, his religion and some family and really very little about his music, so if that changes I will be very happy.

  13. I do see your point halo. Something was definitely going on. I know there were times when I questioned his commitment to his career pre and post mission. There were signs that I wanted to ignore but couldn’t.

    I don’t care if he wants to share things about his family or friends, but I would like to hear more about music and things of that nature. I guess I really miss the old times. I could do without the quotes though. I never have been to big on them, and everyone would wonder if there was some hidden meaning behind them. They really did nothing for me.

    But unfortunately those days have ended and some fans are really tired of it. I think most of the younger fans have flown the coop. And I must say, I not near the fan I used to be, and that makes me sad. I want to be, its just not there anymore. I wish there was some magic dust, and go back to 2008 and start again. I would want David to enjoy it though.

  14. Remember the tasks for the week????!!!!! now those were something alright. I didn’t like those either. Lol

  15. He reminds me of some of the college students that I had. I think he’s starting to figure stuff out.

  16. Reading the blog again, it really sounds like he doesn’t want to communicate at through social media,(via twitter parties, etc.) even after he finishes writing all the material he plans to write. Is that what you guys take it as?

  17. My thoughts re. being a fan of 2015 David are along the lines of My2Cents’ most recent comments. As applicable, I also think fans should feel guilty liking David less than they did in 2008. Seven years is a long time and we’ve all changed in so many different ways.

    David says: “I’m not afraid of making mistakes like I used to, and sometimes you’ve got to fall so you know what it feels like to get back up.”
    A long time ago Rascal wrote a blog where he stated that David needed to fall to reach his next level of success. I’d love to hear his take on this blog.

    I don’t agree with everything David says and does but overall I honestly feel that the changes I see are for the better –self-awareness, self-empowerment, coming to grips with reality, addressing nagging issue head-on, living in the moment, and making a positive impact on the lives of others in the real world (vs. the virtual world).

    • Major typo, lol ….

      I also think fans should NOT feel guilty liking David less than they did in 2008. Seven years is a long time and we’ve all changed in so many different ways.

      • desertrat- Exactly. Also to all those folks that thought David would read his fan sites-No Way does he. He does not even want to check his social media sites anymore let alone fan sites. lol. I don’t think his management does either- whoever that really may be at this point. He can’t have much management as how would they be paid as he isn’t doing appearances or a tour. David does not care what fans may think. lol. Dana- I never liked those tasks of the week or the inspirational quotes David posted on twitter. Hope that stops. I am going back to posting as Marie. I just have no “hope” for David’s secular music career anymore. His being in Nashville writing does not really mean anything to me. Just keeping it real as always. lol. Does David even have any younger fans his own age left anymore that are not conservatively religious? Just asking. You can tell I have the day off. lol. 🙂

  18. Gosh it’s weird how the comments go over two pages now…

    Dana, I originally read that last line in a good way, kind of humorous. And familiar – like something you’d say to a friend.
    Going back and reading it again, I can only see one other possible meaning but that’s not negative either.

    • In a good way? I didn’t get that. I don’t think David would have said that pre mission. In fact there were several comments on twitter saying that they were glad they were not attending, and they felt bad for the ppl who were attending. I also saw a comment where someone said they would sell their ticket if they had one. Its not just me.

      • No, it’s not just you Dana. It seemed like a very cavalier statement to me. Almost as if he was saying he didn’t care one way or the other if anyone was going or not. I just wonder if the real David will be attending or the fake David, all smiles even if he is unhappy being surrounded by all his fans. Since he has said no sucking up I assume it will be the real David, but you just don’t know anymore.

      • Isn’t it a church event? He. Will. Smile.

      • Exactly Hitandrun. It was like he was saying he didn’t care who was there or not. I’m just glad I’m not going. I don’t and haven’t really wanted to attend since it was announced. I have no interest in going to things like that. Esp since the “new” David has emerged.

