Post-September 11 Reflection

Sorry I’m late with this, but it’s cool that David would give us this trip down memory lane:

Posted on September 12, 2014, in David's twitter. Bookmark the permalink. 220 Comments.

  1. Well bliss your goddess has spoken, I’m sure you are in heaven.

  2. I give up. I honestly do.

  3. Thanks but, you say this this “Yet Bliss tars all David’s granny fans with the same brush.”

    For the umpteenth and last time, that is a bald faced lie. I have met numerous older female fans who do not view David in a disrespectful or questionable manner. They are terrific people, love David in all the appropriate ways, and enjoy his music. If the shoe does not fit, why are you so ballistic on this issue. Some women feel that way. I’ve seen it in print. I didn’t make it up. Drop it already. I have.

    You need to do what you want David to do, which is to “lighten up” and wait like a grown up for David to release some music. Leave his religion to David. It’s his business. Not yours. He is his own person. That’s what he’s been telling everyone since he got back.

    As for all the name calling you still whine about, must I list all the names I’ve been called here. Today, “trained seal” was added to the repertoire. Here a name for you. You’re a KVETCH (def. a chronically resentful person who seems to look for things to complain about), and a nasty one to boot.

    • “For the umpteenth and last time, that is a bald faced lie.”

      Bliss, for you to call what I said a bald faced lie is itself a bald faced lie. You make a statement like David would like all his granny fans to go away or all his granny fans stalk David and try to kiss him is not negated if you then post that you have met numerous older female fans who do not view David in a disrespectful or questionable manner. One statement makes a lie of the other.

      You ask why I am so ballistic on this issue. It’s because I see it as part of the larger issue of how men see women in our society. I am a defender of women, period. I have been defending women since I became an adult female and saw how were women were talked about and treated by men in our society. I will be a defender of women until the day I die because I don’t see the treatment of women or society’s view of women as changing any time soon.

      I see how you talk to the women here and it is obvious to me that you have the same demeaning view of women that most of society does. Maybe you would say “I don’t treat my women friends that way. I treat them with respect”. I would say maybe you think you do but you cannot possibly because when you think no one knows you, like on an anonymous web forum, you feel free to let your true feelings come out. So, no, I don’t think you have respect for women.

      There are ways to talk to people, men or women, and let them know that you disagree with them on a subject. There ways to talk to the ladies here and let them know you disagree with how they talk about David’s religion, or his career, without demeaning them. You are an intelligent man. It wouldn’t be hard for you to figure out words to use that could get your point across and still not demean anyone. You don’t use those ways though because they wouldn’t suit your purpose of demeaning women.

      I don’t know why I spend so long trying to explain my thoughts, observations and feelings to you. They mean nothing to you. I spent a lot of time trying to compose this comment so I could get my thoughts just right. The laugh is on me.

    • Joke of the day:

      “Drop it already. I have.”

  4. For the record, it was CQ who first used the word “smut” when she responded to my post to her about David “feeding” her…. She said “Talk about not getting the point!!!! you are the one that sees smut in everything.”

    • Yes, I knew it wasn’t you Bliss. It was just easiest to refer to it in a general way like that.

      • Shanny did you read what he wrote in order for me to have said that…..come on.

      • Shanny, loved your posts tonight. As expected, you had to deal with the wrath of those who do not tolerate any disagreement, but ,as usual, you were more than equal to the task. It helps to have sanity and good will on your side, and that’s what you bring here every time you post. I appreciate your neutral position on all matters, and you evaluate each issue on its own merits. You also handle the relentless disrespect given to LDS with enviable tolerance. I don’t know how you do it, but I admire that quality greatly.

        I especially got a kick out of CQ saying “Well bliss your goddess has spoken, I’m sure you are in heaven.” I hope your husband doesn’t read this site, lol. Take care, and come back soon (at your own risk of course, lol)

      • Cq, I’ve said at least twice in this thread that I agree you were not speaking sexually. I’m not accusing you of anything on that.

      • Bliss, thank you for your kind words. Not everything I’ve said has been in agreeance with you and yet you don’t take offense. I admire that.

        As for the goddess remark….lol…well you make me think…..Maybe I SHOULD show it to my husband! It can’t be bad for a man to appreciate his wife a little more. 😉

    • Oh man, Yes, bliss, I did say smut because that’s what you reduced a comment I made about what David’s voice made me feel to, so please don’t play the innocent card.

      • CQ, no innocent card here. Just setting the record straight about who said what first.

      • Bliss is lying again, surprise surprise

        blisskasden
        on September 7, 2014 at 2:10 pm said:

        “You want David to “feed” you? That has got to be the creepiest thing I’ve read yet from a female fan.”

  5. The world is really noisy isn’t it?

    I’m genuinely in awe on how much copy paste and reply and repeat and to-and-fro happened in this thread. I don’t know what to say…. You guys are good in keeping up with each others conversations. (Hey I’m not trying to offend people… This is like an honest ‘awe’ feeling)

    Here I am, waiting for our doctor-professor to come, in silence amidst the buzz of my classmates (coz my friend went back to her dorm to take a little nap, hope I had a dorm too) Then I opened this site… I was like watching lawn tennis LOL.
    —————–

    Have you guys tried hand -pulled noodles? Specifically the braised-beef flavor? It’s so good. Alongside crispy thin pancakes w/ sweet red bean filling and caramel milktea as a refreshment. So good.

    I had a dream of David way way back then… He was like singing the song “Knife, cuts like a knife… How will I ever heal. I’m so deeply wounded…” It was like real life singing. I woke up and was like… Why in the world would I dream of David singing that song?! Well it’s a goold old song… But I wish he could have sung ‘Fix You’ or Bastille – Pompeii LOL

    Sorry for the randomness… I don’t know what to respond to the direction of the discussion.

    #forevermore #howmanymolesdoesDavidhave? #random #idon’tevenknowwhyI’mhashtagging

  6. CChalo, you insist on calling me a “bully” How can one person bully 10 or more people who are all aligned against that person. Are you all that ineffectual and vulnerable? I have more respect for you than you have for yourself. All of you “bullied” gals are very able to defend yourself with all sorts of severe language, some of which are personal insults and “name calling”. The “bully card” has no credibility here, and is being used as a substitute for substantive dialogue. Bullying is a crime when it actually takes place. It is an insult to those defenseless souls who are actually being bullied in the world to present the scenario here as bullying . What goes on here is a bunch of prima donnas being called on their B.S.

  7. Thanks but, it never ends with you.

    “Bliss, for you to call what I said a bald faced lie is itself a bald faced lie. You make a statement like David would like all his granny fans to go away or all his granny fans stalk David and try to kiss him… ”

    Stop lying!!! I never said that “David would like ALL his granny fans to go away”. I never said that ALL his granny fans stalk David and try to kiss him”.

    You’re a damn liar. Prove the above quote or shut the **** up. You expect me to have a civil discourse with you. It will begin when you stop posting lies. The key word is ALL. Stop making **** up.

  8. Well it seems that Bliss is saying he doesn’t paint all the granny fans with the same brush. That must be comforting to some. Granny’s rock. My granny is my best friend and I hope to be as awesome a granny as her someday.

    Let’s allow each other to bow out of that issue gracefully now….?

    • If only that would happen, Shanny. But it won’t.

    • Shanny, good idea. It infuriates me when people come on here and just flat out lie about what I say because they know that that lie will be reinforced by others who are invested in that lie. That’s exactly what “Thanks but” did last night. I have to be my own fact checker here while the “other side” has numerous fact checkers tripping over each other trying to “catch me”. The post from Thanks but is a total misrepresentation of what I’ve said and how I feel, and I notice that she is yet to come back here with either her “proof” or an apology for maliciously and intentionally misquoting my thoughts on this site.

      As for “grannies”, like I said, I have met many older fans at concerts and have read countless accounts of wonderful interactions between David and older fans. The classic video of David and Edith Young is a tutorial on how warm and respectful an older fan can be, and it shows how David responds in kind to that kind of treatment.

      David appreciates all his fans. It is not too much to ask people to “act their age” and treat David in a way that is appropriate and will make him feel comfortable. No young man wants older woman slobbering over them, either in person or in print. It’s one of the few universal truths in life, lol. Most of the woman who do it ( it’s a small but vocal minority) have sons and grandsons David’s age, so they know exactly what I’m talking about. David’s discomfort is palpable when it is done to him, and he’s made it crystal clear that it is. Why is this still a debatable issue?

  9. Sorry bliss about that goddess remark, you have every right to admire Shanny’s writing style (she is eloquent) and admire her personally. I was angry and it got to me that you used her intelligence to demean another fans intelligence, therefore is why I made that remark, wrong as it may of been.

  10. Shanny, I think the question you have to ask yourself is why ANY fans or group of fans should be painted with any brush by another fan? What gives anyone the right to judge others and make personal attacks against them? Have you not noticed that the fighting only happens when Bliss appears? I wonder why that is?

    Bliss says: “All of you “bullied” gals are very able to defend yourself with all sorts of severe language, some of which are personal insults and “name calling”.

    Why should they have do “defend” themselves?

    Did GOD go on vacation and pass the right to judge down to Bliss? If not, what gives him that right?

    As far as I know, only one being holds the right to judge. When we stand before Him, how will we be judged for what we’ve said here?

    • Judge, you’re right. people should be able to defend themselves. However, for a group of 10-15 people to present themselves as being bullied by one other person (man) is ridiculous. This is sexism of the worst kind. If I were a woman saying the same things to the same people, it would not be viewed as bullying. To think that 1 man on a blog has the power to intimidate and bully 15 women sets the woman’s movement back 50 years. There is too much emphasis on who I am and not enough emphasis on the issues that are being raised.

      This is a simple case of “no man is going to tell us woman how to think or what to say”. Guess what? David does not “belong” to only his female fans, although they represent the vast majority of his fan base. I am fan of David the singer and the humanitarian, and my gender or anyone else’s gender is a non factor in anything I think or write about him. I express what I see happening in real life. If it offends people who are doing it, so be it. If men disrespected David, I’d point that out too. The use of the “gender card” is a lazy way to deal with the issues surrounding David and his career.

      • blisskasden
        on September 16, 2014 at 2:46 pm said:

        “…and my gender or anyone else’s gender is a non factor in anything I think or write about him.”

        blisskasden
        on June 14, 2014 at 2:45 pm said:

        “David was blindsided by and unprepared for the intense level of adoration and obsession that he engendered from older female fans…”

        blisskasden
        on June 13, 2014 at 4:03 pm said:

        “However, the undeniable fact is that there are way too many fans, most if not all, older female (am I allowed to say that?) fans…”

  11. Bliss, as usual, you redirect. I asked what or who gives you the right to judge. I have no interest in whether you are a man or a woman. Mean is mean regardless of the sex. Why should ANYONE here have to defend themselves?

    BTW School bullies, both male and female, often pick on many students, not just one. The fact that you attempt to degrade many here rather than one does make you less of a bully. It makes you a worse bully.

    I ask you again, did God go on vacation and bestow the right to judge on you?

    If not, then it is not I or anyone here you will answer to. When you stand before the Almighty when your time comes, you will answer Him. There will be no explanations or arguments or excuses for what you do. He will know the truth of it and you will be judged as you judge others.

  12. Judge, the need to defend oneself comes from within each person. If what I post has no validity to someone there should be no need to defend. As for your question about God, etc. Please…… People come here and judge David about everything aspect of his life, his religion, his career, his physical appearance, his family, his home, his education, his love life, his hair, his shirt….. Why don’t you ask these people if “God went on vacation and made THEM David’s judge. Does what they do to David bother you, and if not, why not?

    • Each person will answer to their maker, NOT to you. Again, you attempt to redirect.

      Did GOD bestow the right to judge others on you? Or do you believe that you are equal to God and have that right?

      It is a simple question that asks for a simple answer. Yes? or No?

      • Judging, I thought I did answer your question, but I’ll try again. You ask this question, “Did GOD bestow the right to judge others on you? Or do you believe that you are equal to God and have that right?”

        You and I have different views of who “God” is but this is not the appropriate forum to discuss those differences. But for the purposes of answering your question in a way that you can relate to, I will say that to the best of my knowledge, I, along with everyone person on earth, have not been given any special rights by God to judge others.

        Now that I’ve answered your question, please answer mine which was, and still is.

        “People come here and judge David about everything aspect of his life, his religion, his career, his physical appearance, his family, his home, his education, his love life, his hair, his shirt….. Why don’t you ask these people if “God went on vacation and made THEM David’s judge. Does what they do to David bother you, and if not, why not?”

        I realize that these people are your friends and you don’t want to alienated them. However, This is also a simple question and requires a simple answer.

        No one is judged here more than David. Everything about him is subject to judgments, and some have called him “fair game” for these judgments. Do you also take exception to my positive judgments of David or is it just my disagreement with what fans say about David? It seems that it is what you happen to agree or disagree with that determines if there is problem.

        Everyone here has the right to their opinions. Just because you don’t like mine or my style of expressing them does not make my opinions about fans any less valid than fans’ opinions about David. If David is “fair game”, then so are the posters who opine about him.

  13. Whadd, what’s your problem? I post my opinions on a fan site. That’s what people do on fan sites. Get over it, and more importantly, get the h*** over me.

  14. Bliss, I do not claim the right to pass judgment on anyone and will not do so. I do not have that right any more than you do. I have not passed judgment on you. I only asked a question. A question I believe all of us should keep in mind.

    Two quotes come to mind. Judge not lest ye be judged … and … Let he who is without sin cast the first stone.

    I don’t believe any of us qualify to cast stones. Not I, and not you.

  15. As for you saying “If David is “fair game”, then so are the posters who opine about him.” So you DO feel people are answerable to you. You say this while you admit you have no right to judge.

    I won’t comment any further. I believe I’ve made my point.

    As I said before, I am not the one who will judge you.

    • Judging, you obviously are on a Mission to catch me in some kind of contradiction, and you are not as objective as you claim to be. That’s OK. That’s the national sport of Soul David. I can live with it.

      Anyway, unlike me, who answered your question, you are, to use your word, “redirecting” my question for fear of alienating the posters here who you are trying to gain favor with.

      You misrepresent me (another popular sport here) when you say “So you DO feel people are answerable to you. You say this while you admit you have no right to judge.”

      I never said that I have no right to judge. What I did say was “I, along with everyone person on earth, have not been given any special rights by God to judge others.” That was in response to your question of “Did GOD bestow the right to judge others on you?”

      My right to judge does not come from God. It comes from my right as a human being to express my views as I see fit. Everyone on this site has the same right. The right is not a given by anyone else. It just is.

      If, however,you feel that only God can give a person the right to judge, that’s fine. My question though, is why are you only concerned with what I do? Why aren’t you asking all the folks here what gives them to right to judge David? It doesn’t seem to bother you that they do it all the time. Sounds like a clear case of “selective disapproval”.

  16. The Resident Circus Bitch gets the last word!

