End of Summer

Hope everyone enjoyed this Labor Day/last day of summer.  In tribute, here’s a flashback to a nice summer-y video! 🙂

Posted on September 1, 2014, in music. Bookmark the permalink. 137 Comments.

  1. Like I said before If david taking colleges classes everyday than music is def on hold once again, it could be a quick decided on david, some people think he is still staying with music while he is still college, I guess they might get shocked of their life again, if music is on hold again?!?! I think for me that music is on a break next two years but I might be wrong.

  2. Posted this on FOD, thought I would bring it over here, 🙂

    How about tweeting him…good luck with your studies David and am sure you are still working on your music career, I’m sure it will be hard, but I have faith that you can both #love yourvoice #can’t wait to hear what you have been working on. lol.

    • Well Yeah but if him going to college everyday , there will be no time of music to fit in? People who believe he staying with music , he may not be doing that now, david could have changed his mind, put college first than music second. We don’t know how this is gonna play out. I guess we will have to wait and see what david does.

  3. When are you gonna come down
    When are you going to land
    I should have stayed on the farm
    I should have listened to my old man

    You know you can’t hold me forever
    I didn’t sign up with you
    I’m not a present for your friends to open
    This boy’s too young to be singing the blues

    So goodbye yellow brick road
    Where the dogs of society howl
    You can’t plant me in your penthouse
    I’m going back to my plough

    Back to the howling old owl in the woods
    Hunting the horny back toad
    Oh I’ve finally decided my future lies
    Beyond the yellow brick road

    What do you think you’ll do then
    I bet that’ll shoot down the plane
    It’ll take you a couple of vodka and tonics
    To set you on your feet again

    Maybe you’ll get a replacement
    There’s plenty like me to be found
    Mongrels who ain’t got a penny
    Sniffing for tidbits like you on the ground

    So goodbye yellow brick road
    Where the dogs of society howl
    You can’t plant me in your penthouse
    I’m going back to my plough

    Back to the howling old owl in the woods
    Hunting the horny back toad
    Oh I’ve finally decided my future lies
    Beyond the yellow brick road

    This sums it up for me

  4. Quoting GG Doors from September 2011:

    “David has never shown an inclination in the past nor at present for being transparent or direct in the communication w/his fanbase regarding career or personal matters. This, of course, is his choice. Fans choose either to accept this and deal, or choose not to. Fans tend to find out about news related to his career via VRS, rumor, twitter – info that many feel should have come, or should now come from a professional source, such as a manager/publicist/spokesperson, or David himself. This is where the excessive and natural speculation, rumors, and mountain making have their genesis – lack of clear, direct, timely communication from David and Co. to the fanbase.”

    This was, of course, responding to mission rumors. But it’s a reminder that this IS what we signed up for, lo these many years ago. I can wish that David communicated like Scotty McCreery, but I’m glad that he sings like David Archuleta.

  5. Found this on fod from ‘someone’,

    Watching so closely, a person can take something personally that was absolutely not meant that way. David holds no resentment toward fans and did not mean to give offense with the tweet. It was simply his way of indirectly confirming what some fans already know without alerting all 1.38M followers of where to find him on a given day lol.

    Please be assured that music is still happening. Things are in the works.

    And because I know someone will ask this, NO I cannot give you “proof” of why to believe me. This is just something I wanted to come here and say. Feel free to scroll right on by …

    • Yes, I say that comment , Just wondering, it was a real good one.
      It’s so wonderful that David has such passion for knowledge, so many young people go to college more because they know that have to in order to get a good job, not because of there thirst for knowledge, so bravo David. I just hope that his passion for a music career is still strong like his passion for knowledge, but if it isn’t he shouldn’t pursue it no matter how much he would be missed by his fans.

  6. Yes that is really good cq. I’m am praying for the best. And they think he is in Provo instead of SLC. The girl who posted the pic said that she goes to school in Provo. So that means he will have more interaction with others as well.

  7. Is he taking night classes? I am assuming he is from the pic that was just posted.

  8. WOW!

    Well, for once I don’t know what to say except that I’m sticking with my “conspiracy theory”. A certain poster who has been so irritatingly unwavering in his/her comments about David going to college knew about it weeks ago when we all scoffed at the idea.

    So my question is, what’s next “Oh Wise One”….you know who you are. 😉

    • That irritating poster saw the tweet from twitter about D in BYU, I don’t think she or he knows about David, just a second hand info. She/ He said David is not doing music before, it is clearly not true. Don’t think she/ he is a reliable.

  9. I agree with Lurker. It apparently has all been out there on twitter regarding David going to BYU for months- I don’t have twitter. lol. Or it is possible the “conspiracy theory” is accurate. lol 😉 idk. There are many things that confuse me about David but one of them is his apparent unhappiness with his career and life pre-mission due to his stated lack of control. Must be with the big bad music/entertainment business/industry. lol. You have to play the game somewhat to have a music career as it is so competitive. AI alum-Phillip Phillips and Scotty McCreery don’t seem to have any issues with their careers and are themselves and they are both signed to major music labels. Yet David never seems to question his church/religion at all- which I find it to be very controlling and rigid. JMHO and I really don’t care if folks agree with me as it is my opinion and I am not changing it . lol. David also seems to be just surrounding himself with LDS folks now. No diversity at all and I would even bet he even releases music through Shadow Mountain Music- an LDS music label. Just a guess. I liked and enjoyed David’s career right after AI and when he was signed to a major music label and enjoyed following his career. It was after he left the music label that I began to question his career decisions. JMHO. To each his own and it is David’s life and his choices. I wish David luck in college as education is important but really don’t know what this means for his music career. I do really like this blog-SD. Off to a long day at work. 🙂

    • That’s a nice and honest opinion. 🙂 have a good day!

    • I could be off base but I don’t think the control issues were completely with the industry. You’ll notice that there is one person that was prominent in his career (and life) before the mission that is not so now. We all have our issues in life and with certain people in our life and I think David is no exception. I won’t say further but I think many will know to whom I am referring.

      If my theory is correct, I am glad that David feels in control enough now to guide his own “ship” so to speak. As fans, we are not privy to all that happens behind the scenes, nor should we be.

      • Interesting that you say that, My View. I’ve started to wonder about whether the AI rumors and the banishing of said person were made up at all? Arsenio Hall didn’t have anything nice to say about him regarding the Star Search days. Is he the person who told David he didn’t have time for church in the early stages of his career? David’s Instagram tribute (Mother’s Day) to his mom was quite telling. He said she’s supported him in all his big decisions. Hmmm.. Someone else did not?

        And I thought he threw that person under the bus when he mentioned he had to be a father to his sisters, at times. That really surprised me that he would reveal something like that. He had to know it would raise questions in our minds. I think you may be right. Seems that person may have been a source of unhappiness also.

    • Very well said. Marie, I agree and also find it very discouraging.

      My View- I agree with you, as well, about the control theory.

    • Very well said Marie, ITA.

  10. Can’t see the picture 😦 hope someone reposts it… Thanks 🙂

    • She made her twitter private, so you can’t see the picture anymore. He was coming out of a classroom, a bit blurry, in tan pants, a green shirt and carrying his shoulder bag.

  11. Actually the very first rumored tweet about college came shortly after he left on his mission…from someone at BYU Hawaii that he was enrolled as a student. They just werent specific as to which school. Amnyone else remember that?

