Iconic David Series #16

bench-photoshoot-back-to-school-campaign-2

Posted on July 22, 2014, in public image. Bookmark the permalink. 84 Comments.

  1. #16 gorgeous picture of David.
    So great he got the opportunities to do so many different things in the Philippines. Wonder if those opportunities will come his way again, or even if they did, would he even want to do them/!?!

    Marie from last thread: I too am in the vortex of Bring Him Home, such a phenomenal version. Yes, he could add Broadway to his never ending list of talents. I too am hoping that the songs he is working on have a soulful, maybe R&B vibe, with some inspirational mixed in, lol…there’s my wish list, as if it matters.
    As far as fans go, he will always have a loyal group that will stay no matter what direction he takes, even if the direction is away from a music career, but I’m guessing not a huge number. I’m only basing it on the number of hits he has on that glorious Bring Him Home video..so very weak opinion I will admit.
    As you said, Marie, many times, he needs good management, label and promotion to reboot his career and add new fans (his talent is way beyond the teeny boppers), hope he has a good plan in place and he will be able to make that transition.

    • cq-I have posted that numerous times and still feel the same way. lol. 🙂

      • btw, Marie when I referred to what you said was only that I fully agree and can’t be said enough times, lol.

    • Hey guys… I’v been an avid fan ever since David auditioned for american idol… And I’m still a huge fan. I’m from Philippines and I’m just a year younger than him… I was a silent type of fan. Never joined fan clubs or orgs dedicated to David because I was content in attending his major concerts here in the Philippines (and because I was busy with college, and now I’m busy again with my postgrad studies), and when he went here to do ‘Nandito Ako’ I was able to meet him twice upclose and had a little chat, I bought all his albums (except for ‘No Matter How Far’ because it wasn’t released here and I don’t have a credit card, just savings account, to order abroad) I enjoy reading through various fansites, social sites and blogs about him. Even through his hiatus, while he was in Chile, I never stopped supporting him… I even made lyric videos for some of my favorite songs of his in youtube (you could watch the ‘My Kind of Perfecr’, ‘Senseless’ and etc.) 🙂

      I just want to finally make some new friends here, I want to make friends with you all… Even if it would only be through online… I never had the opportunity to talk with other David Archuleta Fans… I know it’s kind of very late… But… I just want to make friends with people I feel I can connect with since we share this same dedication and interest over David 🙂

      Sorry if this post was kinda long. Anyway, the bench photoshoot is my all time favorite photoshoot of David. I remember, feeling squicky excited whenever I passed by his large billboards for his soap opera and bench advertisments… And his ‘soldier picture’ oh my gosh… He’s getting handsomer with maturity and age… And his voice in BHH… I cried, I stopped breathing, I died.

      Let’s all spazz together over David’s awesomeness!

  2. I know longer worry about David’s career. As long as he sings publicly, records and people post videos of David singing, I will be content. Of course as an ODD fan I would love for him to have a huge career, but we know that his goal is to move people with his music. He clearly has done that in his current tour in the Middle East. I am posting a comment made by Dean Kaelin which goes along with the last thread. It demonstrates Bliss’ point that not everyone in the military only wants to hear only Rock.

    Read this comment written by Dean Kaelin on his blog in the comment section….

    “Yes, they seem to appreciate that we would take the time to come over. And our show is very different from what they are used to. We do a variety show with comedy, music and inspirational messages and they are used to crude humor and loud rock and roll. They like the variety and that it is clean!”

    • Grammyj, I too don’t worry about his career, I just voice my opinion, really doesn’t worry me one bit.

      As far as not everyone only wanting to hear one type of music/show… don’t think it ever been stated. What some have said was that maybe other types of shows might be what is liked, not that this type of show is not also very welcomed by many. I just don’t understand why.. it has to be they only appreciate this type of show, but don’t need, or appreciate other types.

      • True, cq. People who come here to argue instead of have a conversation, will misstate what was said–they’ll set up a straw man and knock it down. No one ever said that people in the military ONLY want to hear rock (or country, etc.).

      • I didn’t mean to imply that David’s show is the only one troops would like as that would be very untrue. I was just trying to indicate that there are many types of entertainment that the troops would enjoy.

  3. Grammyj, thanks for posting Dean’s verification that this tour is providing a welcome alternative from the usual “locker room” style shows that the troops are used to. I think it’s a sad commentary on what is thought of as “a taste of home” that, as Dean said, “crude humor and loud rock and roll” is the assumed pleasure of military audiences. This tour is clearly demonstrating that when the troops are given quality, uplifting entertainment, they love it and love and appreciate the performers who are raising the bar on their behalf.

  4. More military fun:

    • Actually I don’t endorse this particular song’s take on things, but it’s on a large playlist of country songs about supporting the military.

    • cc halo -Thanks for posting the videos. Really enjoyed them. 🙂

  5. I have been wondering lately if David will continue singing a wide variety of music from pop to inspirational, or will he land on a distinct style such as R&B or Pop, etc. After hearing BHH i would think Broadway can easily be added to his opportunities ahead. Anyone care to opine which direction he might go? Or is it too soon to know. I am fine with him doing it all as long as he keeps singing .

    • You know I will always hope that David goes in the soulful pop music direction and work with diverse and talented song writers and producers but not a clue as to what he is going to do. Why I mention a stint on Broadway as I think it might be good for David to sort of reboot his music career with an appearance on Broadway to show case his vocal talents. All the big name celebrities are doing performances on Broadway now. If he ever has the opportunity- I say he should grab it.

  6. Love the videos cc halo. Thank you!

  7. Great videos cc halo, does my heart good to see them having light hearted fun. Fun, lighted hearted entertainment doesn’t have to ever go trashy.

    Carol, I think it’s still fun speculating what direction he is going with the new music, but of course, still a big mystery, lol.

  8. CCHalo, No one is seeking an argument solely for argument’s sake. Prior to the tour, someone (was it you?) posted that, in her opinion, David’s music would be greeted with “appreciation” rather than enthusiasm. Furthermore, it was stated that military audiences tend to want to see sexy bodies and listen to hard rock.

    In the spirit of that statement, I have posted that, from all we have seen, this has not been the case. David has, in fact, been greeted with great enthusiasm, as has the entire tour. I noted that one soldier, when interviewed, said that he had seen hundreds of shows, and this was his favorite of all of them.

    You are, of course, free to disagree with anything I post, and I welcome reading your points that defend your positions. As I’ve said before, I respond solely to the printed words I see on the screen, and not to individuals who I don’t know and do not know me. If those posts are disrespectful to me or, especially, to David, I respond accordingly.

    I am here to celebrate the artistry and humanity of David Archuleta, both of which David has in great abundance. I encourage all who post here to do likewise.

  9. Those videos of the soldiers having fun are cool, but we should remember that the purpose of this tour is to deal with the very serious issue of suicide among active and returning soldiers. Dan chose David not merely because he is great singer. Dan also has the wisdom to know that David can inspire and uplift when he sings, which is in keeping with the theme and intent of this tour.

    • Fun times like what is shown in those videos can probably have just as much healing effect on the troops as the uplifting inspiring songs David is singing, It does not have to be all one or the other IMHO. I remember reading a posting from a military veteran here, I think, who stated that the troops liked the more mature themed shows. I do not remember anyone saying that the troops ONLY liked R rated shows or anything like that although I will admit I missed some days of postings. As in any walk of life, people enjoy different things. Why would the troops be any different? I am glad the group has been greeted with enthusiasm. I would love to know how many soldiers they actually were able to perform for. Not that it matters because if they only truly touch one life and maybe save that life, it is a huge success. But it would still be interesting to know.

      Bring Him Home is brilliant. And I think it is the perfect closing song for their shows. I remember the early shows had a hymn to close but is that being sung at the beginning now and BHH at the end? Moving that song to the end gives it huge impact I think.

  10. Bliss I hope you don’t mean that soldier that enjoy other forms of entertainment, even non G rated,as lesser quality human being?

  11. Cq, I don’t know how you connected those dots. I am merely pointing out that the type of show that this tour presents, and the reception to it, has not been consistent, with the notion, presented on this site, that military personnel are really not interested in being entertained “this way”.

    I’m not saying that they don’t also like the other type, but they have been, in fact, very enthusiastic in their reception to this tour, and have not been simply appreciative”.

    The reference to being “lesser human beings” was a creation of yours, not mine, and is totally out of left field.

    • One man’s appreciative is another’s enthusiastic. There is no way to truly quantify this.

  12. Hmmm, interesting

    From Dean’s Facebook:

    Monday, July 21st was our last day in Kuwait. We had a meeting with the Arifjan camp officers. They showed us all around and answered many questions for us about the military situation here in Kuwait and the area. They were very gratious and gave us coins and certificates of appreciation. We did a show at Camp Airfjan in the afternoon, then another one at Camp Patriot in the evening. Camp Patriot is right down by the water so we were able to go down to the beach and see the gulf as well as the army boats. We didn’t know what to expect because we didn’t know how many would be available in the middle of the day and we had heard that sometimes the Camp Patriot shows have only 10 to 20 people attending. Both groups received the show well and were good audiences though, and the small theater at Camp Patriot was standing room only.

    There was a great story from a soldier named Lowery from California. Two weeks ago he saw David Archuleta’s “Face to Face” interview that he did for the LDS church’s Young Men and Young Women. After watching it he was so touched that he prayed that he would one day be able to meet David Archuleta in person. He found out just over a week later that David was coming to Camp Patriot where he was deployed. He has served in Iraq and Afghanistan and had never been at a base where performers ever came and did a show. He was so amazed that he was in this small camp that usually doesn’t get entertainment and was able to hear David and meet him in person. Our program really touched him and meant so much to him. It is always interesting that we have so many “amazing coincidences” in the church!

    Before the show I was setting some things up and I overheard David sitting not far from me speaking to two of the members of our security team. He was talking to them about God, Jesus Christ, Joseph Smith, the Book of Mormon. He pretty much gave them a first lesson right there. I mentioned it to David afterwards and he said it was the first time he had ever done that in English. Haha. We included one of the security guys in our prayer before the show. He was hesitant and said he had never prayed before. It was a cool experience. David had a hard cover copy of the Book of Mormon with him and he wrote his testimony in it and gave it to the head security guy, Joe. He’s still such a missionary!

    After the show we collected our bags and went to the Kuwait airport. It was midnight and it was a mad house! I was surprised. Kuwait is a very rich country. They say that one out of every four Kuwaitis is a millionaire. The airport was very nice! Getting through security was interesting, but we eventually got our bags through. Dan had lost his visa and had to jump through a few hoops. I snuck a few pictures of Kuwaiti women in their burkas. Most had their face uncovered, but some were totally covered except for their eyes.

    • Wow, yes interesting. Although I have opinions about preaching the LDS denomination in this circumstance, if it helped the solider, well, as the say, “whatever gets you through the night”.

      David needs to be a full time missionary and that’s that. It is in every pore of him apparently. It’s fine, just do it David. Don’t pretend about pop music and the like if your heart is in preaching and converting. Too bad he isn’t of a faith with paid clergy. I could see him all up in the church, singing, preaching etc ala a Baptist preacher for instance. Would probably be an amazing show/service.

      I am not happy that Dean “snuck” pics of Kuwaiti women. Very disrespectful IMHO only.

      • Yes-I did read that. I agree-Hmmm. Didn’t I read that David was leaving the Book of Mormon for band members on their beds before he even went on his mission? I don’t think it is a big deal if someone asks him for a copy of it but just to give it to someone without them asking. idk- but who knows the whole story and maybe the guy appreciated it. I am going to just leave it at that as everyone has differing opinions on it. I just hope that David has diversity in his career with songwriters,producers, ect.

      • Why did Dean post that on his facebook and the story about David too? Sometimes I think this is all just OTT- Over The Top information.

      • They do seem to be in a world of their own–like the comment about “amazing coincidences” happening in their church. No, no one else ever has those happen, lol.

  13. I see David is still proselytizing.

  14. If anyone was under the assumption that David would never talk to others about his faith after coming back from the mission, then I assume that has been covered now? David loves his church and will always. That’s just a fact and I don’t see it ever changing.

    As someone who is not LDS, I have no problem with David talking to others about his religion. Just like when he was in Chile, people have the choice to listen or not. I would also hazard a guess to say that it was brought up to him by the security guy but who knows.

    That does not mean that he can’t have a career while still being true to his religion though. What I don’t understand is why people get so immediately bent out of shape when they hear David was talking to someone about his religion. What’s the big deal? Did he go out and shoot someone today? Did he sell drugs to minors? Did he rape someone? No? Oh wait, he was risking his own safety while on a tour of military bases to try to bring some much-needed escape time to soldiers? Wow, what a jerk.

    • Ha. Maybe I haven’t looked around enough to see anyone being bent out of shape, but maybe you’re being pro-active. Anywho, in case anyone was wondering what David was telling these guys, now we know:

      • Saying he needs to be a full time missionary and that he’s “pretending” about pop music implies being a bit bent out of shape to me. But maybe I’m just making an assumption. We’re good at making assumptions around here 😉

      • I’m not assuming, nor criticizing, but I do kind of think that David’s heart might not be in pop music anymore–that it’s more of a means to an end. I was thinking that when I saw pictures of him singing “Crush” to the troops and families–it didn’t seem that he was feeling it.

        For sure, we’re not hearing much at all about jukebox David, or his love of popular music. I was listening to my music on iTunes the other night, and was thinking, “David recommended this, and that, and oh yes, that one, too.” I would have never heard any of those songs without his input.

    • Ali, I agree!! David loves his faith so he’s going to tell others about it just like all of us do about something we love.

  15. lurker 103,maybe he was asked about it,,i see the put down david people are back, it was a nice three days on here for a while. broken records are back also,

  16. O ali i agree with you,,he is butting his life on the line ,on his own nickle and these people have the balls to critize, him, what have they done for the troops,

  17. the guys look very intrested in what he is saying,

  18. There are Quakers on the Moon.

  19. Speaking of people putting their safety on the line while trying to do something good, Jason just posted a short video he took while they were in a helicopter in Afghanistan.

    “Getting shot at in our Chinook ride over Afghanistan heading to perform for the US Troops at Airborne FOB. David Archuleta decides to put on helmet as machine guns ring!”
    David is the one sitting directly across from Jason.

    • I really don’t think that anyone doesn’t think that there is extreme danger, they are certainly getting a horrible taste as to what these fine soldier have to live with 24/7. D….wars…

  20. Hmm, interesting why even bring that over to this site?!?!?! As Soul Newbie said, if it helps the soldier, that’s great!!

    • I absolutely mean that cq. Anything that helps. My comments admittedly may be a bit contentious but in my opinion only, the more I am seeing of the real David the more I think he needs to be free to live a life of giving and humanitarian work. I wonder if he is still putting some pressure on himself to somewhat conform despite saying he is doing it his way. I think maybe one issue is that the LDS does not pay it’s clergy so they must take on secular careers. Is it possible to do a secular career and what David appears to enjoy regarding helping people? Some would say yes, look at folks like Angelina Jolie. But she is not immersed in religion that I am aware of. I truly believe David is extraordinary in that he appears to ooze his LDS faith out of every pore. I am not saying it’s a bad thing at all. I want him to be happy. I just don’t see how he can do both without problems anymore. However, as Billy Joel says “you may be right, I may be crazy”.

    • Yes, why bring it over? Afterall, he was talking to these guys in his spare time, not while on stage, singing. We don’t know all the details nor do we know if the guys initiated the conversation.

  21. One last post for today (I can hear the applause already). Does anyone ever want to shout, gosh David, you are 23. Lighten up a little and have fun.? Going a little nutso, partying a bit, having a beer and hanging out, it’s all good. OK maybe he is doing all this in private but he seems so buttoned up and tightly wound. He’s going to have a heart attack or at least an ulcer by age 25 if he doesn’t loosen up and relax.
    And for gosh sakes, lose the top button on the shirts. Yes it’s a popular style choice, but for some reason it makes David look like he’s being strangled. I wonder if his neck is not long enough to pull off that look. Once again IMHO only.

  22. Ok Jason posting a picture of David sleeping in the plane is an invasion of his privacy, but this isn’t?!?!

    • IMO you make a valid point with your question. As i read the excerpt from Dean’s Facebook comments, i must admit i shuddered a bit thinking that David was in a private conversation with those soldiers and now everyone is privy to it! A violation of his privacy?

  23. Lol, not applauding, just responding soul newbie. Actually i don’t see him as tightly wound as you said. He often appears at peace to me. So i read him as being in a good place, comfortable with his religion and loving to sing and to make a difference. He appears to have made an impression on many of us.

    • lol, that button up shirt, I guess it’s a fashion statement, but circumstance surrounding David now, I do get why have those opinions. I always thought that David was in a good place and I really think he was always comfortable with his religion, but just didn’t have it front and center before the mission.

      Carol, what kind of direction do you think he will go with his secular music and do you think he would be comfortable going for a secular career, being where his head is at now?

  24. cq i really don’t know, in terms of direction. Someone said he was writing pop music as well as Spanish music. The direction i would like to see is TV musical specials, acting, Broadway and R&B albums. Pop music is not at the top of my wish list. Would also love Spanish music!!

    Although i appreciate the beauty of some non secular music and the glorious way he sings it, I would be terribly disappointed if he chose to sing just religious music. I believe he will reach more people with a secular career. We all fell in love with him singing secular music on Idol.

    As far as what he does off the stage, i am happy for him if he is happy. If religious activity keeps him centered then I am all for it. Many singers his age spend their free time doing cocaine.

    • Thank you Carol for your reply. I agree with you that he would reach more people with a secular career. Oh my gosh, TV musical specials, acting Broadway and R&B album…right there with you. Sigh, would love to see him on TV again and a musical special would be AWESOME!!!!
      I don’t mind pop if it lends toward soulful R&Bish, lol

    • Somewhere, someone supposedly said that his new sound is a little Mumford and Sons-ish. I like them, but can’t imagine it for David. I personally LOVE folk-type music, but I’m not sure it would showcase his voice.

      • only thing thats gonna shocase david’s voice is broadway!!! he better do it! 😀

      • I am not so sure about that type of music for David’s voice either-cc halo. Guess we will have to wait and see.

      • hum, Mumford and Sons-ish, he can sing anything, but these type might not be the best to highlight his voice, I guess we’ll see…someday, lol.
        Has anyone have an idea what that Casa Rica project is all about? Still hoping it was a music video for a Spanish song.

  25. i agree. david should have a beer and relax! alcohol is a gift from God! enjoy 😀

    • Hmmm, interesting

      That will never happen…David ever having a beer is ludicrous. He doesn’t even drink soda, coffee or tea! haha.

      cq, I brought Dean’s facebook blog over from The Voice. I thought it WAS interesting and didn’t post it here to cause a rift. All of Dean’s & Jason’s blogs have been posted so why not this latest one? This is who David is as well as a very talented singer so why are we supposed to still walk on eggshells when one of his own wrote it? I don’t feel it was an invasion of his privacy. In fact, Dean was happy and proud of David for not being afraid to show who he is and yes, proselytize his beliefs in such a setting?
      Maybe David’s fans who are offended should let Dean know he should delete it which would be presumptuous of some of David’s fans always thinking David needs protecting and defending, He had no qualms about going on a tour in a very dangerous place, so surely we can see by now he is man enough to do what he wants when he wants. He doesn’t need babysitters.

      • Hmmm, interesting, I agree he doesn’t need baby sitters. If you always brought over all the blogs to this site, I would understand, but this one was in regards to sensitive subject that had varied opinions and could cause some discussion that’s all. Btw, it wasn’t you that I felt might of invalid David’s privacy, it was Dean. Anyhow, it’s really doesn’t matter what I think or for that matter what anyone else thinks, it is what it is….

      • I just think there are so many other topics that you could discuss while being on tour over there. I thought that Jason did a great job on his blog in his description of events over there. The rest is really private info. but that is just my opinion. I have no interest in anyone’s religious beliefs. Just do not care about it.

  26. Hmmm….Mumford and Sons? Having trouble seeing David doing that type music.

    I heard Johnny Mathis’s studio version of BHH on You Tube the other day. Then I went back to David’s version from the video and to my surprise David’s was superior! Mathis and Nat King Cole were my parent’s favorite voices of that generation. I can’t help but wish they had lived to hear David!!

  27. Someone posted this a little while back (or did I just happen to look it up), but how GREAT for David to sing this:

      • Now I thought Jason’s blog was very good. Well written and very interesting. 🙂

      • I just finished reading Jason’s latest blog which I advise you all to read. He writes beautifully and so detailed. He takes you on the trip with his writing plus there are videos and pictures to go along with the blog. They will do their last show tomorrow then it will take a couple days to get home. They will be back on Friday. There’s a fun picture of David doing a push up plus some heart warming sections too. Jason can make you laugh and pull at your hear strings too. It’s a really long blog so I’ve been busy reading it instead of debating about what David should do. He needs to follow his heart which I believe he will do. I like Mumford and Sons so I’d he goes that direction it’s fine by me.

      • Yes, if he were to go in a Mumford-folk-type style, it would be my personal heaven–it would be my favorite style and favorite singer all in one.

    • Oh my heavens let there be a video!!!

  28. and he was asked about his religion, he didn,t bring it up.

  29. Snowangelz has another funny vlog using Jason’s pictures with funny captions.
    SnowAngelz 4 D’Arch ‏@TheSnowAngelz 32m
    NEW on SAz: Yay! @jasonhewlett blogs again! (& my own special @DavidArchie captions, bwahaha)=> http://wp.me/pCSmC-3WG

  30. YouWereJustaDreamThatiOnceKnew

    Hey guys… I’v been an avid fan ever since David auditioned for american idol… And I’m still a huge fan. I’m from Philippines and I’m just a year younger than him… I was a silent type of fan. Never joined fan clubs or orgs dedicated to David because I was content in attending his major concerts here in the Philippines (and because I was busy with college, and now I’m busy again with my postgrad studies), and when he went here to do ‘Nandito Ako’ I was able to meet him twice upclose and had a little chat, I bought all his albums (except for ‘No Matter How Far’ because it wasn’t released here and I don’t have a credit card, just savings account, to order abroad) I enjoy reading through various fansites, social sites and blogs about him. Even through his hiatus, while he was in Chile, I never stopped supporting him… I even made lyric videos for some of my favorite songs of his in youtube (you could watch the ‘My Kind of Perfecr’, ‘Senseless’ and etc.) 🙂

    I just want to finally make some new friends here, I want to make friends with you all… Even if it would only be through online… I never had the opportunity to talk with other David Archuleta Fans… I know it’s kind of very late… But… I just want to make friends with people I feel I can connect with since we share this same dedication and interest over David 🙂

    Sorry if this post was kinda long. Anyway, the bench photoshoot is my all time favorite photoshoot of David. I remember, feeling squicky excited whenever I passed by his large billboards for his soap opera and bench advertisments… And his ‘soldier picture’ oh my gosh… He’s getting handsomer with maturity and age… And his voice in BHH… I cried, I stopped breathing, I died.

    Let’s all spazz together over David’s awesomeness!

  31. YouwerejustadreamIonceknew, WELCOME!!!

  32. Welcome. 🙂

  33. Thank you 🙂 you can just call me “forevermore” since ‘you were just a dream that I once knew’ is very very tedious to type LOL… And since it’s an excerpt from the forevermore song of David…

    Thank you my dearest friends… Have a nice day 🙂

    • Forevermore it is…love David’s version of that song btw. Everything he did in the Philippines was so much fun to follow!!!

  34. Got it. Have a nice day. 🙂

