Rest in Power, Maya Angelou

When I was 12 years old, I discovered the poetry of Maya Angelou and felt a little more proud to be black and female because of words like these:

You will be missed, Maya Angelou, but you leave behind an incredible legacy of words! 🙂

Posted on May 28, 2014, in current events. Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Just heard this news. :(. The past fee months I’ve posted less frequently because I’ve been helping to Care for a sick relative. She’s a huge fan of Maya A. I hope we can keep this news from her for a while.

  2. Oops…. few months, not fee

  3. Maya Angelou’s story is an amazing story of triumph over adversity. May she live on in the hearts of everyone she inspires. May she rest in peace.

  4. Maya was a great person and an inspired writer. I will never forget the first time I read I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings. It opened my eyes to a life I knew nothing about and opened my heart to the power of writing. She has influenced many and will be greatly missed.

    Some of her thoughts that I’ve come back to many times:

    “I’m convinced of this: Good done anywhere is good done everywhere. For a change, start by speaking to people rather than walking by them like they’re stones that don’t matter. As long as you’re breathing, it’s never too late to do some good.”

    “There’s a world of difference between truth and facts. Facts can obscure the truth.”

    “The poetry you read has been written for you, each of you – black, white, Hispanic, man, woman, gay, straight.”

    “If you find it in your heart to care for somebody else, you will have succeeded.”

    Actually I could fill this whole page with brilliant thoughts from her. Things that seem common sense after you read them but also said so clearly and eloquently. And that’s what the best writers and thinkers are able to do.

  5. hell0g0rge0us

    Desertrat, hope all is well with you and your relative! Good to see you posting today. 🙂

  6. I recently listened to a “Super Soul Sunday” where Oprah interviewed Maya Angelou. Her quote: “words are things, and they’re so powerful”, certainly fits our discussion themes here recently.

    I never realized that the place she went to for solace, as discussed in this interview, was the church that we chose to raise our children in, and devoted endless hours to. Her tears at the end remind me of David’s tears as he sings hymns.

  7. I, too, am mourning the loss of this wise woman, one of the greatest poets of our time.

  8. David doesn’t have time to do a vlog because he’s always going out to eat and posing for pics with girls. The belt makes another appearance.

  9. The world lost a great lady today. RIP Maya Angelou.

  10. Nice photo of David with all those obviously excited young girls! 😀

    In Provo? What or who else is in Provo I wonder? He seems to be spending a lot of time there. lol!

    • If he’s working on music, it’s a possibility he could be going to Audio West Music in Provo — that’s the recording studio he was seen at a while back. Or maybe they just have better restaurants in Provo. Or maybe that’s where his girlfriend lives??? Where’s Thisisafact to give us the scoop?? 😉

  11. Well he also visited with this man.
    YeahSamake ‏@YeahSamake 3m
    How often do you get to embarrass David Archuleta? Well… did I? Thank you, David for taking time to let me… http://fb.me/2ilRW9mZS

  12. Well Ali, hello. I don’t know if he had a girlfriend or maybe he doesn’t? how Many time had david ate today?!? 3 restaurants in one day?? Geez! Yeah he is sure in Provo a lot thought, I think david must be doing taking some morning classes in college and thoses girls looking like they go to college too? There a college near there?

  13. Such a sad day. Talent like that is only seen once in a hundred years. Creative, brilliant and a captivating voice.

  14. I think there a possible that david could be taking spring classes in college , not everyday, like 3 time a week like that since April and why he is been in Provo a lot and seen on campus too?? Idk? A thought.

  15. If u are in college all day and u can go in and out eat and maybe david didn’t being lunch idk. Maybe community College don’t have a food court around that area

  16. LOL!!!!!!!!! OMG! 😀

    Thanks Thisisafact. An otherwise sad day, but your commentaries just made me LOL!

    Good night. haha!

