Pre-Oscar Inspiration

Moving a bit off topic from David and American Idol. I am presently inspired this morning. Check out Lupita Nyong’o’s Speech at the Essence Luncheon Award.

Oh, and you know she’s been rocking various red carpets of late. Can’t wait to see what she wears to the Oscars tomorrow! 🙂

lupita-nyongo-colors-full-1024x458

Posted on March 1, 2014, in current trends. Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. It was confirmed by Gina Orr on twitter last night that David will be home by April 1. The David fandom was able to get a WW trend and US trend on twitter.

    Looking forward to the Oscars tomorrow night.

  2. Lupita’s speech is very touching. I’m glad she has learned to embrace herself and inspire other young people along the way.

    Re. David, my guess (and hope!) is that his sisters will tweet when he returns. Looking forward to his return but I’m still avoiding any sort of count down.

    • They won’t tweet when he’s home.

      • True as I don’t think they are on twitter, however, I’m sure someone will. If he arrives at the Salt Lake City airport someone there will tweet about it. We will know.

      • They’re on twitter. I agree, someone at one of the airport swill probably spot him before he arrives in SLC.

      • Idk if anyone will get the chance. People can be sneaky

  3. Lupita is all kinds of beautiful, inside and out! I am rooting for her tomorrow night.

    And even though you said this was off topic from David, HG, the first thing I thought of when I saw this post was that Lupita shares a name with David’s mom. LOL. We could start our own 6 degrees of David meme! 😉

    Hope everyone has a great Saturday!!

  4. hell0g0rge0us

    6 Degrees of David. Remember that Kevin Bacon game? 😛 I like that as potential post. If that April 1 return date is true, then that month just got sweeter!

    • I think he’ll fly home on Monday, the 24th, and then he has a little over a week to be “available.” (I recently read on FOD that they typically leave on a Monday and are released as soon as they arrive). It will be extra exciting for him to meet his month-old niece. 🙂

  5. I think that Lupita is just stunning. I can’t wait to see what she wears tomorrow night. Glad to see that Gina Orr did finally tweet something about David’s return-anything really. lol Thanks for the heads up on the tweet -GrammyJ. Have to post that tweet:Gina Orr ‏@ginaorr
    @JoAnnBanaga @kariontour @McKenzieHarr @MyDearWriter @DavidArchie No official date, but he will be home by April 1.

  6. Oh hg I just love that picture of all the vibrant colored beautiful dresses that Lupita has worn this awards season.

  7. Back from a fabulous vacay, nothing like getting away for a while, but I sure missed everyone’s comments and all the fun in Archieland, lol. Even though I still had my phone and internet, I decided to completely take a break from this fun hobby of mine, but boy am glad to be back.
    Hg, loved your review from last thread, I am such a fan of your writing.
    What can I say, Lupita is stunning..what an exciting new rising star.
    So the mystery was revealed, all I can say, so happy that it’s for charity…always a good thing.

  8. Welcome back cq. I am jealous as I am in desperate need of a vacation. Good for you. This winter weather has been brutal. lol. It will not be long now till David is back. I am very interested to see what he is going to do with his career.

    • Me too Marie, it’s going to be very interesting to see where he will do with his career.
      Read where he did record a song in Chile, I’m sure religious one though, but still so somehow it made me so happy to read he was doing a recording. As I have said before, I’m here because of his voice and am so interested in following his music career, everything else is just a bonus, but not what keeps me here. THE VOICE, THE VOICE, is it for me. Now lets hope that his music ( new music direction) will match the genius of his voice.

      • Yes, it would be interesting if he records all the songs he sang in Chile, in Spanish, for the last two years. Religious, but mostly Christmas songs. It could be his next Christmas album.

      • Didn’t think of that cchalo, having a good recording of all those song would be nice. I do believe that any money made from such a project would not be profit for David just because of him being on a mission, I would think that he would do it for free. Not saying it’s a bad thing at all, but for me I am waiting for him to return to his secular music career.

  9. hell0g0rge0us

    Watching the Oscars! Hope Lupita Nyong’o and 12 Years a Slave wins! 🙂

    • She won!!! I actually shed a tear when she acknowledged the real “Patsy”.

      Not sure about Ellen as host …. passing out pizza. 😐

      • Glad that she won. I really like Ellen but she seems kind of flat with the humor this year. The twitter jokes are OK. It is not easy hosting this show. They really need to not televise some of these awards-I mean just because they get an award does not mean it has to be on TV. I wish she did some kind of production or musical number about the movies-like Billy Crystal or Jimmy Fallon would do. Bette Midler was great. Looking forward to hearing Idina Menzel sing-Let It Go.

      • Oh man, I thought Ellen was hilarious!

  10. Wahoo! 20 ft from Stardom just won! Darlene Love sang like she’d been planning that song for months, lol.

  11. Glad 20 Feet from Stardom won!

  12. So glad Lupita won her award but still hoping 12 Years pulls a Best Picture win, even though Gravity looks like it’s sweeping across the board.

  13. I was glad to see Lupita win (she was so charming in her speech, and looked stunning) and really glad to see that 12 Years a Slave won. I’d seen a couple of the other movies, and liked them, but 12 Years belonged in a whole other category. I’m hoping that more people will see it now.

    I thought Ellen was charming too. Her humor has never been outrageous but is more relatable and gentle. Amusing. Accessible. We enjoyed it.

    Bette Midler’s presence was sort … interesting. My husband has always liked her and stayed up late (he’s sick) to hear her, so we enjoyed it, but I wondered why she was there and why that song.

