(D)evolution of a Teen Star

I haven’t really been paying attention to the actual music of Justin Bieber (never cared for him and his “brand” and never will).  I really only know about his shenanigans and how everyone from CNN to BBC have been talking about his arrest for DUI and drag-racing.

bieber

As I have already expressed here on this blog, I admit to a pang of jealousy when he first came on the scene.  Right around 2010, when we were already feeling things weren’t going well for David on his Jive label, the Biebs ascended and just took off into the stratosphere in ways that I felt had belonged to David.

When the Biebs was offered the opening line to the 2010 remake of “We Are the World,” it riled me to no end that he was strategically positioned to take over the pop world, while our own Voice was marginalized in the Spanish version instead (which of course he sounded lovely in it and his naturally crystal clear tonals rang out loudly over others).  When Bieber had a hit song featuring a popular rapper, David was still struggling for radio play.

Before one knew it, the Biebs became a worldwide sensation, and his so-called “humble” beginnings (being “discovered” on YouTube as opposed to going the more expected route of appearing on American Idol and similar shows) made him standout as a genuine discovery. I was irked to no end b/c those early YouTube videos seemed oh-so-staged and like his marketing team had found the best guise ever to label him an “organic” talent that didn’t have to go the reality show route or the who-you-know-in-the-business route.

Marketing genius, really, but still beyond annoying because everything about him – his “cuteness,” his auto-tuned “talent,” etc. – seemed so fake.  Even the Biebs’ brief foray into casting himself as a “Christian” artist was beyond trite (remember the whole Jesus tattoo era?) when contrasted with David’s deep devotion.

david-verona1And that was the problem for me: His phoneyness was intolerable b/c I had David’s “realness” in the same categories to compare, and it boggled my mind how an entire music industry was trying so hard to turn lead into gold (JB) when it seemed to me that they had the real thing (David) that just needed some polishing off. Just comparing the two “teen stars,” I’ll never understand how this industry works.

So, in this two-year gap, David retreats from the biz and works on a mission, and the Biebs continues his downward spiral. And even then, something about all this “bad boy” behavior seems oh-so-fake! Desperation for attention and “street cred” and “look, I’m all grown up!” nonsense.  Why do I get the feeling this too is some ridiculous marketing ploy which will all end eventually with his redemption arc? Just…Stop!

I don’t blame David for taking a respite from this toxic environment at all, but once he rejoins the world this year, I hope he demonstrates far more maturity and confidence to navigate his way around music and to keep the “realness” that has always made him shine brighter than others (to me at least).  Sometimes, I think David didn’t take off in the pop music scene because he’s too “real” – real vocals, real good looks, real emotions, real convictions, real faith, real vulnerability, real performance.  Sometimes “realness” doesn’t bend too well in the face of an endless marketing corporate-oiled machine.

Here’s hoping the contrasts between current pop stars and what David has to offer will be much more appreciated this time around.

Posted on January 24, 2014, in public image. Bookmark the permalink. 158 Comments.

  1. Well, at least some of you have finally put in writing what I have always known already, which is, is you don’t give a rats ass about who David is apart what he can do for you. You don’t care who he is a human being, you don’t care what he does for other people, you don’t care what he needs to do for himself (his Mission). You just want him to entertain you, and you want him to do it the way you want him to.

    Candy, you say ” I too am not here for Davids religion, his mission, his goodness, Im here for the musical journey. Sure, hes a great guy, but for me that’s just make-up for the voice”.

    You are exactly the kind of pseudo-fan that David does not need. Of all the junk I’ve read about David, that has to be the most insulting. David, the person, means nothing to you, except of course, for his hair.

    CQ, Just because you say that something is “JMO” doesn’t make it immune from being challenged. Like when you say this, for example “I have said many times that following David’s career is just a real fun hobby for me.” Really? That’s what David is to you? A hobby? You mean like stamp collecting, or gardening? So that’s why you want David to be successful. You don’t want to have to find another hobby.

    David is a whole person. You can’t chop him up into the parts you like and ignore the parts that don’t give you pleasure. Do you treat your own children or grandchildren like that?

    • By the way I have NEVER said that DAVID is my hobby. What I have always said is that following his music career is my hobby and to me it is different, but I’m sure you are going to CHALLENGE this too, lol.

    • I don’t think any one of us here is David’s parent or grandparent.

    • David is not my child, he’s not my nephew, not even a close freind that I know. He’s someone that I am aquainted with at best on a personal level. He is a hobby for me and I do listen to him for entertainment. Yes, my own personal enjoyment! He is an entertainer! My favorite football team is also a hobby and I watch them play for entertainment. They are close to my heart because I went to school there and grew up in that town. Actually, they may mean even more to me than David! However, to think of them or him as anything more than a hobby is to make them an “idol” in my life. That’s actually a temptation for me.

      Does that mean I don’t care about David as a person or appreciate that he has good moral values and sings music that is “clean”? NO! I do care about him and appreciate his morality. I’ve actually told him this. I wouldn’t listen to him if his music was filthy. I will not however, put him up on a moral pedestal I’ll put his vocal ability up on a pedestal every day and twice on Sunday, but him as a person, absolutely not. Apreciate his morals, yes, Be awestruck because of them, that ‘s laughable.

      So, you can harp on the impeccable morals of David til your blue in the face. I wont join you. I will simply continue to be awestruck by his voice and appreciate that he sings music I’m willing to listen to.

  2. I think all fans of David are welcome.. uber or not for whatever reason. they like David and it brings those that would never be most likely in the same room together.
    way I see it David is the glue to what the world lacks.

  3. Ya know Bliss you can rant on me all you want BUT bringing my family, especially my grandchildren into this is a new low…even for you.

  4. Seriously, we’re all fans of David here. No need to police how we fan over him.

    I’m also certain the moment David does or says something that is a real “turn off ” for some fans, their fandom will cease to exist.

    Don’t try and drive away folks before they’re ready to leave!

    • Don’t worry, HG. The fans that some of these comments are directed at on both sides won’t be driven away for anything. In fact, I think they enjoy the “debate” as they often say things they know will provoke.

  5. HG, my intent is not to “police” anyone, or “drive anyone away’. These people come on a fan site dedicated to David Archuleta and post all kinds of insulting, dehumanizing hogwash about David, and they are never challenged. You put up this site to celebrate your appreciation for David, and you welcome others to share their views about him. They have no problem posting anything they want, much if it demeaning to David. I am challenging their words. I don’t know these people personally, and they are more than welcome to challenge what I post. If they can’t engage in adult, spirited debate, perhaps a less mature site would be more appropriate for them.

    • Obviously, we have different ideas about “insulting, dehumanizing hogwash,” as I didn’t see that going on at all! What you identified as such doesn’t even qualify! As someone who has seen the worst things said about David, what Candy and CQ said doesn’t even come close. They were very specific that they care about the music, that they find following him fun. How is that an insult? I’m not even going to debate that. But your reactions to what they said were problematic, and it certainly sounded like you were “policing” how they should act as fans. Maybe that was not your intent, and I allow folks to say whatever (as long as you don’t descend into a shouting match – and the times I’ve allowed that, it’s because I’ve been too busy offline to monitor everything that’s said). I’m just housebound on a snowy day so I’m paying a bit more attention today. I’m just inviting everyone to comment without telling other folks how they should feel about anyone.

      And “insulted Grandma” as a comeback? Talk about getting into some macho, chauvinistic jabs! Sometimes I wish David’s male fans would learn to emulate his very compassionate, non-aggressive interactions with the ladies. Peace!

      • Oh, wow. I guess your job is to take sides when need be. If they would not respond, but they ALWAYS do. then it becomes a debate. As far as personal attacks, I have seen ugly comments about Kari (from Anon) that were not challenged because he/she was a “troll”. They were repeated on this site two or three times. Anyway, some dish it but can’t take it. Then don’t respond. It goes away then. If you respond, then it will continue and continue.

      • My job is to “take sides”? Please! I was immediately responding to a particular argument that I found problematic. So what if I don’t respond to every quibble on this blog? Should I be micromanaging what grown-a$$ people do when they leave comments? What do you think I am? A kindergarten teacher? I do enough teaching in my real offline life, thank you very much!

        But don’t tell me how and when or if I should be reacting to this blog. Everybody knows who I am around here, and those who don’t like my blog, they stay away! Which is what I think all should do when they get tired of the back-and-forth.

        Heck, I stay away sometimes from the comments when I get tired of the back-and-forth. You can do the same (as I’m sure many others do).

        I could shut this whole blog down, but I don’t! You know why? Because I’m keeping a vigil for David. And I’m here for David more than for any foolishness that goes down on this blog. Sometimes I step in, sometimes I might even take sides, and sometimes I don’t even bother. That’s my prerogative!

      • Et tu, HG? Just because what CQ and Candy says about David are not the “worst” things said about him doesn’t mean they should go unchallenged. Obviously, you’re on board with them, which I find surprising, given your history of respect and admiration for David . Oh well. live and learn.

      • Perhaps that’s the difference between you and me. I don’t agree with a lot of things CQ and Candy has said about David, but I’m not invested in telling them how to feel about him either. Maybe because I don’t view the world from a chauvinistic perspective (funny how you didn’t pick up on what it was that I found problematic about your comment).

      • Wow, I just stated what I saw and not angrily by the way. I guess there are some subjects that are off limits. I promise I won’t question anymore.

      • She’s right– it’s her blog, she can do whatever she wants. We should be thankful we are allowed to post here. We don’t want her to gather up all her toys and go home.

  6. Candy, try to stick with the substance. You know exactly what I meant. Please don’t play the “insulted Grandma” card just to rally your troops.

    • OMG! Here we go again!

      Why can’t David’s have differing opinions of why they are fans or what they admire about David? Why can’t fans love the voice but still be honest about some issues they see as problematic for David having a successful career going forward? Why can’t some fans express their beliefs that David may need to make some changes in the way he’s perceived by the music buying public IF he truly wants a long lasting career in the misic industry? Why should some fans have to walk on egg shells for fear of being attacked or scolded if they voice their thoughts & concerns about David & his career? Or anything else about him for that matter? Celebrities, like David, whose career longevity & success depends on people buying into their celebrity be it movies or music & becoming fans, would have no career if not for their fans. And that means ALL fans, not just the ones who think they walk on water, but also those who may not like everything they do, how they look, what they say, or even their lifestyle.

      I have never seen or heard David be openly hostile, mean or disrespectful to anyone, fans or collegues, at least not publicly so why would anyone think David would appreciate fans attacking or putting down others in the guise of defending him?

      • Senseless, what “guise”? I mean every word I say. I understand that it’s perfectly alright for anyone to come here, say whatever they want about David, no matter how insulting, and they will have the support and backing of most other posters, including the Administrator.

        Older Fan, thanks for “getting it” and seeing through the facade.

        I find it amazing that anyone can say any insulting thing about me, and that is fine with everyone, but the second I say something that “insults” someone here, it’s called a “cheap shot” or “chauvinistic”. I’m getting dizzy from the slanted playing field we’re playing on.

  7. boxing gloves anybody .or better yet boots.lol

  8. Rooster, my boots are well-heeled and “made for walking” and would love to “walk all over” some folks, but I’ve got some other things to tend to.

    As for those who want to still talk about me “taking sides” and being unfair and all that other stuff, here’s my final comment on this issue: *TALK TO THE HAND.*

    *Does hair toss, eye roll, and signs off.*

  9. HG you say “Perhaps that’s the difference between you and me. I don’t agree with a lot of things CQ and Candy has said about David, but I’m not invested in telling them how to feel about him either. ”

    This is a site where people are welcome to express their opinions about a host of issues related to David. I am merely doing the same thing these people are doing. I am expressing my opinion about what they posted. They are certainly invested in their opinions about his Mission, career, personal life, etc. because they post their opinion again and again. The problem is that while David is not “off limits” to being challenged, other fans apparently are off limits.

    As for your charge of my being “chauvinistic” , I believe in a gender neutral, age neutral, race neutral society, where people are all treated with equal respect and have equal accountability. To paraphrase Dr.King, I believe that people should be judged ” not by the color of their skin, their age, or their gender but by the content of their character”. No one does that better than David.

  10. testing one, two, three – seeing if I’m banished from the site

  11. Kimak, why is it OK for you to insult me by called my post “bologna” and I’m not allowed to state my opinion about someone’s else’s post? The double standard here is plain as day.

  12. Older fan, I still see your post at 5:04 PM. Do you not see it?

    • Yes, I did. Just wondering if possibly I would no longer be welcome. That was a lot of exclamation points!! lol Free speech reigns! (I think…)

  13. I find it funny that everyone thinks David is so goody goody and happy happy joy joy. I know for a fact he has a mean side. Not all the time but he’s not oblivious and he’s not perfect.

    • Which is why I said he is always polite, respectful & never mean, IN PUBLIC. He’s careful about his persona in that sense. I bet he even gets angry sometimes. 🙂

      I think it’s good to hear that David does have a “mean side”. I think everyone does. Even God has a “mean side” if you take into consideration all the terrible things HE “allows” to happen in this world which believers say It’s for a “good reason” or as a “lesson” for mankind. Jesus also had a “mean side”.

      Somehow it’s comforting to know he can’t walk on water. At the same time, disturbing to think that if David ever does something, is involved in something or agrees to do something not quite befitting the
      pedestal he’s been placed on by some fans, those same fans will turn on him in a blink of an eye.

      David has fans now who think he can do no wrong, who think “David has been the best male singer on the planet for years”, and other fans who see David as a fallable human being with a great voice & don’t have unreasonable expectations of him. I would be lying if I said I also think David is the best male singer on the planet FOR YEARS?? Come on. He is exceptional but there are other singers on the planet who compare and who are *gulp* better vocalists. Talking about being “real”! Even David knows not to believe in THAT hype. He knows he’s good and he knows he could be better. It’s part of evolving, growing and continually learning his craft. Perhaps someday he will be regarded as The Best Male Vocalist in the world, but he’s not there yet, even if as a fan. I love his voice now.

    • For once I am kind of staying out of this.lol. I think it is good to know that David is not perfect and does get angry at times. I mean he is human. lol. Wish that he was going to the Grammys tomorrow.

  14. Anonymous, how do you know that, and if you can’t be more specific, allow me to quote Kimak, and call your post “bologna”?

    • I understand your hesitation to believe me. I have seen his mad side before and it’s not pleasant. Don’t get me wrong, he’s a great person but he is not perfect.

      • No one is perfect and anyone who believes any human is, is delusional. However, there are some who walk the walk better than others; those who try to do what is right. By all indications, he is pretty good at it. “You know them by their fruit..”

      • I would really be worried about him if he didn’t get angry and show it every one in a while. Now that would be “creepy”.

      • Anonymous, I would worry about David if he never got mad but the way one behaves when that happens is what defines “mean. To think of David as reacting that way is truly different for me. Was that a trace of a pedestal crumbling?

    • rofl word for the day.. bologna
      I’d love to hear about his mean side.. come to think about it I would love to see it.
      have yet to see any of that so far.

  15. kind of interesting if you think about it.. five years going in and most fans have yet to see anything mean coming out of David. would think all that holding it in would be detrimental to one’s health.

  16. Things fall apart when, instead of talking about David, we talk about the reaction of our fellow fans to David. Talking about the reaction of others IS policing. However, leading by example is not.

  17. Missbianca, this notion that I am trying to “police” the fans is, how can I say it , “bologna”. All I am doing is what everyone else does, namely, expressing my opinion about David or about what someone else has posted. I expect to be accountable for what I post, and I hold others to that same standard. It’s what goes on in an adult discussion. The problem is that some posters here and elsewhere do not want to have to defend or explain their thoughts, so they call it , “JMO” in an attempt to avoid doing so. I don’t think it’s unfair to expect to be challenged on what you post on any site. We don’t post in a vacuum.

    • Bliss, if it helps to explain my comment, it wasn’t just about you.

      I realize I used a loaded word when I said, “policing.” How about you address my whole post rather than that word which wasn’t meant to be taken in a vacuum?

    • Ok bliss, you might be talking about me in regards to ‘JMO’. I’ll stop, lol.

  18. lol sorry folks auto correct turned collab into collar.

  19. Senseless, you make some interesting points at 6:21 PM that I’d like to respond to”

    1) “I think it’s good to hear that David does have a “mean side”. I think everyone does.

    Really? Being mean is not the same as feeling anger. A “mean’ person willfully and maliciously
    inflicts harm, verbally or otherwise, on another person. Anger is a feeling that we all feel when we are mistreated or see others mistreated. David Archuleta is not a mean person, nor would it be a good thing if he or anyone else were. I’m sure he feels anger, however, because he is a human being.

    2) “Somehow it’s comforting to know he can’t walk on water. At the same time, disturbing to think that if David ever does something, is involved in something or agrees to do something not quite befitting the
    pedestal he’s been placed on by some fans, those same fans will turn on him in a blink of an eye.”

    David most certainly does not walk on water. I agree with you that some fans would abandon him if he ever failed to fit into their fantasy of him. David has many fans who are “fantasy-based”. Speaking for myself, I would never abandon him, even if did something terrible, like becoming a Republican.

    3)” David has fans now who think “David has been the best male singer on the planet for years”

    Guilty as charged. I have been a fan of pop music for many, many years, and David is the best male singer I have ever heard. If you have another favorite, God bless. IMO, David is in a class with Sam Cooke, Jackie Wilson Nat King Cole and Elvis. If you don’t agree, that’s fine.

    4)” He knows he’s good and he knows he could be better. It’s part of evolving, growing and continually learning his craft”

    I couldn’t agree more. That’s what makes the next phase of his career so exciting to anticipate.

    • Wow, bliss, so David is a Democrat, fabulous!!!

    • LOL!
      Bliss, you said, “Speaking for myself, I would never abandon him, even if did something terrible, like becoming a Republican”.

      I bet if he votes, he votes as a Republican. Utah is almost totally Republican, statistically speaking. I would be very surprised but will admit, very happy if I were wrong.

      “David is in a class with Sam Cooke, Jackie Wilson Nat King Cole and Elvis. If you don’t agree, that’s fine”.

      I don’t agree because I was not even born yet when they were at the top of their game nor have I listened to their music with the exception of Nat King Cole & Elvis on the radio singing Christmas songs. But Elvis is a great looking guy and David is too so there’s that. 🙂

      I just don’t see why I can’t be a fan of David and still not think he’s reached his full potential as a vocalist. A fan who believes he can someday be considered one of the great vocalists of all time. A fan who believes he needs ORIGINAL material, great lyrics and great music which will bring out his soulful side because that is when he shines and brings out the oooohs & aaaahs in his audiences. He can sing anything but R&B/Soul may be the genre which will make all the naysayers take notice.

      • Senseless, you say” I just don’t see why I can’t be a fan of David and still not think he’s reached his full potential as a vocalist. A fan who believes he can someday be considered one of the great vocalists of all time. A fan who believes he needs ORIGINAL material, great lyrics and great music which will bring out his soulful side because that is when he shines and brings out the oooohs & aaaahs in his audiences. He can sing anything but R&B/Soul may be the genre which will make all the naysayers take notice.”

        I could not agree more with your beautifully written post.

        Then you say,” I bet if he votes, he votes as a Republican. Utah is almost totally Republican, statistically speaking. I would be very surprised but will admit, very happy if I were wrong.”

        Although Utah voted overwhelmingly for Romney in the last election, I think there are more independent thinking people there than it appears. I was shocked when Utah legalized same sex marriage recently, much to to to horror of the Republican/ Conservative establishment . As for David, he seems pretty apolitical to me, but his view of the world does not coincide with the small minded, backward thinking,” I’ve got mine, who cares about you” policies of the Republican party. He also has great respect for women, which the Republican Party clearly does not,

  20. a few years ago someone “in the biz” called david a jerk and i asked why and this guy said that david refused to give him an autograph for his daughter. so yeah, sometimes he’s like JB and that’s just fine with me. i firmly believe that MY david does not want to be put on a pedestal!

    • I heard that story too, but I also heard that the guy was a real jerk to David, really pushy and demanding. I’m not saying that David doesn’t get angry or frustrated at times–actually I’m sure he does, he’s human–there’s just two sides to every story. And I agree with you, I’m sure David doesn’t want to be put on a pedestal.

  21. bliss- i’m sure david does consider himself a republican. isn’t that obvious?

  22. Missbianca, I assume you meant this from your post “Things fall apart when, instead of talking about David, we talk about the reaction of our fellow fans to David”

    Personally, I have no problem with any of it. Fans reactions to David and each other are all part of the experience. I think it “falls apart” when people refuse to discuss their positions when they are challenged, and resort to “shooting the messenger” instead of focusing on the substance of the subject. I welcome being challenged, as well as welcoming any ensuing discussion, heated or otherwise. I don’t do it to gain personal attention. I just love talking about David, as we all do.

    • I definitely consider “talking about David” and “talking about fan reactions” to be two different things. I welcome the former but I guess I personally don’t welcome much of the latter. It quickly begins to feel hurtful and spiteful on all sides. Yes, I could just not read here. In fact, I often don’t. Just as many of my David-friends no longer read, post on, or even run, fan sites–not because of anything David has done but because of fans reacting to fans.

      Yeah, enough of this. I have some scrapbooking supplies to catalog. And I think I’ll listen to some Ella.

  23. it seems to me folks are more into the gossip/personal side of David then his voice and his music.

  24. i see some missed my point about the boots,not refering to walking at all. think about it,some days you need boots to come here.just saying. lol.i will now pick up my toys and leave lol

  25. rooster-LOl-I got ya, it was getting deep in here, Im thinking you were talking about “waders” or as they a e refered to in some circles… s**t stompers.

  26. It’s really hard for me to imagine David being deliberately mean or hurtful to another person. But I can definitely believe he gets angry . Everybody gets angry. Sometimes justifiably and sometimes we overreact. Jesus said, “be angry and sin not.” Forgive or ask for forgiveness. Hope I don’t sound too preachy.lol

    • “Be angry and sin not..” – Sometimes in life there are things we all should be angry about – Thanks for bring up this scripture, oliveoil.

  27. Thanks Older Fan.

  28. David has 4 siblings. Four sisters and a younger brother! Why is it beyond the realm of possibilities that David can be “mean”, sometimes? Like towards his siblings for example? “Mean” like in most families with several siblings. Why is it so hard to believe he isn’t always willing & ready to adhere to the whims of those closest to him by being “mean” & saying NO instead of always saying YES just to keep everyone happy? He isn’t a saint, as much as some of his fans would like to believe he is. Doesn’t mean he is an evil person, or selfish or unkind, just that he is human and can be ill-tempered no & then given the circumstances as we all can be. Give David a break & just let him be human.

    Actually there may be times when David may have to be “mean” in his own way if he feels he’s being taken advantage of.

  29. I know for a fact…that David is one of Santa’s elves! After reading the end of this thread, I couldn’t help myself. Obviously I am not the earlier Anonymous, but how easy it is for anyone to log on under that name, or any other name, and share “facts”. I still don’t know why anyone gives credibility or pays attention to these hit and run posts claiming to know David. This one time poster leaves one comment, and everyone is defending David’s right to be mean, explaining why he may be construed as mean, declaring that there is no way he could ever be mean, or applauding the fact that he might have a bit of a mean streak.

