Updating Christmas from the Heart

christmas-from-the-heart-official-album-cover1

As much as I love Christmas from the Heart, having heard The Voice on some other carols has made me long for an update. What say you, Soul Davidians? If you had to pick one extra carol to add to this album, which would it be? Please take my latest poll! 🙂

Posted on December 23, 2013, in Christmas from the Heart, polls. Bookmark the permalink. 101 Comments.

  1. I just wanted to wish everyone a Merry Christmas! And for those who don’t celebrate a Happy Holiday season, full of joy. Also a special thanks to the talented and thought provoking HG, who has kept it going on. You rock! To all the posters, you have kept things interesting, during a career lull, so thanks. 🙂

  2. Hi. It’s Christmas. Just a thought but wouldn’t it be nice if we could all just declare peace for one day, hold the sniping for a little new year’s fun? 😉

    I’m listening to Christmas tunes while getting ready to head out to a holiday party. This just came on and put me in a suitably happy spirit. I had forgotten he sang this! Luckily my ipod didn’t.

  3. Bliss thought this my give you a somewhat different look at some missionaries: My younger brother just got back from his mission on Wednesday, and I am at my parent’s house both to see him and for Christmas. Before his mission, we were quite close and he was really cool. I was wanting to come out to him (about being gay) and hint at the whole exmo thing.

    However, he has changed quite a bit. I mean, a lot of people come back being rather TBM, but this seems like so much more than that. He has become extremely homophobic and redneck. I have a Human Rights Campaign bumper sticker on my car, and he asked me why I had a “freakin’ fag tag”. I told him that I support gay rights, and he seemed totally baffled. He has since convinced my youngest brother (11) to point out the sticker whenever he sees it (though at least he just calls it my “Gay Sticker”). He (my RM brother) also really likes to tell stories about the gay village in his mission and how gross he found it, as well as telling me several times a day that I need to get a girlfriend (he is close to getting engaged). None of this was at all how he was before. I don’t know whether to brush this off as just post-mission TBMness or whether it’s something more. I also have no idea what I should say to him; it’s really difficult hearing all his homophobic rants, and my TBM parents who know I’m gay don’t say anything to him. Any advice?
    ss thought this might be of interest to you:

    This was posted on an exmo site, so of course, it’s not going to be a positive view of missions, but still, this really was a bet hard to read.

    • Here is one of the questions that male missionaries ask every time they baptize someone (females can’t do the interviews of their own converts): ” 4. Have you ever committed a serious crime? If so, are you now on probation or parole? Have you ever participated in an abortion? a homosexual relationship?”

      You can see where their attitudes come from.

      • hmm, I wonder what they would do if they said yes to homosexual relationship? I don’t know but I bet they would say they had to stop having those homosexual tendencies. I bet that David has a hard time with that one, being that he has said that he has friends that are homosexual. I just don’t get it, especially with all the information that is out there. I understand some people needing organize religion in their lives, but to be a devout believer of everything, imo, some things are just wrong and that goes for ALL religions.

  4. Hope everyone has a good holiday! Three more months until he returns!

  5. Kimak,
    Thank You soooooo much for that OHN!

    JMO – these off the cuff performances are far more potent because he can potentially do anything or go anywhere with a song. They tried to lighten it up at first but it soon became evident that even in “fun” David’s voice has the potential to move and uplift. Reading the blog comments are even sweeter.

    Despite the comments on SD being perceived as positive or not by some, we would not be here at all if we really did not love David nor have his best interest at heart and CQ said it best – NO ONE deserves more success.

  6. Despite my feeling about this whole mission thing, one thing I can’t deny is how happy David seems to be. That joy on his face is the joyful smile I remember.

    I can’t wait until he returns and I’m hoping, it won’t take to long for him to get back into the grove of things, we will be lucky to have some great music from him in 2014 and long successful career.

    Wishing all the wonderful commenters here and especially to Hg, for her hard work and wonderful post, a MERRY CHRISTMAS/HAPPY HOLIDAYS!!!

  7. CQ, that picture of David is worth more than anything I or anyone could say about how he feels about his Mission. David remains the embodiment of joy and goodness, and he will continue to have my unconditional support.

    You say at 2:42 PM “Bliss , yes, absolutely that was wonderful that you ran into very nice guys, no one is saying they weren’t, but what was a little overboard was that you went on to assume that all missionaries were nice, happy and in general the most perfect people to walk on the face of this world…that’s why I felt I need to put my two cents into the mix.”

    Where have I ever said or assumed that “all missionaries were nice, happy, and in general the most perfect people to walk on the face of the earth”? The FACT is that I have never said that. You cannot make up stuff and exaggerate my posts just to make your point. The one who went “overboard” is you.

  8. CQ, as for that anecdote from the returning Missionary, I’m sure there are all kinds of post Mission life changes that take place for these returning Missionaries. You have made an incorrect assumption that I think everything about these Missions is wonderful. Nothing in life is. I’m sure it has been very challenging for David as well as for those 2 “nice” guys I met on Saturday. What’s wrong with that? That’s how people grow. David understands that. This wasn’t a 2 year vacation. I respect David and support his choices in life, whether it entertains me or not.

  9. Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night!!

    Looking forward to 2014 and the very first David concert cause I just have to go to it!

  10. CQ, you’re not so bad. You’ve got spunk!!, lol. Have a great Holiday.

  11. What a nice surprise from David at Christmas time. He will be back soon and it will be interesting to see what happens.

