Sunday Carol Series: O Holy Night

This Sunday before Christmas, I want to highlight what is probably the holiest of holies coming from The Voice (and one of the earliest versions too!). If this doesn’t put you in the mood for Christmas, then I don’t know how many Christmas ghosts need to visit you to scare away the “bah humbug” from your life. Let the Voice take you to that special Christmasy place. 😀

Posted on December 22, 2013, in performance. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. David sings “Oh Holy Night” like none other. I remember how excited we ODD fans were about this performance. Truly spectacular. I don’t know how David’s career will unfold when he returns, but I’m quite sure he will always perform at Christmas. Even during the missionary blackout we got to see him sing at Christmas. It has been a blessing to me.

  2. What I love about David’s voice is the spirituality that brings honor to these beautiful songs. Not everyone, imo, has that ability even if they are devoutly religious. Again, imo, that spirituality has nothing to do with organize religion. It’s just there from the time of birth.
    Thank you Hg for these fabulous Sunday carol serious, what a joyous why to celebrate the voice and the glorious giving season.

  3. Shanny in Australia

    Ahhh, my very favourite Christmas carol. My husband was playing a Celine Dion version tonight and while it was technically beautiful it was just missing the passion at what I consider the critical moments of the song …….but when David sings it, his emotion and passion allow your soul to soar at those important moments. Nobody does Christmas carols and national anthems like David Archuleta! lol

  4. I’m amazed too by David’s version of OHN. He takes it (and me) to another place. Funny, though, how many Christmas songs that I now (strongly) prefer his version of.

    • I know what you mean. When I am out and hear a Christmas song I am often thinking “man I wish they were playing David’s version” – I just can’t help comparing them even when I don’t want to.

      • Ditto for me. Even sometimes when it’s considered the greatest version ever, David’s is greater. Noellllll, NO-ELLL.

  5. This is by far my fav version of David singing OHN. Unbelievable one could be so talented at age 17.

    • I agree with you Desertrat. Despite the OHN versions in live christmas tour concerts or even recorded, this one for me tops them all. He sang it in a slightly higher register then when his voice could and his tone was really beautiful.

  6. Yes- this video was taken in Dec of 2008 right after S7 AI at the VIP Reception before the Hollywood Tree Lighting. Hard to believe that it was 5 years ago.

  7. Comparing this video to the previous thread picture of David now. Boy has he matured, but still retained the boyish charm. Can’t wait to see/hear what he will have in store for us fans.

  8. David singing OHN is an experience. Not to be too full of hyperbole but when he sings this I don’t just listen to it, I feel it. You can tell HE really feels what the song means while singing it.

    The video posted by HG was my first love with OHN and David. I also find the performance from SLC right after his announcement to be especially moving although that one is hard to watch. But, wow, the passion he sang with in that performance. If I’m only given the option to listen to one performance of OHN though I would have to go with the Spanish version he did last Christmas in Chile. I just close my eyes and let David’s voice and conviction take me to a place where I don’t speak the language but I understand every word.

    Merry Christmas, all!

  9. This is my favorite visually:

