Sinead O’Connor vs. Miley Cyrus

As a fan of Sinead O’Connor’s music, I’m not at all amused by the so-called “catfight” between Sinead and Miley Cyrus that the media is obviously enjoying by covering the issue in the most superficial way.

Instead, I’m going to share the Open Letter that the older musician sent to Miley when she learned that her music video “Nothing Compares 2 U” was the inspiration for that hideous “Wrecking Ball”:

Dear Miley,

I wasn’t going to write this letter, but today i’ve been dodging phone calls from various newspapers who wished me to remark upon your having said in Rolling Stone your “Wrecking Ball” video was designed to be similar to the one for “Nothing Compares” … So this is what I need to say … And it is said in the spirit of motherliness and with love.

I am extremely concerned for you that those around you have led you to believe, or encouraged you in your own belief, that it is in any way “cool” to be naked and licking sledgehammers in your videos. It is in fact the case that you will obscure your talent by allowing yourself to be pimped, whether it’s the music business or yourself doing the pimping.

Nothing but harm will come in the long run, from allowing yourself to be exploited, and it is absolutely NOT in ANY way an empowerment of yourself or any other young women, for you to send across the message that you are to be valued (even by you) more for your sexual appeal than your obvious talent.

I am happy to hear I am somewhat of a role model for you and I hope that because of that you will pay close attention to what I am telling you.

The music business doesn’t give a sh– about you, or any of us. They will prostitute you for all you are worth, and cleverly make you think its what YOU wanted.. and when you end up in rehab as a result of being prostituted, “they” will be sunning themselves on their yachts in Antigua, which they bought by selling your body and you will find yourself very alone.

None of the men oggling you give a sh– about you either, do not be fooled. Many’s the woman mistook lust for love. If they want you sexually that doesn’t mean they give a f— about you. All the more true when you unwittingly give the impression you don’t give much of a f— about yourself. And when you employ people who give the impression they don’t give much of a f— about you either. No one who cares about you could support your being pimped.. and that includes you yourself.

Yes, I’m suggesting you don’t care for yourself. That has to change. You ought be protected as a precious young lady by anyone in your employ and anyone around you, including you. This is a dangerous world. We don’t encourage our daughters to walk around naked in it because it makes them prey for animals and less than animals, a distressing majority of whom work in the music industry and its associated media.

You are worth more than your body or your sexual appeal. The world of showbiz doesn’t see things that way, they like things to be seen the other way, whether they are magazines who want you on their cover, or whatever.. Don’t be under any illusions.. ALL of them want you because they’re making money off your youth and your beauty.. which they could not do except for the fact your youth makes you blind to the evils of show business. If you have an innocent heart you can’t recognise those who do not.

I repeat, you have enough talent that you don’t need to let the music business make a prostitute of you. You shouldn’t let them make a fool of you either. Don’t think for a moment that any of them give a flying f— about you. They’re there for the money.. we’re there for the music. It has always been that way and it will always be that way. The sooner a young lady gets to know that, the sooner she can be REALLY in control.

You also said in Rolling Stone that your look is based on mine. The look I chose, I chose on purpose at a time when my record company were encouraging me to do what you have done. I felt I would rather be judged on my talent and not my looks. I am happy that I made that choice, not least because I do not find myself on the proverbial rag heap now that I am almost 47 yrs of age.. which unfortunately many female artists who have based their image around their sexuality, end up on when they reach middle age.

Real empowerment of yourself as a woman would be to in future refuse to exploit your body or your sexuality in order for men to make money from you. I needn’t even ask the question.. I’ve been in the business long enough to know that men are making more money than you are from you getting naked. It’s really not at all cool. And it’s sending dangerous signals to other young women. Please in future say no when you are asked to prostitute yourself. Your body is for you and your boyfriend. It isn’t for every spunk-spewing dirtbag on the net, or every greedy record company executive to buy his mistresses diamonds with.

As for the shedding of the Hannah Montana image.. whoever is telling you getting naked is the way to do that does absolutely NOT respect your talent, or you as a young lady. Your records are good enough for you not to need any shedding of Hannah Montana. She’s waaaaaaay gone by now.. Not because you got naked but because you make great records.

Whether we like it or not, us females in the industry are role models and as such we have to be extremely careful what messages we send to other women. The message you keep sending is that it’s somehow cool to be prostituted.. it’s so not cool Miley.. it’s dangerous. Women are to be valued for so much more than their sexuality. we aren’t merely objects of desire. I would be encouraging you to send healthier messages to your peers.. that they and you are worth more than what is currently going on in your career. Kindly fire any motherf—er who hasn’t expressed alarm, because they don’t care about you.

I think Sinead made some important points, even if it does come off a bit judgmental and even slut-shaming-like.  Still, do these issues that Sinead mentions only affect women in the music industry? Would they also effect guys like David, if he returns to the same pop music scene?

What say you Soul Davidians?

And, in case it isn’t obvious: I’m all the way Team Sinead here, especially after Miley proceeded to mock the veteran singer for her mental health issues in the past. Ugh!

Posted on October 4, 2013, in current events. Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. I thought Sinead’s comments showed concern for Miley. She’s been in the music industry for a long time and has experienced everything she is warning Miley about. As far as being judgmental, I don’t think so. If Miley doesn’t come across slutty, then what else would she need to do?

  2. Very interesting post Hg. As I said before after reading that letter, I do agree with a lot of what Sinead said and being that she has been there, done that, it indeed is good advice.
    The only part that I’m not sure about is blaming everything on the industry. One think that sticks out in my mind is that video with convo with Brittany, where Miley said she really wanted to go topless for that train wreck performance in the VMAs and was denied, so I think she knows exactly what she is doing and really doesn’t have any problem with it…such a shame.

    Jmo, David in the other hand has an uphill climb because he is seen as being the anti anyone that is out there, which is a real good thing, but being that all the bad behavior is so excepted as shown by how popular Miley and JB are, he needs to make good clean behavior cool, if that makes sense.

    • I have to agree that it will take a lot of hard work to build a successful career, but I’m sure there are lots of new people out there who will appreciate David’s talent. He needs to find a management team that “gets” him and can promote him in a way that will reach more people.

  3. Great Post. Team Sinead all the way. Sinead had every right to respond to Miley as Miley is the one that publically compared herself to Sinead. Miley is a self absorbed , mean spirted, spoiled brat who unfortunately has millions of dollars and does not have to listen anyone. I am sure her team supports whatever she does. Same goes for the Biebs. I can’t believe Miley attacked people with mental health issues. What a mean girl. This to me has nothing to do with David except that music industry is very tough. Sinead is also right about the music industry.

  4. I think the issues Sinead raised can affect men as well as women in the music/movie industry. As examples, JBieber, Zac Efron, Taylor Lautner, Trey Songz, Chris Brown, etc., are regularly seen shirtless. My gut feeling is that male industry execs encouraged them to tone up and show it off to bring more attention to themselves.

  5. Aside from the fact that women and men are over sexualized in pictures, videos, show etc, I think that people in general are overly infatuated with great bodies. The diet industry is huge and it is constantly feeding the public that beautiful toned, sexy bodies are to be gloried. So I’m thinking in some level, as long as any of these stars have killer bodies, it’s kind of ok, not in my book mind you. Actually I do enjoy looking at a beautiful body, but I actually feel that a man with clothes on a great body is the sexiest on earth, lol. And as far as women go, I’m not against showing some skin as long as it’s always done in good taste, but than again that is very subject. What’s tasteful to me, might not be tasteful to someone else.

    • I’m all about the sexy! And I don’t need David to get shirtless (as if that would ever happen! haha!) to be sexy. It’s the over-commercialization of “sexiness” that’s the problem to me. It’s so plastic, not at all genuine or sincere. Miley Cyrus’s “sexiness” is sooooo hysterically over-the-top, it only makes you cringe.

      If she had seemed a bit more intelligent, I would say she’s doing some seriously massive performance art critique about female hypersexuality… except there’s no self-referential in any of it, the way Lady Gaga is obviously being analytical in what she does.

      • HG agree.. thinking Miley is more where Madonna went a while back. I actually like We Can’t Stop and Wrecking Ball but felt she ruined them with her videos and antics.
        but maybe that was the point to get folks attention?

      • Me too I don’t need or want David to go shirtless, that’s just not his style. I totally agree with you about Miley. I was just putting another view as to why these performers do this.

      • Btw, it’s not to say that I don’t like a nice toned male body without a shirt, I won’t lie, lol.

  6. If Miley had the vocal talents then she would not have to resort to these antics to get attention. You do not see Adele doing this. Miley also can’t dance. lol. Look it how Pink can belt out her songs in concert while soaring gracefully through the air on cables stretched across the arena. Pink can pull off singing her songs, the dancing and the acrobatics. Now that is talent. Miley not so much.

  7. I acually agreed what Pink and Cher said about Miley’s performances. Here are their quotes:http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/09/18/cher-says-miley-cyrus-cant-dance-pink_n_3946913.html

    • no doubt about it.. Miley is nothing like Pink or Adele.
      in David’s case he has the voice, the talent.. maybe he just needs to figure out how to get the attention like they all have in his own way?
      if I had a dream wish it would be for David to work with whoever is working with Adele.. fabulous production, writing and musicianship.

  8. I agree with you Kimak. David does need to figure it out. Always felt he needs a first rate team behind him to produce music like Adele. He could use Adele’s production team to produce a top rate album.

  9. just saw this on twitter.. goes to the topic at hand and Adele!!

    http://www.eonline.com/news/467059/adele-s-voice-on-new-music-sounds-even-better-than-before-says-producer-ryan-tedder?cmpid=tweol-manual

    hmm Ryan Tedder.. not sure if that is the best fit for David but you never know.
    as I recall there was a bit of history between those two?

  10. David and Ryan Tedder singing Apologize together was a great AI idol moment. Too bad Ryan did not work on David’s first album. Wasn’t there a rumor 5 yrs ago during AI S7 that Ryan did not like David’s dad as Ryan felt he tried to contact him too often and #mic bugged him. Not sure if that was true or not but not everyone was a fan of #mic back in AI days. That sure did not help David at the time whether it was fair or not.

    • something went on and my guess David was an innocent to it all.

    • hum interesting, I was not aware of all the huge drama back then regarding David’s dad (just that he was thought as a stage dad) but really if Ryan felt strong enough regarding David’s talent and wanted to be part of that mentoring, I think he would of found a way to do it, but then what the heck do I know about anything, just a thought.

      Right now my expectation have been extremely lowered for David’s music career, for a number of reasons, but am so happy that he is (very confident about this) continuing with music, but I’m also confident that with the right team, right direction with songs that fit his talent and are relatable to a lot of people, he could become a major singing star, just don’t know if all that will ever happen.

      • don’t think it had to do anything about David’s talent.. if you are going to work with someone you usually feel the need to like them or the circumstances around it no? I heard a different story by the way but who knows what really went on. was crazy times.

      • Care to share version you heard Kimak, understand if you don’t, but just curious.

  11. The story I recall, a One Republic (OR) fan posted a comment (that Tedder allegedly made at a concert) on a OR fan forum. During the concert, Tedder supposedly said that the AI producers were encouraging him and D to make more eye contact when performing the “Apologize” duet. Tedder then said he told D he’d hit him if he looked his way. There was discussion in the fanbase that if the comment was true, Tedder appeared to be homophobic.

    • I forgot to add, I rank Tedder with Melinda — I hope both of them continue to keep their distance from D.

      • Honestly I do not know what the story involving Tedder really was as it was 5 years ago. Mabybe some others remember or it was what desertrat said. My guess is there were a bunch of rumors at the time but not everyone did like David’s dad. Another example is what Arsenio Hall said. Doesn’t the truth always fall somewhere in the middle.

  12. Going back to a “shirtless” David, it may never happen, but I never say never. I recall a couple years ago David went to the movies with his mama to see “!7 Again” with Zac Afron. He gave the impression his mama thought Zac was “hot” because he said she had seen that movie once or twice before. Shortly after that, David began a serious regimen of exercises to build muscle. I always thought it may have been his mama’s idea for David to bulk up much like her suggestion for David to grow his hair longer, as David never came off the least bit vain about himself or his body. I think his mama, maybe subconciously, knows David has a smouldering sensuality and made suggestions to David knowing it would only help him build his fan base among the women especially the young girls who go for the hot body types. Up to that point, he did look like a 14 year old. After that, he looked at least 18 or 19!! haha!

    Moral of this story is that like a good son, he listens to his mama!

    • Yes, Senseless never say never. David does keeps on surprising us, however I doubt it too. To me the only way that would be good for him to be free enough to do it is in a movie role that would be part of the story line. Actually David oozes sensuality fully clothed…it’s just part of who he is…all he has to do is be comfortable with it and not hold back. Imo opinion it would just add to his entertainment factor. He would of course do it in very classy way. Maybe Lupe understands that part of entertainment more than David does, so hey, you go Lupe, lol.

    • lol, there’s no denying the impact his mom has on him.

  13. Interesting time for this post as Miley is going to host SNL tonight. That should be a joke. lol. I think that JT and Bruno Mars were great hosts and musical performers for SNL.

    • i’m sure we’re in for an outrageous treat, that is, if we decide to watch it. who knows, they may do a skit w/her and sinead.

  14. I will probably watch it even though I do not like her. It will be entertaining.

