What I’m Listening to: Janelle Monae’s Electric Lady

Don’t know how many of you have been paying attention to Janelle Monae (she’s like always left of center when it comes to the pop music scene).  Anyway, her latest album, Electric Lady, dropped today, and here’s a Behind the Scenes about it:

Really enjoying her “Dance Apocalyptic“! 🙂

Posted on September 10, 2013, in music. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Thank you Hg for the great video. To be honest I really don’t know her, but I don’t really keep up with a lot of artists.

    • Janelle Monae hasn’t really taken off, and she’s pretty amazing. It’s that crazy thing nowadays, where really good artists (*cough* David Archuleta *cough*) obviously got the talent and even the dedicated fanbase, but they’re just not getting the mainstream attention, you know?

      • Yes, that for sure. Thank you for bringing Janelle to my attention. Gosh, I can’t wait until that man gets back here and gets back to working on his career.

  2. Quite lovely and fun to listen to! Never heard of her before but then…I get most of my music news from folks like you, HG.

  3. I guess in the David-Mission-Interim, this is a good time to explore what’s out there in the music (and at times movie) world. 🙂

  4. I knows of Janelle from Bruno Mars. They have performed and I believe toured together.

  5. I mean “know”. Also the state of the music industry worries me because controversy and sexuality really does pay. Miley Cyrus set a record with her new music video today. I really hope that David can fit in somehow.

    • I know, will David fit. Dang I sure hope so and maybe by next year the masses will be looking for something different. He has the talent, but he does need to step outside of the box. The more I think about it the more I’m hoping that he gets away from Utah. I don’t mean don’t visit and maybe have a house there too, but get away to some other place to get his career going again.
      As far as Miley goes, yes most of those hits are of curious on lookers, but it really doesn’t matter, she is making mega bucks and from what I read, a lot of people are not ok with her. I’ve said it all along, you make music that millions want to hear and it doesn’t matter what kind of reputation you have. If David puts out music that millions want to listen to, it won’t matter what he does.

  6. Just wanted to know if anyone that is on twitter heard anything more about FOD.

  7. I really like Janelle! I remember the Grammy performance she had a few years back — so good. I think that was the first time I heard of her. And she was featured on We Are Young, which was a big hit. She has such an interesting style. I’m always happy to hear about artists who really stick to their guns about being themselves, whatever that may be.

    I will definitely check out her new album — thanks for the heads up, HG!

  8. Sigh, SYTYCD is over, but I’m so happy there is going to be a season 11.
    Taking about songs and other artists, I love The Edge of Glory by GaGA. A couple danced to that song and it was so beautiful, both the dance and the song. She has such passion in her voice.

  9. I am also glad that SYTYCD is going to be on for another season. Great show and such talent.

  10. What I’m listening to:

  11. I like it too Peter.

