Happy Birthday, Michael Jackson!

If he were still alive, Michael Jackson would have turned 55 today.  Here’s a montage tribute! 🙂

Posted on August 29, 2013, in David's influences. Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. As an entertainer he had it all, he was an entertainment genius! That’s the way I want to remember him as an iconic entertainer.

  2. Love Michael’s music. Happy B-Day MJ.

  3. Happy BDay Michael! Per this article, his daughter Paris is in Utah and is doing much better.

    http://www.nydailynews.com/entertainment/gossip/paris-jackson-healthy-photos-suicide-attempt-article-1.1433433

  4. Blanket Jackson dancing to Billie Jean. Biebs better move aside, lol.

  5. To this day, this is still one of the most exciting performances I’ve ever seen

    Not to be backward-focused but one of the reasons I could never get behind the big public embrace of David Cook’s performance of Billie Jean (in an emo rocker ballad incarnation) was that I didn’t feel the soul or the attitude that the song embodies. Watching this video of MJ from 30 years ago, I feel like it’s happening right now. I feel alive watching it. I wanna jump up and yell YES at my screen. Maybe I will 😉

  6. Annnnnd as a huge David fan (shocker!! lol) of course what comes to mind for me as well when thinking of MJ is David’s impromptu singing of a verse of Man in the Mirror at the request of a fan.

    Even though he warned ahead of time that he couldn’t remember all the words and was reluctant to sing it because of that, when he got to parts where he was confident in the lyrics…he felt it. He made me feel it. I won’t say how many times I’ve watched all the snippets over and over from every angle, searching for the best audio to capture how he saaaaaaaang that song. This one is one of my faves even though the very beginning is cut off:

    I’ve said this before but I’ll say it again because I love to repeat myself: Dear David, please cover this full song one day.

    • This is so great–I was there, and so busy unsuccessfully trying to record it with my new camera, that I didn’t really appreciate it in the moment. Thank goodness for people putting it on YouTube–I just wish I knew how to get an mp3, or mp4. Need to ask my super-tech son.

      I love the “new” photo on twitter today:

      • cc – So lucky that you were there to hear that live!! Definitely would be one I wish I could go back and magically appear at lol.

        And that picture is niiiiice. Ngl, I hope he does another photoshoot for Bench at some point. For purely selfish reasons ;P

    • Yes, yes, yes please David cover this full song…maybe on tour in 2014…right up his alley…inspirational! in fact would love for David to cover all of Michael’s song, especially Billy Jean. I know that’s the song that Cook got a lot of praise for, but I know that David would honor it and give it the soul it deserves.

    • Shanny in Australia

      This guy kills me. That’s all there is to it.

    • a fan said she heard thru the door while at one of the last MKOCT concerts they did MJ’s Billie Jean at sound check.
      was hoping Kari recorded it as a gift to us but guess not.
      maybe he can perform it one day for us fans too.

  7. All really great vids that were posted.

  8. Speaking for covered songs, I would love to hear what David could bring to the song Amazing Grace. I’m really into hymns/religious songs, just seems that a lot of them are just plan sad (omo), but somehow I love Amazing Grace. The song was brought to my attention when I was watching SYTYCD and one of the dances was to Amazing Grace by Destiny’s Child and of course, David pops into my mind, lol. Or has he been recorded singing it and I missed it somehow, just can’t imagine that I would of missed that gem.

  9. OT, I saw this on YouTube and LOVED it. There is an interview, and this gal really isn’t a plant:

  10. CC Halo, thanks for bringing that Amazing Grace over. I had forgotten about it, but now I remember that out in the midst of all of them singing, he stands out loud and clear.
    Omg the soul.

  11. This is the Amazing Grace that I have on my Ipod – an early versioin of just Judy Collins backed by a chorus and no musical instruments http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5bBrPwuRsU – so very beautiful.

  12. I love Susan Boyle’s version too. Especially the ending where she pauses and repeats “was blind but now I see”.

  13. One of my all time fav renditions of Amazing Grace was Elvis Preselys Gospel version.

  14. CQ-The comment below was under the Elvis video I posted, what struck me when I read it was how it could also be said of the young man we all know and love…David Archuleta!

    “Elvis WAS the song, he became the embodiment of the song, no one has been able to achieve or understand that concept. When Elvis sings, we all live.”

    That very thing is true of David, he breathes life in a song and we all live!!

  15. Pretty interesting write-up about Robin Thicke and his song Blurred Lines and his multiple appropriations of Marvin Gaye’s music, among other things: http://ace.mu.nu/archives/342969.php

    Obviously it’s written in a bombastic style but most of the information is fact and quite disturbing to me.

    “Asked about the racy content of the video, Thicke responded: “We tried to do everything that was taboo. Bestiality, drug injections, and everything that is completely derogatory towards women. Because all three of us are happily married with children, we were like, ‘We’re the perfect guys to make fun of this.’ People say, ‘Hey, do you think this is degrading to women?’ I’m like, ‘Of course it is. What a pleasure it is to degrade a woman. I’ve never gotten to do that before. I’ve always respected women.'”

    That’s a direct quote from an interview he had with GQ. He said he was trying to put things in perspective with all the crazy things that are going on the world today that a little nudity should not be an issue.

    My opinion is that if you want to use nudity to make a statement, to make art, I’m fine with that. But when the only nudity happening in the video is women and they are being used as objects… then to me that’s not about a little nudity anymore. It’s about something totally different.

  16. Regarding Thicke and those other two guy because they are happily married they are the perfect guys to make FUN and it was a PLEASURE to DEGRADE WOMEN, what kind of a statement is that? I will not watch his video, but to even think about how popular it is makes me want to throw up.

  17. Kind of off topic but Good news that it looks like Harry Connick Jr. will be the third judge on AI this year. I love Harry. There are also reports that Randy Jackson will be back as the mentor instead of Jimmy Iovine. That is a good move too. Not a big Jlo fan but like Keith Urban. Not sure how long the show will last but would love to see David on AI when he returns. http://www.billboard.com/articles/news/5679996/harry-connick-jr-lands-american-idol-judge-spot

