Spark of Light in Darkness

CandleInTheDark_-SaeedBabaeizadeh

Strangely, as dark and sad as this weekend has been, I feel reenergized with newfound hope.

First, there was my social media blackout (though brief since I’m here blogging today), but then I learned about so many protests organized in memory of Trayvon Martin, and the Times Square rally – which covers a wide range of supporters, black, white, Asian, Latin@s, etc. – really gave me so much hope. Here I was thinking that most people believed as those awful, hateful Internet bigots believed.  As long as love protests hate, as long as a multiracial coalition can organize against hateful bigots, all is not lost!

timesquare

Second, there was this amazing speech that I came upon today by 16-year-old Malala Yousafzai, delivered before the United Nations.

Read Full Speech Text.

I have a new hero! 😀 Any young person who, like Trayvon Martin, was targeted with a gun simply for who and what they are, but unlike our fallen hero, survived her gunshot wound and rose up with an even bigger voice that would NOT be silenced, is someone we all need to listen to.

Indeed, anyone who can say this:

Dear friends, on 9 October 2012, the Taliban shot me on the left side of my forehead. They shot my friends, too. They thought that the bullets would silence us, but they failed. And out of that silence came thousands of voices. The terrorists thought they would change my aims and stop my ambitions. But nothing changed in my life except this: weakness, fear and hopelessness died. Strength, power and courage was born.

I am the same Malala. My ambitions are the same. My hopes are the same. And my dreams are the same. Dear sisters and brothers, I am not against anyone. Neither am I here to speak in terms of personal revenge against the Taliban or any other terrorist group. I am here to speak for the right of education for every child. I want education for the sons and daughters of the Taliban and all the terrorists and extremists. I do not even hate the Talib who shot me. Even if there was a gun in my hand and he was standing in front of me, I would not shoot him. This is the compassion I have learned from Mohammed, the prophet of mercy, Jesus Christ and Lord Buddha. This the legacy of change I have inherited from Martin Luther King, Nelson Mandela and Mohammed Ali Jinnah.

Let me tell you: No way will I let the hate that caused the Zimmermans and the Talibans of the world to pull triggers on our children get me down. No way! Not when we have our future so bright and so determined.

Dear Soul Davidians, I was filled with despair, but now the spark of light has kept the darkness away.  HATE WILL NEVER PREVAIL AS LONG AS LOVE AND HOPE SURVIVE!

*Heart wide open with fist in the air.*

I need to add another Voice here:

Posted on July 15, 2013, in current events. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. I can’t stop crying with joy and hope, thank you Hg for the this light at the end of the tunnel post.

  2. goodkarmaseeker

    Thank you for sharing your vision of hope and love!

  3. Beautiful post, HG. Thanks for sharing Malala’s story and words. what a great soul.

    I’d been feeling unable to find words to voice my disappointment, but the protests helped me, too.

  4. Shanny in Australia

    No words HG. Just some ((hugs)).

  5. I know that probably everyone is honoring the blackout, but I miss all the commenters and comments.
    Life has to go on and I hope we get back to some fun and lively discussions again.

  6. The peaceful protests have helped me to cope but the more I hear on tv and talk radio the angrier I get. My frustration is primarily with the system. I’m very impressed with 16-year-old Malala Yousafzai’s. She’s definitely a “light”.

  7. The president of the fellowship I attend issued a statement on the case that included a quote of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr’s that fits right in with HGs post, and the situation. The larger quote is from Peter Morales:

    “The legal system has had its say, but justice has not been served. As we search for meaning in the wake of these events, I remember the words of the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.: ‘We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope.'”

  8. lol. That is funny cc halo.

  9. Some interesting discussions over at MJ’s about artists and genres, specifically concerning Cassadee Pope (from The Voice) “going” country and Adam Lambert being quoted as saying his next album would revisit his rock roots. It always surprises me to see the number of people who are vehemently against “genre jumping”, thinking artists should stick to their original genre (whatever that means). Its always come across as very small minded to me. Why confine yourself to one narrow scope? I can see where it would grate on some people though to have other artists suddenly discover their roots in a certain genre when it becomes popular. So I guess I’m kind of divided on the matter as a whole.

    Of course this relates strongly to David because as we all know well, he can sing multiple genres and has. I guess the question is — should he? I know some in the industry who are of the opinion that the fastest way to kill a career is to not have a clear vision, which includes a specific genre. I understand wanting to project a message about what kind of artist you are. However, like I mentioned above, it really grates on me to see an artist as talented as David confined to a narrow scope. I wish people were more open minded about musical styles. Music just IS. If it sounds good and has meaning, why should it matter what genre it is.

    Clearly my thoughts are kind of scattered all over the place on this though lol. What do you guys think? Is David’s lack of a strong connection to one genre a help or a hindrance?

    • I think that David’s being able to sing in multiple genres is a positive thing. It is a plus to be diverse. Not so sure that I buy Cassadee as a county artist but I was never a fan to begin with. Interesting comment Ali.

  10. Ali I appreciate your comments. I think for myself it is more about having a more fully developed sound whatever the genre. Sort of like ” I like this so I will stick my toe in and see if I still like it”.

    It may be that I get a sense of David holding back somewhat. I know, that actually sounds ridiculous when I think of him performing on stage and all that passion and energy. So as you can see you are not the only one scattered all over the place. : ]

    • LOL! I think I understand what you mean though. He sings all out when he’s live but I do think he holds back in the type of music he sings and also sometimes in how he sings on studio tracks. While his studio versions always sound gorgeous…sometimes they’re almost too pretty? I love the power and feeling in the live versions and while his voice still sounds beautiful live I think it doesn’t have the delicate feel that I sometimes get from album tracks. If that even makes sense. And that might not be what you were talking about at all with holding back.

      Explaining the “type of music” comment is more difficult but hopefully you understand what I mean there. Not just genre or even subject matter. More like expanding beyond the sound of the music he’s put out before. But I think all artists need that — growth of sound.

      • You said it perfectly.

        I would add Art needs space. Growth and development takes time and pushing past some boundaries. All of this because I see so much possibility, so much talent. If I sound like I don’t appreciate what he has done so far, that is not the case. I am just a tad impatient. lol

        Pretty excited to see what comes next!

  11. Thank you Ali for the fabulous topic. I’m with ram, he needs a sound that identifies him as an artist. We all know that he can see any genre, that’s a no brainer, but still in order to stand out amongst a huge group of extremely talented artists you better have that sound that a huge number of people like in order to have a successful music career. Clearly that teen idol thing just wasn’t comfortable for him. I really wish (jmo, I know that I might be alone on this) he had been a little more flexible and put out some teen catchy tunes that would be hits, his career might be in a more solid ground. Now with this break, his comeback might be in a better ground. A lot of successful artist re-invent themselves in order to re-energize their careers, it wouldn’t be any different for David if he had a little more success under his belt. Miley re-invented herself and she is huge in a GaGa sort of way (not saying it was good or that David needs to get crazy, but not be known by a lot of people as kind of…he has a good voice, but his music is bland) I of course, I think this music is great, but yes, I’m waiting for his sound and his music to WOW me as much as his voice WOWS me now.

  12. hell0g0rge0us

    Glad you all are starting to come back out and chat. But did want to share something.

    A former student of mine recently contacted me and thanked me for teaching her so much especially on the subject of social justice. She also let me know she was one of the organizers of that Times Square rally that had lifted up my spirits! Isn’t that something? 🙂

    • Yes really is something, HG! It is makes me feel good that you actually were able to hear first hand how you had an impact on someone and how much of a difference your teaching and thougtful words on issues resonated with your student. You have a really calm, well-reasoned way about your writing about very serious issues and the ability to bring clear-thinking and humanity into every discussion. Lucky are we David fans to have you blogging about him and other topics! Thank you.

    • I second that collegemom, we are indeed such lucky fans to have you, Hg, blogging about David and other topics, thank you Hg.

    • That’s awesome! I think when someone you’ve taught goes out to make a difference in the world, you always get a little bit of that proud mom feeling. Well, I assume it’s a proud mom feeling lol but I’m just guessing since I’m not actually a mom. But if I WERE a mom, I’d want to feel proud like that! ha.

  13. hell0g0rge0us

    Thanks, Collegemom and CQ.

