The Voice vs. The Machine

Sometimes you can be so close to stardom and yet so far, which is the subject matter for the documentary now in theaters, 20 Feet from Stardom. I took time during this holiday weekend to check it out, and I’m so glad I did.

blossomsThis film has a glorious soundtrack – from 1960s Phil Spector’s “Wall of Sound” (had no idea Darlene Love did lead vocals on The Crystals’ “He’s a Rebel“!) to the British Invasion – from Rolling Stones to Joe Cocker to David Bowie – to R&B greats like Stevie Wonder and Luther Vandross.  It’s amazing, listening to these songs – especially rock & roll – and not recognizing just how deeply they are indebted to the backup vocals provided mostly by gospel-trained soul-singing black female vocalists, the “colored girls” Lou Reed sang about in “Walk on the Wild Side.”

No wonder David is so in tune with sistas and their vocals! He’s been listening pretty closely to his pop music. 😉

When their vocals are isolated in certain tracks, you immediately hear the difference and understand why such classic rock anthems as Rolling Stones’ “Gimme Shelter,” Joe Cocker’s “Space Captain,” and David Bowie’s “Young Americans” were all the richer for these backup contributions.

At once invigorating and heartbreaking (particularly the stories about how truly talented singers like Merry Clayton, Darlene Love, and Lisa Fischer tried to strike out as solo artists but got no where), this film is at its strongest in arguing for the magic and power that vocal mastery delivers to any recorded track.

There are two scenes in particular that stood out for me. The first is when Merry Clayton listens to an isolated track in which she belts out her hook “Rape…Murder/It’s just a shot away” (listen around the 2:48 minute mark) on “Gimme Shelter”; it’s chill-inducing because she’s bringing the rage to life.  The second scene highlights the vocals of Lisa Fischer.  Oh my word!  Her pipes are so ethereal!  She’s a beast on the mic!  That’s why Sting gave her a spotlight and a moment to shine when she provided haunting vocals on his If On a Winter’s Night album.

The talent is real, and it’s raw, and it’s easy to say, “Oh, they had the talent but not the X factor.” But what does that even mean?  Stevie Wonder offered his own ideas on what it takes to become a “star”: 1) the right song; 2) the right producer to feature your voice in the best possible light; and 3) the right backing/promo.

I think about this because, as Archie fans, we can go back and forth about what are the right ingredients to transform David’s star potential. Sting, of course, says that sometimes it’s just “luck” (which I would agree since David was very lucky back in 2008 when his label at the time found the right kind of song for him to put out).  The question, of course, is how he can be more than a “one-hit wonder” since those folks are a dime a dozen.

Sting also spoke disparagingly about shows like American Idol (he did not mince words: he specifically expressed how “damaging” he felt Idol was because it encourages instantaneous success without requiring the “spiritual work” needed for a musician to really craft his art and his gifts). He has a point since I constantly see David’s fans wringing their hands in impatience because we have come to expect “success” to be instantaneous.

Still, if anyone understands the “spiritual work” needed in music, David certainly does (who would deny that?).  We’re just now at an impasse in the music industry where that kind of workmanship and craft is no longer required.

Another musician featured in the documentary lamented that music labels now include a “tuning” budget (i.e. any imperfect vocals in the studio can be fixed through technology).  He bemoaned the “soulless” machine that has reduced the voice to yet another technical tool for manipulation.

20feetSeriously, folks, have you been aware that the backup singers, who were given steady paychecks for their work on recordings and performances with lead singers, have slowly disappeared in today’s music? They’re no longer needed, you see, since “tuning” budgets and the Machine can add those harmonic chords needed on a song.

What 20 Feet from Stardom does is not only provide human beings (along with their struggles) attached to the voices we hear in the background (that we often take for granted), but it also reminds us that this very humanity, the soul, the heart that it takes to bring music to life, is slowly disappearing in the increasingly electronic production of music.

And when the background vocals start to go, whither the solo artist? Soon, the solo artist will also disappear (and many think they are already going down that route).

Things are complicated. You can have a killer Voice, but it’s not enough when it is pitted against a machine.

What becomes essential is for us, the listener, the fans, to tell the difference. I know, for me, the difference was in my O.D.D. devotion. Sure, there was something about the “Hello, Gorgeous” sparkle in David’s eyes and in his irrepressible personality when I first saw him and heard him sing “Heaven” during the Hollywood auditions round of American Idol. But it wasn’t until he sang “And So It Goes” halfway a capella (see above video) when I became officially hooked.

There’s something about that Voice that rings so pure and true and haunting and soulful. Autotune can’t touch that, and if David never makes it to “stardom,” that elusive goal for so many talented vocalists, as long as he keeps on singing (and making himself available for live performances), some of us can only feel blessed and call him blessed for sharing his gifts (with or without the help of the Machine).

It’s why I do sometimes get bewildered by fans who think David is misguided about his spiritual priorities.  Do we not understand that this too (his Mission) is part of that “spiritual work” that can only make him a better vocalist and musician?

We may not have listened to the backup singers on our classic rock and R&B songs, but I at least hope we’re listening to David on his own songs. He’s singing loud and clear and has his eyes on the more enriching prize: the life-giving power of music.

Posted on July 6, 2013, in music. Bookmark the permalink. 83 Comments.

  1. Wow, HG, this is your best post yet. I can’t wait to see the movie, and I so agree with your ending comments. David is all about the life-giving power of music. I too am hoping that David will always continue to do live performances and we all will be blessed!

  2. i too agre with your ending comments,great post

  3. The movie comes to my area next weekend; can’t wait to see it. Until I read your post, I never gave thought to the fact that machines are replacing back up vocalists — how sad. Re. David, I only see his journeys making him a better person; can’t wait to see him perform live again.

  4. David does most of his own back-up vocals on his albums. I love hearing him harmonizing with himself.

    • I sometimes find it kind of weird hearing several different Davids at once. It’s too artificial sounding to me. I’d prefer other background singers.

      • Maybe he does his back up because of cost, just a thought.

      • Just now listening to his Waiting on the World to Change with Jeff Leblanc, confirms to me how much better I like to hear different voices blending, rather than layering his own voice in the background.

      • I agree cc halo and I wish David had background singers when he performed at some high profile events but that does cost money. That is probably the issue. Just like having great management costs money.

  5. Beautiful, beautiful post HG. The last sentence — “He’s singing loud and clear and has his eyes on the more enriching prize: the life-giving power of music.” YES. Yes.

    That documentary sounds really interesting. I fear it will not come near me but I’ll definitely check it out on DVD.

  6. Hg you brought tears to my eyes, such a beautiful post. After your perspective, I’m feeling guilty that I didn’t want him to go on this mission. Thank you so much for giving me another why of looking at things.

  7. A wonderful post, HG, and very interesting too. Thank you.

    It isn’t easy to wait for David; but your closing paragraphs give us a convincing perspective, and possibly a little more patience. Beautiful words.

  8. fabulous post.. I too think he will come back seeing the world in a different light.
    my two sons have extensively traveled the world and they came back richer for it.
    basically they said that here in the US we have it all too well.

    always thought that David recorded his own background vocals because it wouldn’t cost extra and he does it without effort.

  9. I remember reading about this movie/documentary recently because interestingly enough Judith Hill from this season’s the Voice is in it as one of the featured backup singers. I still think David could have had spiritual growth without leaving his music career entirely for 2 years with no communication with fans. JMHO. I sure hope that this all works out for David’s career in the long run. Time will tell.

    • My brother took one of those impact training courses years ago and came back a changed man. It only took a few days–ha ha wouldn’t that do for David? We accused him of being brainwashed, but he said it was good brainwashing, lol.

    • Although I got another perspective of looking at the mission with this post, I’m with your Marie I too think he could still get spiritual growth without leaving his music career entirely for 2 years with no communication. But it is what it is, yeah time will tell.

    • Lol you guys. “Yeah, David can get his spiritual growth that’s fine but he needs to do it the way I think he should do it not the way he feels he needs to do it.” That would be nice for us but… 😉

      • hell0g0rge0us

        😆

        Cause, you know, David should be doing his “spiritual growth” on his own time and not ours, right? As if he’s got his “own time.” Doesn’t he know “his time” is “our time,” since, you know, we’re his fans and all, and as the all-knowing consumers, we determine his career and what constitutes his “growth.”

        You mean to tell me he hasn’t figured that out yet?! 😉

      • I’ve always maintained David’s right to go on his mission, drop performing forever, or whatever his heart may desire. Doesn’t mean we can’t complain in a “safe place,” and hopefully it’s taken in that spirit. I’ve been open about disliking proselytizing and some of the positions his church takes, but he has every right to do it and believe in it.

        Recalling my brother’s impact training, I remembered a parallel with missions. After he finished, he wouldn’t stop proselytizing to us. I guess he wanted everyone he loved to experience what had affected him so strongly. This was years ago, and he has stopped doing that. I don’t know if the effect faded or he finally realized that everyone has different needs.

      • Yeah, I’m a fan of David, but I’m not David, so yes, I’m speaking for myself and has nothing to do with what David thinks and knows is right for himself. Just expressing an opinion. In the end yes, he might be killing two birds with one stone, filling an obligation to his church and gaining spiritual growth that will help with his music career. When he returns and gets back to his career and puts out music that matches his phenomenal voice, I will be thrilled to admit how wrong I was about this whole mission thing. And before anyone comes down on me, I know that even if it doesn’t effect his music, I’m sure it effected him personally no matter what.

      • Sorry, just kind of conversing with myself here, but there is another, less positive parallel. It’s the theory that the proselytizing serves not only to bring more people in for their own good, but for the financial gain of the organization, and to keep the proselytizers buying into it themselves. (I’m talking groups like Est, Lifespring, Landmark Forum, and it could also include Scientology).

        Ok, I’m done.

      • I don’t understand the need to get defensive whenever someone offers an opinion that doesn’t agree with a “complaint” or whatever we wanna call it. It’s ok to air complaints here but not to feel like maybe David is doing the right thing for him right now? And if I feel that then I’m impinging on someone else’s right to complain?

        Look, I’m not gonna lie and say I’m super happy that David is gone for 2 years. However, after spending time of being resentful about it, I find that I no longer am. David clearly feels this is the most important thing for his life now and I’m in no position to disagree with him. I didn’t mean to upset anyone with my comment above. I was merely pointing out the irony in us thinking we might know what the best way is for David to find own spiritual growth.

      • Sorry, didn’t mean to sound defensive. But I don’t think that complaining is the same as actually thinking one knows better for David, so it did feel like being scolded for something no one meant. We will probably never know much about David’s personal spiritual growth, so we pretty much have to limit ourselves to bemoaning his absence.

      • I understand you thinking about comments coming across defensively, but in all do respect, your comment, to me anyway, came across the same way.

      • P.S. Don’t forget that instead of just saying that you felt he was doing the right thing for himself, you called out others on their opinions. So how are we not supposed to get defensive?

      • P.P.S. I hate to disagree with Ali–I love her posts!

      • Sigh. I wasn’t calling anyone out on their own personal opinions. I will say it again — I was merely pointing out the irony of anyone saying that they feel David could achieve his own personal growth in a way that THEY deem best or even equivalent.

        I’m so tired of the arguing. Why does everything about David have to be so contentious? I guess I’ll keep my thoughts of irony to myself.

      • Well maybe there could have been a less contentious way of expressing the irony. No one likes to feel mocked, even if their thoughts weren’t perfectly expressed.

      • I’m with cchalo, not arguing with you Ali, it’s good that we have different opinions.

      • Ok, rethinking the discussion: It’s perfectly fine to express irony, but you have to admit it was a bit of a slap at the previous posters. So why get miffed when we defend ourselves, and pretty mildly at that? How can you blame US for contention? I don’t have any hard feelings, hope no one else does either.

  10. Geat Post HG! I’ve often wondered if Taylor Swift, The Beav and a few others would make it in the industry without autotone…I’m guessing yes, as both are more entertainment factors then they are about raw talent. Neither can sing live which is one of Davids strong points. They both have a label and production team that will go to any length to promote their minimal talent, to which I say props to them. They are now gazallionaires! My wish for David is that he continues to sing and do shows so I can hear that glorious, one of a kind voice, live!!

    • example of artists that can do it all.. Bruno Mars as well as Pink and Beyonce.
      Adele I think is more vocals but she has quite an entertaining personality that adds to the experience. she is quite the fire cracker.

  11. It’s “his time” in any case as comments on blogs have no effect whatsoever on his life or career.

    • ITA!

    • I totally agree that comments have no effect whatsoever on his life (although it’s been said that it does because of comments that would hurt him), but as far as his career goes, and mind you this is OMO, in a small way there might have some sort of effect.
      OR, maybe I’m completely wrong and all artists don’t give a dang what there fans want musically because they don’t care if they buy there music or not, lol.

    • I agree with you Peter.

  12. Awesome post, HG! I’ve been wanting to see this doc and now I’ll make a point of it!

  13. hell0g0rge0us

    Aren’t we all just expressing our opinions here? Whether it affects David or not, it’s our own time that we’re devoting to discussing all things David.

    We can be impatient or not, in agreement or not, with whatever David has done, and he’s already done the dang thing (his mission). He’s doing it as we speak!

    Will his choice affect his career negatively? That’s all up to David when he returns and tries to revive his music.

    But David has chosen a particular spiritual path, whether we like it or not, and out of the respect I have for David’s musical genius, I hope this choice can only lead to his “spiritual growth,” not detract from it.

    That has always been and will continue to be my hope.

    • Hope so too, HG. I’m blown away by the sacrifice he has made, and by the intention to give people better lives, which I’m guessing is what he may see as the primary motivation, with personal growth as only a side-effect.

      Like grammyj, I like to read the missionary blogs for glimpses of David information, and also because it gives us a way of experiencing David without him being here. (Am I obsessed? Yes). I can’t help but worry when his MTC friend, now in Chile, posts that ” Many think there (sic) happy, but they really aren’t”–about us non-Mormons. (And over and over on other blogs). Then I think, “Well, what if he were to also think that way about us–so what?” I can’t imagine him being kinder or more empathetic outwardly. I guess wanting to be inside his head is just a sign of my (unhealthy?) obsession.

      I wonder what spiritual growth would look like in David? Will it be obvious to us? IDK.

      • I wonder myself about that growth, I felt that David was already very spiritual before he even went on the mission, so I guess, AGAIN the question is spirituality different or the same as immersed into ones religion? I have faith that David knows the difference.
        I’m still optimistic that he will come back ready to really take his music career to the level, I, omo, feel should be…SUPERSTAR, LOL!!!!

  14. Awesome post HG!! Definitely want to check out the Documentary. (Hopefully it will come my way-not listed yet) Thanks for taking the time to share it with us and tie it to David’s path!!
    I admire David for making the sacrifice to follow his Spiritual Path and anticipate that he will be better for it.

  15. goodkarmaseeker

    I loved this post and it ended up making me feel really peaceful about David and his path. In fact,
    I took out a couple of CDs (which have been stored for a bit) and played them with such pleasure and reassurance.

    The part of the post about David’s Voice that is “so pure and true and haunting and soulful”–yes!

    The part about “as long as he keeps on singing and making himself available for live performances”
    yes!

    That’s it for me. I don’t want pop, auto-tune hit-maker David. I want soulful, truthful, for real David cause that’s what’s so special about him.

    The more he can follow his own path, his own truth, I think the more soulful he will be. It’s his truth
    and he will have more of it to share. I want it!

    Thanks for the great article!

  16. I don’t get it. I don’t get why anyone would think David needed to take 2 year hiatus as a missionary in order to “follow his Spiritual Path” which may also make him a better singer & take him to another level musically?

    If David was not LDS, would he have taken even a one year hiatus, possibly risking his career, for any reason? I think not. The music is too deeply ingrained in his psyche. In terms of “star status” the likes of some other stars who CAN take one, two, even three years away, come back & resume their careers with no real set-backs, David was & is not there yet. so the risk is great. The success David DID have did not come easy. David worked hard, had many ups & downs so do we really think after all his blood, sweat & tears he would leave it all behind for any reason if he were not LDS?

    IMO, David didn’t “need” to go on a mission to ” follow his spiritual path” or to make him a better artist because it seems to me he has been on a spiritual path most of his life. He went on a mission because he is LDS and that’s what they are expected to do. I do think David would still be the David we have come to know & admire if he was a member of any other denominaton.

    I like to think if David was not LDS, he would not be on a mission & who knows to what heights he would be taking us right now?

  17. hell0g0rge0us

    I like to think if David was not LDS, he would not be on a mission & who knows to what heights he would be taking us right now?

    But David is LDS, and a mission is something expected of their young members. It is what it is, and he’s not coming back a day early just to satisfy his disapproving-of-a-mission fans.

    *shrug.*

  18. I dont disapprove of David being on a mission, not at all. I lemented about it for the first few months more for the length of time as I dont have forever to wait for him to return. Yes, it is and was a selfish reason. I hope and wish and that the man he brings back still has that fire burning in his belly(and his soul) the want, the desire to still make music, to go on a tour.

  19. Approved, disapproved it really doesn’t matter. Nothing is going to change no matter what we discuss.

    The only think that matters right now, as a fan, is that he returns to his music career and keeps his personal religious beliefs with his private life. As a fan, that is what I want to happen.

    I want David the singer/entertainer.

  20. HG…THIS is the reason I keep coming back to this site. I loved your article. Thanks for your interesting perspective and insight.

  21. My point above was not so much that I “disaprove” of his decision to go on a mission. It’s not my place to approve or disaprove. My point was that I feel he didn’t “need” to go in order to be a better singer or improve his craft. He could have done that if he just kept doing what he was doing instead of leaving for an extended period of time. As for the experience making David more spiritual, I can’t imagine David being any more spiritual than he already is. Granted he is not perfect, but he darn well is pretty close. I’m sure his God is very pleased & happy with him & the way he lived his life even without a mission. He chose a profession rife with temptation which he handled so much better than so many others. Makes me even more positive that David was already full of spiritual grace.

    As HG said, a mission is EXPECTED of their young members and so that is precisely why he is where he is. IMO.

    And with that I’m off to work, on my way to the west coast. Have a great week everyone!

  22. ITA a lurker 2 with both of your comments. I can honestly state that I do not care. It is David’s life and it is his music career. But I just would just not expect that his leaving his music career for 2 years is for sure going have a totally positive effect on it. Just saying. I just hope for the best for him. That is all you can do as a fan.

  23. I don’t really expect too much where David’s career is concerned.. it is up to him way I see it.
    at this point I just hope to be able to see him live again and hear that voice and
    for that he doesn’t need to be all that popular.

  24. Look Around one of my favorite songs from TOSOD.. there may be autotune in it ?
    think David commented that he wasn’t too pleased about that but they said it was just for effect. I love the song it is fun and seems more current IMO then some of his others.

    hope he sings this live one day.

  25. I think a lot of fans have lowered their expectations regarding David’s music career, some have stopped being a fan, and some like me, lol. still have extreme high expectations. No matter what fans expect/want would like to happen, it really doesn’t matter, it really is up to David as to what he wants for himself. But we are fans and conversation in regards to David and his career is all we have right now. I’m just so grateful for Hg and Soul David (as well as all other sites) for keeping the conversation going.

    Being that I’m over the top optimist regarding his career when conversation is geared toward it being over, I go to some of his interviews, just to be refreshed as to how much he wants to make music his career and how grateful he is that he was given the opportunity.

    Why he left it for two years when, from what I understand was said from LDS fans, he didn’t have to, it was ok for him not to go and still be in good standing with the church, is something thing that only David know why. My guess (and I don’t know a dang thing) is that he couldn’t move on with his music career (I guess even his private life) without first doing this mission.

    • cq, I think you are right about David’s personal need to go on a mission. I remember an interview during American Idol with David’s Utah neighbor and former LDS leader who said that David had planned on a mission from the time he was in the 9th grade. How old would that be? Like, 14 or 15? David said over and over that he didn’t expect to go so far on AI. My personal opinion only here (I don’t know a dang thing either), but I think he wrestled with this mission decision, and then simply decided he had had to keep that early commitment, so that—in his words—he wouldn’t regret it later.

      BTW, David’s new mission president reports on his own blog that he and his wife were also invited to the US Embassy reception last week just so they could travel with “Elder Archuleta,” who not only sang the NA but other songs as well for invited guests who were “political and business leaders in Chile.” The president describes it as a “very important event in terms of US and Chilean relations” and Elder Archuleta “did a marvelous job.”

      • Yes Whatever, I read that, dang those lucky people lol. At least he is getting to sing at some events.
        Why oh why didn’t someone video him, lol.

  26. This is just my opinion, but it does concern the current (and ongoing) discussion about the mission.

    Whether or not his fans think he needed to go, or like the reasons we think he went, HE felt that he needed to go and because of this, he’s likely to perceive any positive experiences as just that and then some. Plus, he’s out in the world where there’s a lot of need, talking to people living different kinds of lives. That would benefit anyone, I think.

    I believe that he’ll return still loving music and want to (at some point before too long) share it with more than those in his immediate or even religious/cultural circles. I’m looking forward to whatever. Since I can’t control anything, keeping that as my main expectation from him (getting music at some point) keeps me happy.

  27. So it’s ok for him to talk about his mission experience to all of us fans, even though some of us really don’t want to hear about the religious aspic of all he is experiencing, but we shouldn’t talk about his mission even if it’s in a positive way?!?!?. Not all positive I know, but I just don’t understand the censorship, omo.

  28. CQ, I certainly didn’t mean to censor anyone or make anyone feel shushed at all. I was only offering my own opinion. Plus, David hasn’t talked about his mission experience. He announced that he was going with no hint beforehand, and then worked until he left without saying much about it. When he returns, we’ll see if he talks about it or not.

    I understand that you have deeply-felt reasons for your own objections. I don’t mind at all your saying so. I think the discussions are good.

  29. cotton candy

    bottom line david cares more about pleasing the LDS church than his fans. it is what it is.

    • How do you know for sure? I just think that he has deep feelings for both and that he can separate those feelings.

    • Just Lurking

      That’s quite a blanket statement. I don’t see it that way at all. He could have chosen not to serve a mission and still had good standing in the church. (I have a family member who made that decision and has received only positive support from the church) I perceive this as a very personal decision to David, something he wrestled over, knowing that many of his fans wouldn’t understand, wouldn’t like, or may feel as you stated, that his LDS fans are more important to him . I think more accurately, that his spiritual journey is more important to him. And this part of his journey was to go on a mission, whether understood or liked by fans.

      • 3:) There was a rumor that he went to avoid the expectation of dating and marriage for two more years…so there’s that… 3:)

      • As someone who’s happily single, if true, I hope the mission affords him the opportunity to think thru who he is and what he wants for himself moving forward.

      • Never heard that rumor cchalo, but going on a mission would do that for sure, lol Well at least we know for sure that one of his siblings is not like him, she’s married, anyway, I know she got married, don’t know if she still is though.

      • Yes, she’s on Facebook, and very cute with her husband.

  30. all I know is that David is a sweet, caring young man with an amazing gift. I can wait.

  31. Just loved your post HG. It is how I too feel about these two years and you said it so clearly and thoughtfully.
    I went to my only David concert in Ventura two days before his mission announcement. I remember sitting there among the crazed, noisy, joyful fans thinking; if I never hear him again this will be enough. If he never writes new music or puts out more music, this will be enough. Those thoughts were a comfort ( and a little spooky) when I heard of his announcement.
    David must and will always do what he feels is best and right for himself. I am so glad he is so strong. His decisions are his own and with him it is easy (well, sort of) for me to “go with the flow”.

  32. HG, thank you for this wonderful post. You consistently portray David as an artist rather than just a pop star and have the greater perspective of wanting him to be around for a longer time than most pop stars have allotted to them. In a lifetime (hopefully) of making music worthy of an artist and making a difference to the world, rather than just making lots of money and having lots of fans, 2 years to do what he perceives as something else very important to him, is nothing. He will always have music. He will not always have the opportunity to give focused service as he does now. I’m not sure the reason he chose to go really matters. And I’m also not sure anyone can say with certainty what that reason was. David always surprises and I suspect his motivations are not anything like what most of us think they are.

    I also wanted to beg Ali not to take her irony and her comments elsewhere! Your positive and thoughtful comments are always a bright spot in what can be a drain of negative energy.

  33. yes ali, do come back. i miss your sense of humor. when cchalo posted the david “marriage” rumor, my first thought was of you. as i recall, you said he was going to marry you upon his return. 😉

    • would think that might be a good choice for him. feel where Adam or for that matter any Idol contestant is concerned they stray from what brought the fans to them in the first place they loose a lot of their fanbase.
      that goes for David too by the way.

      loved his duet with Angie Miller

    • That’s true.

      Harrison Craig is currently #1 in Australia with an album that contains the type of songs he performed on The Voice:

      • Interesting article on Adam. Yes that was written with a positive spin. Great for Harrison that his album is doing well. It will be interesting to see how he does in the long run with his music career. These contestants can do well initially sometimes but, as we all know, it is the long term music career that is the issue. Hope he does well.

      • Yes, the album was released very soon after the season ended.

  34. HG, your excellent post compels me to share my unusual (for me) reading experience. As I read your closing phrase, “the life-giving power of music”, I felt chills, not unlike those I sometimes feel when David sings. He certainly has a gift that lets him connect with music and transport his listener along for the ride. Your article was both gifted and a gift. Thanks, and you can bet I will be seeing the movie, 20 Feet from Stardom.

  35. Interesting Peter. Good music management is not cheap.

