My Birthday

Today I hit a milestone year.  The Big 4-0.

GAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

But it’s a blessing, right? 😛

Oh, David, please sing to me so you can make it all better…

Posted on April 20, 2013, in holiday. Bookmark the permalink. 39 Comments.

  1. Happy birthday, HG. Don’t you know that 40 is the new 30! I’m telling you that 40 is NOT old. I still feel young even though I am not. Have a great birthday.

  2. Happy birthday!

  3. Happy Birthday! I am in my 50’s so 40 sure does not seem that old to me. lol.

  4. Happy birthday to youuu!!! Have a good one!

  5. Eh!….40, smorty. You’ll survive LOL! Take it from someone who passed it awhile back.
    Seriously though – Happy Birthday HG, and have a wonderful day!

  6. Happy Birthday Hg, as Grammyj said the “new 30” have a fabulous day!

  7. HAPPY birthday! I really love your postings, I usually lurk, but, I wanted to wish you an enjoyable birthday,

  8. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! May you have many more years of interesting and insightful writing which is much appreciated here!

  9. Happy Birthday and welcome to the 40 somethin’ club! In the words of Bonnie Hunt, you’re old enough to be David’s big sister. 🙂

  10. Hey hey, happy birthday to you HG!!! I hope it’s a day filled with love and laughter ❤

    (That video is totally my favorite rendition of HB by anyone, ever. js.)

  11. 40 and Fabulous, HG! You are both of those, enjoy your day and hope the sun is shining in your neck of the woods! (Seems like many of us are remembering 40 fondly, lol)

  12. Wishing you a very Happy Birthday, HG!

    P.S. It’s all downhill from here. Kidding! It’s not so bad 🙂

  13. The new 30, huh? You guys are fabulous! Thanks for the birthday greetings! 😀

  14. Happy birthday, kiddo.

  15. rooster(aka ray)

    happy bday hg,your are still a young one to me,just a kid

  16. “Forty” has been in my rearview mirror for years now. You’re just getting to the good part. HAPPY BIRTHDAY from a steady lurker!

  17. Happy Birthday HG!! Definitely in my rearview mirror and then some 🙂 Wishing you a Happy Day and Happy Year!! David will be back by your next birthday 🙂 Thanks for honoring him and providing a gathering place for fans.

  18. Happy Birthday HG! The best years in one’s life is in one’s 40″s! I know. 🙂

  19. HG, Wishing you the BEST HAPPY BIRTHDAY EVER!

  20. Goodkarmaseeker

    Happy, happy birthday HG. Wish we could all be together to sing, celebrate and see you blow out 40 candles. It seems you have accomplished a lot in your years, there’s so much more to come!!

  21. Late but happy birthday from me! Hope the celebration was and is fantastic!

  22. Happy Birthday, HG. I hope you had a good one. I always come here and read even if I don’t post. I always vote on your polls too!

  23. Happy Birthday HG. How lucky you are to have so many well informed readers eager to let you know that 40 is the new 30. You are entering your best decade. May you enjoy the personal and professional fulfillment we gals seem to achieve during that decade.

  24. I just tuned in and the event was a good one amidst all else. Sorry I missed the day HG, but ‘Happy Belated 40th Birthday’! The be 40 would be going back in time just a little, but I remember it was great!

    SB

  25. HG, hope you had a great 40 Birthday. BTW, I have never met you but I did see you in Verona on line to the VIP. Wasn’t sure it was you at first though because I figured you would be “older” like in your 50’s. You looked MUCH younger, more like in your late twenties, certainly not MY age! I was very surprised to learn it was you, the famous HG! It was nice to be able to put a face to your great writing.

    Have to say you chose one of the best Happy Birthday renditions by David ever! Soooooooo great, I can listen to it over & over. So talented & soulful! Who in their right mind would ever doubt it? It would be a travesty if he doesn’t reach his full potential, which I don’t think he has, not even close, yet. I don’t care how long it takes or which direction he chooses to go in, we ain’t seen nuthin’ yet!

    Thanks HG for allowing us to speak our minds even when we aren’t as positive sometimes as we would like to be. I go back & forth. Then I see a short little video like the one you posted & BAM! There I am again in his votex missing him like crazy!

  26. Happy birthday HG. 40 is a great age to be – I know! LOL
    Love your blog. Please keep on writing.

  27. Happy Belated Birthday HG! May this be the very best year ever for you.

  28. Yesterday I wished a happy birthday to HG without listening to the video. Today I did, just WOW!
    David’s team should record it and make a DA birthday app for sale. It really is soulful and remarkable!

    • I would like to see David record music where he cuts loose. Maybe the formula for pop songs has been restrictive. Just a thought.

      • Me too, David cut loose please! To me, most of the time, it seems like he is holding back…almost like he’s afraid that it’s going against his religion or maybe just feels like it’s showing off..hoping that all these insecurities are all behind him and that he will be a more confident, mature man that is ready to take the world by storm.

  29. This is nit addressed to anyone at all, just my thiughts. I don’t care if he is more secure, more confident, more this or that. Let him sing as I have heard him sing, nothing more or less.

    How modern times that we can express our wishes and desires about someone so often, so open. Sometimes, so unimportant. I just hope for his return to the stage.

    I don’t care about his religion (because that is his), his favourite colours, his personal life, nothing else at all.

    Let him be, let time pass, let his music prevail when he returns.

    SB

    • Sorry about the typos!! Dang I need new glasses!

    • I understand your point of view, but in what way are we disturbing him when he has no direct contact with his fans to know that his is being disturbed. I can only speak for myself, I do have strong opinions and not very popular, but I decided that I would actively comment in his fanbases, that is my way of keeping things going for him.
      I for one want David to evolve and mature with his music..

  30. I agree that I would like to see David cut loose. Oft topic but I just listened to a snippet of David Cook’s new single. Don’t quite to know what to think of it based on the snippet but I did not like it from what I heard. He is working in Nashville so maybe he is going for a new sound away from rock music. He should stick to rock music IMO. I know Cook is performing on idol next month but that has not done anything to boost his sales in the past. Doubt it will this time either. Not surprised he is going to be on AI as he still has the Simon Fuller connection. Doesn’t Fuller/XIX still manage him?

    • Yeah, don’t listen to David Cook music, so don’t know what he sings, but from idol days, it seemed like he already had a strong rocker direction, unlike our David that could go any direction (choose pop) and still can go other direction because he is that talented. DC talent, not so sure?!!
      Does he even have a label?

      • No, David Cook left RCA (or was dropped) and does not have a label. His management is Simon Fuller of Idol so David Cook can sing on AI whenever he wants.

  31. I hope your birthday was a happy one! The 40’s decade is a great one! Thank you for starting a site where honest, open discussion and debate can take place. Love reading here… usually 🙂 Haha! I appreciate the differences and freedom to express them, though.

  32. Hope you had a wonderful birthday, HG! Compared to many of us, you are still a baby! As others have stated, the 40’s are great. Enjoy!

  33. Happy Birthday HG!

