Daily Archives: January 22, 2013

When David Sets the Standard (Idol and Otherwise)

I may be expressing an unpopular opinion, but I’m sorry, I was NOT impressed with either Kelly Clarkson or Beyonce’s performances of our patriotic anthems at President Obama’s 2nd Term Inauguration.

The only thing I can think of is this: David raised the bar like mad when it comes to patriotic anthems, and I guarantee you – had he been invited and available to perform LIVE on Capital Hill – his Voice would have rung out across the National Mall!

His Voice would ring out Freedom Bells.

What the heck did I hear yesterday?

First, Kelly Clarkson – an amazing singer, no doubt – did too many runs for my taste and got a little too high for comfort.

Sorry, too much yelling. Much too much, IMO.

And as for Beyonce: girl, girl, girl! Even if it was a lip-synch version, whatever would the live version have sounded like? Could it have gotten any thinner sounding?


I saw two women trying to rise to the occasion and coming off like little girls. Why didn’t Obama get someone like Audra McDonald – you know, someone with a BIG VOICE – to ring out across the crowd? A classically trained vocalist instead of a pop star? In this instance, maybe even a J-Hud would have worked better with the national anthem.

Anywayz, I just don’t think either killed it in the way a certain Idol of ours would have done.

There’s a reason why folks insist that we need to hear the magic of David sing live. I mean, when his Voice is raised in song, it  quite LITERALLY rises to the occasion! His Voice literally fills up the entire arena, wherever he performs.

I guess my expectations are on that level, so when a Kelly or Beyonce shows up to sing live for big important ceremonial occasions, like a presidential inauguration, I do anticipate a Voice that fills up the damn mall!

See what following David does to you? It raises your vocal standards for everybody else.

Beyonce, honey, this is how you sing with a full-on orchestra and still make your Voice ring out higher, louder, and sharper than all the trumpets combined!

And Kelly, girlfriend, this is how you sing and add on little licks and runs without overkill:

Seriously, does anybody think David would have gotten up there on the Capital Hill stadium and NOT send chills up and down everybody’s spine and fill up the National Mall with his magnificent Voice?

It is for this reason – and this reason only! – why I still persist in the dream of David making it big. Somebody’s got to show these other children how it’s done!

I mean, I congratulate both Kelly Clarkson and Beyonce (and Jennifer Hudson at last night’s Inauguration Ball) for getting such high honors, but come on, gals! Bring it!