Daily Archives: November 8, 2012

Hope Springs Eternal!

With President Obama re-elected and a sneak preview released of David’s “Rainbow” video, could this week get any sweeter? At least sweeter for some of us?

As an aside, let me just remind y’all out there…

This is my blog, and if I want to share my feelings of joy and sweet victory and allow others to express same sentiments (and even let others express their own discontent on the matter), that’s my prerogative!

I’ve never made any pretenses about being a liberal-minded David-loving sistah around here, and every now and then, I just might veer off this blog’s focus (David!) and comment on all sorts of topics – political and otherwise.

You’ve been forewarned! :P

And since I’m still enjoying the flavor of victory – especially as I will readily admit my bias in loving and seeing connections between BO and DA precisely because I was introduced to each fella THE SAME YEAR!! – I’m going to relish the feelings of hope they each inspire for me.

If a certain candidate had followed his fellow Mormon’s lead and the lead of a certain president during this campaign season, he might be singing the same tune of victory too and might have learned a few things about what it means to create a coalition-building presence based on DIVERSITY.  JMHO.

President Obama was re-elected on the STRENGTH of a diverse group of voters – women, minorities, LGBTQ individuals, young people, white people, etc. – just like our David has been able to maintain a strong fanbase based on the same type of diverse fans. Such DIVERSITY means that David’s fans come in all colors, political persuasions, sexual orientations, and ages.

Be prepared to disagree with David’s fans – knowing just how diverse his fanbase is, and be prepared for his eventual greatness b/c a man who can attract across a diverse group of people is a man who is destined for UNIVERSAL appeal.

I will continue to hope for the president’s ability to lead us the next four years, just as I will continue to hope for David’s success when he returns in 2014.

And just to add a little more icing on the cake, feast your eyes! :P