Daily Archives: November 3, 2012

If I Could Be a Live Audience

You know, as we revisited some of the old performances from David this past week, I’m always struck by the reaction of the audience in response to The Voice.

No, I’m not talking about screaming teens and tweens.

I’m talking about grown men and women standing at attention, sometimes even before David has finished a performance! I got that vibe from his finale performance of “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me.”  I definitely felt it from the thunderous applause and standing ovation that he received from his “Silent Night” rendition with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir.

I’ll always remember Paula Abdul whooping and hollering in response to David at the finale or the back-up singer brought to tears when he sang “Heaven.” Or how about when the legendary Rita Moreno could be seen mouthing the word “amazing” after listening to his tender “Contigo en la Distancia” (or that anonymous woman swooning audibly when his Voice rings out “mi alma-a-a-a”)?

You know: those moments when you would give anything – anything – to have witnessed The Voice LIVE!! 

I am forever grateful, as the Archie lovers would say, that “We’ll always have Verona!” :P

So, what say you, dear readers? Which live performance would you have sold your soul for just to see David in the flesh and to let his Voice wash all over you? Please take my latest poll! :)