What I Watched This Weekend

I saw Cloud Atlas last night. It was really good! Although I can see why some folks would have a problem with some of the “Race Bending” that goes on (there’s gender-bending as well):

I wonder if David would like a film like this?

Posted on October 28, 2012, in current events. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Wow, that looks like a really interesting movie from th trailor. I want to see it. It looks like a very thought provoking movie.

  2. I watched the trailer twice and I don’t understand what’s going on. I’ll google it to see what the plot is. From the twitter buzz, I think the majority who have seen it thought it was good.

    • The movie takes place across 6 time periods, told through 6 different stories with each interwoven. In a nutshell:

      1849 story passes down as a diary read by a character in a story set in 1936.

      1936 story passes down as a set of letters read by a character in a story set in 1973.

      1973 story passes down as a manuscript read by a character in a story set in 2012.

      2012 story inspires a movie that is watched by a character in a story set in 2144.

      2144 story passes down as a set of archived digital recordings that become a sacred text to the people living in the 24th century.

      Does that clarify things? 🙂

  3. I’m taking a crash course in English. One of the ladies who is a regular visit to this site, coming to Buenos Aires for a few days and wants to meet me. I’m waiting anxiously.

  4. I always get a big smile when I hear of Archies meeting for the first time! I’m so happy for you both Gladys:-)

