David Live Flashback

Oh the memories! When oh when will we get that MKOC DVD? Especially from Verona! 😛

Posted on October 13, 2012, in My Kind of Christmas, performance. Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. TPTB need to get on this! Just last night I watched all of the Verona videos for the first time. Silent Night, 8th row center’s video, is gorgeous. (as are most of her videos) The snow, his beautiful voice, the atmosphere in general. So glad we went to this. If this was recorded for a dvd, would be a crime not to release it. (and a felony, at that)

  2. “climb ev’ry mountain” is one of my fav songs. i love david’s rendition. i still regret not having attended the mkoc tour. a mkoc tour dvd would be wonderful!

  3. Ok, Hg that video has me in a puddle of tears for some reason.

  4. Just one word for that performance: Beautiful!

  5. i just read on “the voice” that gladys may join their chat tonight at 11 pm edt. yippie!

  6. Here is a recap of David’s concert in Chile posted in FOD comments by Janel aka Nellie. She received the information from Gisselle and Gladys who were at David’s concert.

    Tonight’s concert in Chile with Elders Archuleta and Coello was a combo pop and hymn concert. David sang How Firm a Foundation and I’m Trying to Be Like Jesus. (She listed a couple others, but google translate has me confused as to what hymns they are.)
    Pop songs: Hero, A Thousand Miles, Heaven, I’m Strong and the one that struck me funny, he sang “Eye of the Tiger, all in English.
    In Spanish he sang a song called “Dreams” and “One Minute More”, and all the hymns.
    She named also Gracias A La Vida, which is a song by a Chilean singer.
    She lists a hymn called “Mando a su hijo” which translated is “Sent His Son”.
    Another girl Gladys who went too, had a livestream chat with the fans after the concert. She said he also sang “What a Wonderful World” and “Imagine”. And “Dixie” by Al Jolson which is an old song.
    Gladys also said he came out boxing like a boxer when he sang Eye of the Tiger. This is so funny. Can’t believe they allowed a missionary to sing some pop songs. But I think it’s great too.
    Gladys said he apologized for the boxing act because missionaries don’t do that and laughed a lot, and said he is no longer thin looking. LOL
    She said he wasn’t timid at all (Gladys). She also said he danced the salsa. (LOLOL….ummm, missionary dancing the salsa. He must have really got special permission.) He also said the decision to go on his mission came from his heart, just like music. He said it was a difficult decision, but something he had to do.
    The song he “danced” to was a song called Life is a Carnival by Celia Cruz
    “Hero” by Christina Aguilera.

    Sounds like maybe going on this mission with actually loosen David up instead of the opposite like some feared. I guess we shall see in 2014. I’m glad they are giving him the chance to do concerts while on his mission. IMHO it would have been dumb not to have David use his singing talent on his mission. Singing is David’s God given gift.

  7. Here is a comment from Gladys that I liked that was at the chat on The Voice (I am copying it. That is why it is in caps).

    HE SANG MANY HYMNS, AT THE BEGINNING WE WERE SCOLDED BECUASE WE SCREAMED AND CLAPPED, BUT THEN IT COULDNT BE HELPED
    HE ASKED US TO STAND AND DANCE WITH HIM WHEN HE SANG SONG BY CELIA CRUZ DANCED SALSA, HE WAS SERIOUSLY DANCING, HE SAID HE LIKED THAT THE AUDIENCE DANCED WITH HIM NOT LIKE MANY NORTH AMERICANS THAT STAY SEATED

    • I really enjoyed the chat last night. Ok. That’s not telling the whole story. I was kinda squeeing inside 🙂 But who knew D thought we were such lame concert goers? lol This stuck out to me as well. To be honest, I’m a fan of General Admission. I’ve definitely noticed a difference in energy level at the GA shows I’ve attended.

  8. sounds like an entertaining concert. the celia cruz song has been sampled a couple of times in hiphop music. i’ll withhold my thoughts on al jolson’s “dixie” until i hear more.

    • My guess is his mission president or someone requested it. The songs that weren’t religious where all over the map. I wonder it they were requests. It only goes to show that David knows and can learn songs really fast.

    • It sounds to me like it may have been a parody. She said it was a tribute to the elders. Maybe something like “Elders…how I love ya, how I love ya…” Or something not lame, lol.

      • One fan also knows of tributes to Elders leaving and also thought maybe David sang Mammy to them!!She has sons who have been on Missions and is familiar with some of the terms and customs.

      • Wouldn’t that be offensive?

      • I don’t know. Like you said I’m sure whichever Al Jolson song was also a paroday. Her explanation is on the Voice in comments. It was just a guess. Whatever he sang was well received and he and the piano player wore hats and David knelt on one knee like Al Jolson and threw the hats out in the audience. We will be getting the full story soon. Probably shouldn’t have mentionedd it, since I can’t explain it well. It was all good from what I hear 🙂

      • Al Jolson sang it in blackface. Sounds like an odd choice to me.

      • I think there’s still confusion too about exactly what song it was. There are several songs associated with Al Jolson that have Dixie in the title (according to YT anyway). No matter which it was, it seems so random lol. I’m gonna be up front and admit that I had never even heard of Al Jolson until I was reading about the show last night.

        That David keeps us on our toes 0_0

  9. I’m familiar with “Gracias A La Vida” by Violeta Parra. It is a beautiful song:

  10. A modern version for the benefit of earthquake victims:

  11. Official version:

  12. I would imagine it felt really good for David preparing for, and giving a full show. Does anyone know if there were instruments /band beyond the piano?

  13. I thought it was funny that he kept mopping his sweat with his hands and saying he’s a hottie (caliente), rather than he’s hot (hace calor), according to Gladys.

