What about a Music Video Contest?

I think it’s great and all that David’s team found a way to keep fans interested in his new album BEGIN. by offering an interactive activity, like a photo contest.

But what about a music video contest? Considering that “Everybody Hurts” was produced AFTER David left for his mission, why not open up the creativity process and get some fan participation? It’s also another way, a very serious way that fans can help promote his music on BEGIN., which really deserves more attention and a broader audience.

Can you imagine creating a music video concept for a song like “Broken”?

Posted on September 17, 2012, in BEGIN.. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Holy cow Hg, what a great idea. That would be so awesome! Hope that Kari/Archuleta team will read this and take action.

  2. Glad you like the idea, Cq! Maybe word will spread…

  3. Awesome idea! I have a friend that has a nonprofit organization that works with those “recovered” in Uganda…. mostly the girls that were stolen for use of the soldiers. I sent her Broken and she loves it! It could be a powerful video! I wish I had the knowledge and gift to put something like that together! There could be so much said! So much felt! It could help people “see” all different kinds of people that are lost and not broken.. you know? Awesome idea!!!! love it!

  4. I agree with you all FANTASTIC IDEA!

  5. Great Idea!!

  6. A music video contest would be great, anything involving the fans during David’s absence is a great thing IMO. It’d be a fun contest and also a good way to promote Begin. Maybe David’s creative fans should do it even without a contest in place. There are some really cool fan made videos using David’s songs, I still have in mind an animated music video for elevator and David even tweeted about it : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=19fZHdS8BeY

    I like MUNK_MA’s idea.
    Maybe David’s team has already planned to release a MV for Broken. It’s the only original song after all and it could be the next single. Maybe they teamed up with a charity that David supports to use the song (like Invisible Children or ChildFund).
    I’d love a lyric music video like the one for “I won’t give up” by Jason Mraz. It would put the accent on the song (which is really well written) and tell a story at the same time. Many singers released really well done lyric videos lately, maybe it’s less expensive to make ?

  7. I have to agree that David has some really creative fans. David’s fans would do a good job with creating music videos as some of the fan videos I have seen are just amazing. A lyric music video is a good idea as it would be inexpensive.

  8. It would be great for fans to make music videos for Broken. I’d also like a choreographer to develop a dance for it (like on SYTYCD). I’d love for it to be used for charity. I can’t wait to hear David sing it live. I guess I’m wishing for a lot with this song. It’s a great song.

  9. i like the idea of a fan video! i would like to see something that’s not a literal interpretation of the lyrics. dance choreography would be nice.

    last year i read an article about a book called “where children sleep”. the book contains photos of kids all around the world and what their bedrooms look like. i could see a video of a similar sort for “broken” (e.g., pics showing kids all over the world enjoying themselves regardless of their living conditions).

    http://www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2011/08/where-children-sleep-a-round-the-world-tour-of-bedrooms/243303/

  10. Great concept for a video for broken ,desertrat.

  11. Shanny in Australia

    Hi HG, just thought I’d pop my head in and say Hello. I’ve been catching up on a few posts. The tone of the comments have been nice and calm too which is great. lol
    A video contest would be fun, although perhaps not quite as accessible as the photo contest because you need to be reasonably experienced to produce a great video and from what I have seen – the best video editors in the fandom also have expensive software which helps them create the awesome vids that they do.
    I saw on a previous post that you said you often work with young people – and it got me wondering….if you don’t mind sharing, what DO you do for a job HG? You are so eloquent, you’ve got me curious. 🙂

    • I’m a college professor and I write.

      • I work at a University and I read – lol. I’m so glad that you use your writing talents for our benefit!

      • Shanny in Australia

        Haha, that is actually what I was suspecting HG. What’s your speciality?
        I’m actually thinking I would like to pursue something similar once my children have grown. I love the exploration of new ideas and stimulating conversations. That’s probably why I come here even though I find myself with the opposite point of view more often than makes for a comforable experience. lol

      • I would guess that you are a very good college professor, hg. I know I would love to take a class from you. Your writing skills are obviously excellent. David has such talented and creative fans. He is lucky.

  12. Off topic, but part of the fun for me in following David has been learning about David related subjects like the music industry, the Mormon church, and now Chile. Today is a holiday in Chile. You can read about it here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fiestas_Patrias_(Chile). I’m sure David is enjoying the food!

  13. I’ve been thinking along these same lines for awhile. David has such talented fans that this contest would be a winner! There are so many high quality videos of his live concerts that one could even put together a really long video of his life story/career. Also, another contest that might be popular is for fans to submit their dream setlist for his first concert when he returns. I would love for him to open with “Time for Me to Fly!”

  14. I think this is a great idea! So many talented people out there!

  15. Shanny in Australia

    Having lots of vids on youtube is good for promo but David already has tons of fanmade tribute type vids and they won’t really come up unless people specifically search for ‘David Archuleta’. I think the best way to aid his promotion via youtube is to combine his music with other topics so that when people do searches for their personal topic of interest, a video with something david in it comes up. I think thats why doing covers often helps artists – because people search for the song, see a new artist singing their favourite song and decide to check it out. Also combining David’s name with another popular artist. Or even random stuff like…. ’10 tips for vacationing in California’ and then have one of the tips being related to David somehow (like – attending a concert) or other simple stuff like make a cooking demonstration video and have David’s music playing in the background with a short promo of his new album in the credits at the end. Just a few ideas. These sorts of less technical vids might also be easier for a wider group of people without the expensive editing software, to make for a contest.

  16. Some good ideas here today.

