Every Bit of Promo Helps!

How cool is it to see David Archuleta’s BEGIN. right up there with other artists as iPhone 5 makes its big reveal!

Thanks to all the great sleuthing Archies for finding this and capturing the screen shot for the rest of us who missed it!

Posted on September 13, 2012, in BEGIN.. Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. So cool to see David’s album next to big stars where he belongs, thanks fo the post, HG. I have always wanted his career to skyrock and be be known by everyone all over the world as of the top singing artist of the times. Now if that will ever happen and even if he wants it, remains to be seen. I’m in for the ride wherever it take him, but I’ll never stop wanting that level of fame to happen.

  2. I think if Kari tells David about this he will think it is very cool.

  3. David did perform at Apple Headquarters several years ago. He did a beautiful rendition of “Imagine”. A video of it is posted in the comments at The Voice.

    I’m glad that Sony Asia is behind BEGIN. He still has a major label in Asia. Here is a tweet from Indonesia – David Archuleta Indo ‏@DavidArchieIndo

    BEGIN (Indonesia ver.) is officially released today! by @SonyMusicID (Sony Music Indo.) http://pic.twitter.com/ljYY87In cc: @kariontour @DavidArchie

  4. Good promo.

  5. Carrying over from last thread, I appreciate your blog, HG! I haven’t posted as much lately, as I have a lot going on, but I do read and continue to enjoy David’s music. Glad we got to meet in person last December! Meeting fellow fans has been a blast.

  6. @kariontour tweeted the Promo from @davidarchie twitter. In her posting David is front and Center.
    http://t.co/ixyETIUM

  7. That is great. Way to go Kari. David should always be front and Center. lol

  8. Great eye opening promotion from the biggest company in the United States…correct me if I am wrong on the ‘biggest’…David has got it right in the right place.. It just takes patience…

    SB

  9. Who else thinks that there is a secret stan working for Apple? I mean, he did sing for them. Now this? It’s pretty huge. I love the thought of it anyway. 🙂

    • i’m a believer! Apple is so strategic and meticulous with their marketing, my thinking is that someone intentionally selected his album cover. perhaps the color of the album, the title, the graphic font, the good looking guy 🙂 , etc. were deemed to be perfectly in sync with Apple’s message.

      • I agree. He also has sang at events for Apple in the past. I am sure he made fans of the Apple employees at those events.

    • I like the way you think too!! Yes he did sing for them and Now Front and Center in their promotion of IPHONE5 🙂

  10. I have a question about when David sang Imagine in AI. Did David get buzz all over the internet the day/next day after he sang Imagine? The reason I’m asking is 1, I didn’t have a computer at the time and 2, I notice that in these singing shows everytime a young contestant amazes, they are all over the internet the next day. If he did get major buzz, I’m so sorry I missed all the fun.

    • David did get a lot of buzz from his Imagine performance. He was one of the front runners from then on and was never in the bottom three on AI7. At that time twitter was just starting so not many had twitter but he got buzz throughout the internet.

      • I am glad that David was on AI S7 when he was as he got much of his fan base from AI viewers. I know I was one. Since 2008 there has been a huge growth in cable and the internet which has led to a decrease in viewers for shows on the regular networks. Also there is the obvious over saturation of these reality talent shows now. The Voice, X Factor, ect are bound to have decreased viewers due to there being too many of these types of shows on air. I agree with you collegemom about the frustrations of the views for David’s videos being lower than they should be.

    • He got a lot of buzz after he sang imagine, he was even mentioned on French blogs for that performance. Most of them were saying that he was going to win lol. That’s how I became a fan.

      You’re right Marie about the decrease in viewers. I think that those talent shows need a really charismatic contestant like David on season 7 to attract the attention of potential viewers. TBH, I can’t remember any contestants of those past years. Even if some of them are talented, they don’t have the X factor. Anyway, those shows are not even about finding new talents anymore but about promoting the judges.

  11. Another thing about when David sang the first Imagine – The youtube of that performance within a few days had close to 2 million views – that youtube grew in views and then was pulled. The next Imagine youtube of that performance grew into the many millions and that one was pulled. The current youtube of that performance with 1.4million views is probably the 4th or 5th high-count youtube of that same performance. This also happened with the 2 major songs he sang at the finale (In this Moment and Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me) had a couple million views immediately and were subsequently pulled and the next ones are hidden on page 2 or 3 or somewhere in his youtube pages (meaning when you type in David Archuleta to the youtube search line, the pages that come up automatically). I was so annoyed about the high-count Imagine videos being pulled by the powers that be at the time. I just didn’t get their strategy of making the next year or the current winner seem more popular. Anyway I am over it now (hmmm…doesn’t sound like I am over it yet but I try!)

  12. great promo for Begin. ! People from all over the world probably saw it. Maybe some of them will be curious and look for it (and download it eventually lol).

    OT but I was reading Birdy’s biography on her site and it made me think of the “David’s peers series” on Soul David. There are some parts that could have been written about David. “The word ‘special’ gets used so carelessly that we often no longer hear it, but then every so often something comes along to give it new meaning. Something like Birdy (…) It’s hard to believe that such a pure, powerful voice can come from such a tiny frame, or that such raw, deep emotion can be expressed by someone so young. But mostly, what all these new fans recognize is that Birdy is something increasingly rare and precious: a unique new voice, and a musician who can take even a familiar song, and make it all her own”. Just replace “Birdy” by “David” lol. David’s future team should take notes on how to write very laudatory words about their artist. I know that David is humble but when it comes to promoting his talent, those who manage him should use all the superlatives they can think about lol.
    I’m not totally off topic. I was thinking about Birdy because like David she released an album of covers. And it was acclaimed by the critics and it’s doing really well. She’s younger than David but nobody’s saying that she’s too young to sing songs like “Skinny Love” or “People Help The People”. I think it’s all about the marketing and how you communicate about the artist and “sell” his/her image. I wish that David will have that sort of recognition when he’ll release the album that will mark his return to music.

  13. I don’t know if someone here posted about the iTunes Festival that is happening during this month in London but for those who are interested in other artists you can watch the performances live or after the shows on iTunes on your computer or on your iPhone (iPad or iPod touch) by downloading the free app.
    It’s working really well and you can watch live or recorded shows of various really good artists like Norah Jones, Jack White, Emeli Sandé, The Killers, Ed Sheeran, Usher, Pink, Andrea Bocelli, Jessy J, Ellie Goulding, Alicia Keys (I’m super envious of my friends who have tickets for this show !), Muse, Mumford & Sons, One Republic, and many others.

  14. Just came across this interesting article on album sales http://bit.ly/TVmIIc
    “Nielsen {SoundScan} ratings at odds with RIAA’s claim of lost sales”

    A lot of the data there is pulled from the 2000-2004 era but the overall message is still applicable. Interesting comments on that article too, if you read all the way to the bottom.

    I do notice from looking at the graphs that units shipped are starting to come more in line with units sold. I’m sure this is partially the doing of JIT retail systems, much to the chagrin of the labels. That kinda makes me chuckle.

