Rekindling My Hope

I’m reposting a shared pic from the previous thread (thanks for the link, Ali!) because I just love it, and it’s a reminder of a time when we were so filled with hope and promise. It reminds me of the year 2008, a year that completely changed my perspective and my priorities.

The year when I was worried about a breast biopsy exam and had my “Hello, Gorgeous!” moment watching American Idol. Around that time, I was not yet on the Obama bandwagon, and the soon-to-be First Lady implored me to “stop doubting” the promise that was held in imagining our first black President of the United States.

My cynical mind had to be changed, and part of that change came because my heart softened enough to allow me to hope when I cast my vote in November of that year.

My heart softened because I was listening to a Voice emerging from one of the most magical human beings I had ever seen on my TV. That Voice opened my heart, and my open heart led me to open my mind to hope and change.

I dared to dream of a better place and a better reality.  I could “imagine” a hopeful future, even when the bottom fell out from under us.

And despite the economic hardships, despite the scare tactics used at my place of work, despite the uncertainties, I never despaired because I was busy riding the Archutrain.  I didn’t even feel the bottom fall out because that’s how high I was: floating in the clouds, listening to the Voice, and getting high on O.D.D.

The transcendence of that time is one that I will always cherish, which is why I gaze so fondly at this picture.

In this picture, I remember the feeling, and in this picture, I can rekindle the hope.

I still hope for a better country and better world, and I hope that David has a better country to return to so he can successfully relaunch his career! 🙂

Posted on September 7, 2012, in current events. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Great picture and very nice post ,hg. I hope for the same things you mentioned.

  2. Love the picture and as always, great post. “I still hope for a better country and better world, and I hope that David has a better country to return to so he can successfully relaunch his career”! Totally agree with you.

  3. I believe that David wants to give hope through his music. It lifts my spirits when I listen to TOSOD or BEGIN. Glad he gave hope to you HG.

  4. Very touching post HG.

  5. HG, so timely. I had not seen that picture before. The days of the longer ‘hair’! But such an impressive handshake. Nice surprise this morning! I hope that the man taking part in David’s handshake remains right where he is. I like the concept of all for all and not all for one.

    SB

  6. New blog up from David about why he chose the title, “BEGIN.” If was great to see him with the dogs and hear his voice!

  7. I like the explanation of his present and future mindset. As much fun as acting in a soap could be, that may not have been the last project that he would want to be remembered for while away. The new album had multiple reasons for happening perhaps including an expression of his phenomenal vocal talents as well as showing his choices. Besides ourselves, there are people in the music industry watching artists as they progress along.

    SB

  8. Stand Up 2 Cancer was just on ABC. Wasn’t David there last year?? Big big stars there tonight….

    Thanks Peter…yes Obama for a number of reasons.

    SB

    • I watched Stand up 2 Cancer and thought of David as he was on the show a few years ago. I think it was in 2010. David’s amazing fans donated a lot that year to the fight against cancer.

      • It was 2010 that David was on the program. David’s team donated over $20,000 this year and over $80,000 since the team was formed in 2008. I love when good is done by David and his fans.

      • That is really great that David and his fans helped to raise so much money.

  9. Glad that Kari posted the vlog, we need stuff from the Archuleta team at least once a month, imo.
    It’s so funny though, before when David was home working on his career, etc., when he posted a vlog, the fansites would light up like a Christmas tree with buzz, now, not so much.
    All I can say is, I really hope that he has a plan in place already to get his career going right after he returns.

  10. love this picture! Had not seen it before

