A Little Rant against “WGWG”

<begins rant>

OK, so I realize I’ve been having this irksome annoyance with “WGWG” (that’s “white guy with guitar” Idol winners for those not in the know) ever since my beloved David lost to one of these guys (see accompanying pic, which still brings pangs to my stomach), so let me tell y’all now:

Had my favorite contestant Hollie been voted off tonight while Phillip Phillips advanced to next week on what can possibly be called the WORST Top 5 performance of all time on American Idol, my head would have exploded right about now. Thankfully, Skylar took the bullet (even though I had pegged her to be the last girl standing).

But seriously!  What the heck does Hollie (who was fabulous last night) have to do to avoid being close to elimination each week? By the same token, what in blazes does PP (a Vote for the Worst candidate – and rightfully so, IMHO) have to do to wind up in the bottom?  He could just stand there and speak gobbledy gook, and he’ll still sail through on votes! Which is pretty much what he’s been doing, to be honest. I swear, this show is an absolute joke, and the voting public is running the franchise into the ground with their inane voting choices!

The thing is, I happen to like some genuine white guys with their guitars in the real world of music – Bruce Springsteen, Bon Iver, Cold Play (who we just watched) – but the pseudo crap we’ve been getting on Idol are the epitome of mediocrity, and it hurts to see contestants try oh-so-hard to please the voting public (like Hollie, like Jessica, like Elise) while dudes like PP are coasting. Jimmy Iovine is right: he is COASTING!  Everyone else is trying hard, but PP just has to strum a guitar and look cute, and that keeps him safe?

Psst! I can’t, y’all.  If he wins this year’s competition, then I’m out. For real.  This time, I mean it: I can’t do this for the fifth year in a row!

It’s time for all the non-WGWG to try a different talent contest because the game is rigged.

<ends rant/>

Posted on May 3, 2012, in American Idol. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. I’m feeling the same way!! Frustrating!

    • hell0g0rge0us

      These are the times when I miss Simon Cowell, who would have neutralized PP a loooooong time ago. He would have damned him with accusations of “not taking the competition seriously enough” or being “a bit indulgent.” PP would have definitely gotten the Jason Castro treatment and gone out fourth place (I guess I can still hold out hope next week – the judges need to step up on the criticism as no one called him out for his ridiculously bum notes last night).

  2. I agree with you 100%! PP only has to showup on stage & strum the guitar & the girls go nuts! Very disappointing! Poor little Holly was getting slammed every week by the Judges & she sings so much better than PP! Even though I’m not a huge country music fan, Skylar’s voice & stage presence is so much better than PP’s!! Also frustrated!!!!

  3. I enjoyed reading your post hg. It is still a little painful to see that picture of David after he lost to Cook. David deserved to win but a WGWG that could rearrange popular songs such as Billie Jean somehow won. Actually Chris Cornell did it first and a better version. I really don’t care as much who wins idol this year but I do share your frustrations with the WGWG.

  4. Yes – to everything you said and more HG!
    Ouch,that pic also hurts my stomach. It’s been almost 5 years and I STILL cannot get over the DCook win completely.

  5. i hate to say it but jb sings better then pp ugh,now got to wash my fingers typed jb ugh lol

  6. I don’t watch AI any more, but had to comment about that picture of the other David’s victory. UGH, it still hurts. David C. seems to be a nice guy, but David Archuleta can sing rings around him. I wonder if David had won what kind of road he would be on at this time.

    • Yes, I wonder that too cq. AI continues to support Cook despite very bad sales of his last album. Cook is performing a brand new song next week on AI. Last year AI really tried to push him and he did not perform well and had low sales. Nothing against Cook but it is a shame they don’t give other past idols that support and I do not mean just David. They just will not give up on their WGWG from S7 but I don’t think their support will do much for him.

      • i’m still bitter over cook’s win and the photo atop. with that said, i want to add that cook even had te farewell song one year “ie, remake of “don’t you forget about me”, and that didn’t seem to boost his career either.

  7. in 2010, npr did an article on female musicians and the obstacles they face. some of it addresses the wgwg issue.

    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=128528392

    “…I have found an inequality- not among musicians, but with booking agents and festival and concert programmers. They usually want a white guy with a guitar in the US and a black guy with guitar or a black woman singer in Europe. In the US, you might see one woman piano player on a festival, or one woman period, but a dozen white guys with guitars…

  8. That is why I do not watch the show anymore

  9. I’m greatful that I was still curious enough to tune in to watch season 7, but was already thinking I wasn’t going to watch, to me it was starting to become boring, perdictable, etc, however when I heard David and his story I wanted to hear more. So glad for AI because I was introduced to the man. Haven’t watch sense, other than when David was a guest, and I have no interest in watching ever again.

  10. My sentiments exactly HG! I’m so frustrated with this season of AI. I have been a huge fan of Hollie this whole season. She is a fighter. I believe she is a dark horse and I would love to see her make the finale. I think PP could care less if he is there and I was shocked he was not in the bottom 2. I thought he sang terrible the other night. I’m also frustrated with the judges. I can’t believe PP was not criticized the other night. I’m with you on I don’t know what Hollie has to do to stay out of the bottom 2. I wish we could go back to the days when Simon and Paula were still on the show. I could tell the judges were ticked of that Skylar went home. Oh well I’m hoping Hollie just keeps fighting because I think she has an amazing voice. Of couse not as good of a voice as Archie but she does
    sing very well.

  11. David now has over 1 million followers on Twitter. That is amazing considering he is away from his career for 2 years. Way to go David. Many well known celebrities do not even have close to a million followers on their twitter.

    • SandyBeaches

      The only way to hear any news from David in the next two years, is fwitter. The only approved news. The safe source. No wonder people who want to know something about David are now followers.

      For every other star there is everything else including television, ET etc., there are concerts, live interviews, radio, the movies. Twitter is now ‘it’ for him.

      SB

      • SandyBeaches

        ‘It’ in an indirect way, quite unique!

      • Last I saw he still had an official site, too. And a Facebook where he’s got over 2 million likers. Is likers a word?

      • SandyBeaches

        Sorry on that, I meant that fwitter is up to the minute or even seconds on the news. People from everywhere bring in the news as they find it. A great source of information and pictures.

