Missing David’s Fans Already!

Forget about already starting to miss David (and he has yet to take off on his mission). I’m missing his fans!

Valbraz…Burkey…Peter… and a host of other “regulars,” I haven’t seen commenting here.  Have folks already taken off? 😦

Are people just lurking now because there’s nothing to say?

I don’t mind wanting to keep my blog open, but the fun of that is having the fans around. So, I was curious to take another poll and see what folks are feeling.

Help me out here! 🙂

Posted on January 26, 2012, in polls. Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. hg.i was thinking the same then yesterday .have noticed that,,i have another reason but wonn,t start any thing today please keep up the good work

  2. I’d love to hear that “reason,” Ray!

    Don’t be afraid to speak your mind (it’s never stopped you in the past). 🙂

  3. I’ve been a lurker for a while and I found very curious that the comments have been decreasing…I don’t know why but I’m sure that as soon as the miniseries starts the comments are going to increase because everyone will want to give their opinion about it. I don’t know for sure if I’m going to keep checking the other fansites during David’s absence but I’m pretty sure I’ll be checking this site 😉

  4. I am primarily a lurker, but check morning and night and don’t see myself stopping, unless you stop posting. I’ll always be intrigued about what interesting things you have to share and what David’s fans think about it.

  5. I love all of David’s fansites. This one is one of top ones for me. I will be checking everyday. Don’t want him to go, but thank God that at least his fansites will continue.

  6. JR wrote a fantastic article about the marketing efforts of TV5 in Manilla and their fan-centric attitude. Take a look:
    http://www.thedavidchronicles.com/2012/01/david-tv5-in-the-business-of-value-making/#comment-68327

  7. HG – I’ve been swamped with work. I read the 3 sites I most pay attention to every day. Sometimes the conversation is just too analytical for me to take the time to write a comment – I love it, but I don’t have the time for it right now.

    People always comment more when there is something controversial to say or read about – fact of life. Right now, most of the controversy of the past few months has become fact. So, it’s a little quiet.

  8. I think it is great to keep this blog and David’s other fan sites going until David leaves for his mission. I am very interested in the Philippines mini series and whatever else he does before he goes. I do think it is going to be very challenging to keep this blog and actually all of David’s fan sites going when he does leave for 2 years. That does not mean it can’t be done but it won’t be easy. I will always remain a fan but I might not check his other fan sites as often . I will always check on this blog often but may not post as much . I might lurk more. I love your posts,hg. I remember being a lurker here for a long time before I even posted. I have to admit that I do miss the comments of the “regulars.”

  9. I will keep popping in! I am happy if you blog about everything and anything while David is gone, HG! I think conversations may just take longer – sort of like snailmail sometimes! People say something, come back the next day and say something, etc. I hope this and all the sites stay open even if they are slow! And twitter helps to guide people back when a new blog is up.

  10. KathyH (@KathyHsayshi)

    I’ll be checking in partly to see if “anyone’s heard from David or David’s people” and partly to see how my everyone’s doing. I think Marlie’s right, though. I definitely post more during big discussions than I do when I’m just getting the David news or enjoying photos or videos.

    Right now I’m saying I’ll check in less often. The truth of that remains to be seen.

  11. KathyH (@KathyHsayshi)

    delete the my before everyone — LOL.

  12. There’s a post re. D at “Oh No They Didn’t”. Reading through the comments you can see the gap in information between uber fans and those who casually follow his career. It’s odd seeing that some people really believed the the old AI myth of “abusive” #mic.

    http://ohnotheydidnt.livejournal.com/66054514.html

    • Some of those comments made me laugh. Thanks for posting it, desertrat. lol

      • You’re welcome. 🙂

        I laughed at the one: “Isn’t he going on a mission thingy?”

        While some of us have been debating D’s decisions, these folk have no idea what he decided, lol.

      • This one was funny too. I think they were referring to the Philippines mini series : “this is the most random thing he’s ever done..” lol

  13. I marked that I will “check the sites as regularly as I do now”. Where I’ve cut back is in not reading everything that’s posted everywhere. I’m not depressed (well, maybe a little 😦 ) or angry, its just that I need to rethink my priorities.

  14. I won’t be posting as often as I am moving to Ben shepherd’s hometown for awhile for work. VERY EXCITED BTW. But I will still be around.

    • Shanny in Australia

      Hey Freo, that’s my hometown too! Would love to know which part you’re going to! 🙂
      And if you’re lucky, the recent lighthearted speculation on FOD about David going to New Zealand on his mission, will be true! lol

      • Shanny in Australia

        Oh I should say for clarification, I have lived in Australia for the last 8 years but that lil spot of the world has my heart and my memories. And still lots of my family and friends. lol

      • Shanny in Australia

        Ha, and… Ben Shepherd and I went to the same high school and had some of the same teachers and know some of the same people. But at different times cos i’m a littlle older than his young self. lol

  15. Guess I am REALLY late to seeing this- based on the number of views already..

  16. hey! i read that david won’t be telling his fans where he will be going on a mission, good for him!. yeah i heard about rumors that he might be going to new zealand for his LDS mission,, i cannot see david going there thought. in my opinion, i think he will be going somewhere in the US but most likely he won’t serve his mission there.

  17. Delurking to say I didn’t really start visiting SD until the last 6 mths so yeah…I plan on sticking around a while. 🙂

    Thanks for the refreshingly honest posts, HG.

  18. I really enjoy reading what you have to say HG, it doesn’t matter what the subject is! Mostly I lurk. The politics are sometimes “over-my-head”, but I often find myself seeking out and learning from what is discussed. For that, I thank you all.

  19. if his fans ever david find out where he will be serving his LDS mission and got spread around the internet and he will hear it from his family than he will quit and go home, that most likely will happen!!!. the mission is a serious thing for david. goodnite.

    idolfan

  20. This is my favorite fan site. I enjoy your thoughtful blogs HG and I always look forward to comments from the “regulars”. The sense of community among the regulars here gives this site an intimacy and openness not seen elsewhere.

    I am not surprised that the comments have declined. There is a done-deal hanging over our heads and there will be a loss in the near future. The adjustment has probably already started. I also wonder if folks who gravitate to this site are less inclined to idealize David and more inclined be ambivalent about him leaving. If so, readers may be laying low as they process their conflicted feelings.

    I intend to continue visiting, reading, pondering, pondering some more, and mostly lurking because by the time my pondering is satisfied the subject has usually changed.

