“Wait Till Folks Google ‘Mormons'”

So, I came across an episode of “Real Time with Bill Maher” on HBO, and I occasionally find his cynical atheistic viewpoints funny. I’m not one of those Christians who can’t laugh at myself or at the worldviews that my fellow Christians share.

Besides, beneath Bill Maher’s anti-religious comical tirades – what he refers to as the “religulous” crowd (methinks the lapsed Catholic doth protest too much) – is an insecure guy who’s still angry that some right-wing zealots caused him to lose his ABC gig and relegate him to premium cable.

In other words, his attempts at offending the “religious set” get a laugh from me because he tries oh-so-hard to debunk our various “mythologies” with good sound REASON (except he never sounds reasonable, which is why I find myself laughing hard whenever he makes a joke about Jesus).

So, knowing all this about how Bill Maher thinks and operates and what he does for gags and laughs, why is it that, when he chose to make fun of the Mormons, I didn’t laugh as loud?

Only one reason: David Archuleta.

Granted, the issue of Mormonism came up because they were talking about Mitt Romney and the reluctance of Evangelical Christian conservatives to fully get behind him. The joke Bill made was something like: “Yeah, wait till folks start to google “Mormons.”

The audience chuckles. His panel doesn’t quite get the joke, so Bill Maher points out some choice “practices” of the LDS Church.

“OK, how about this,” Bill continues. “Magic underwear.”

The audience roars with laughter.

“Oh, and my favorite: Baptism of the Dead.”

The audience is bewildered.

“Yeah,” Bill Maher sums up, as if that was all that was needed to be said.

So, had Bill been talking about my church or the Catholic Church or even a Jewish sect, I might have laughed along with him.  But this time, I found myself hesitating.

I don’t know. Maybe because we here at Soul David didn’t need to Google “Mormons” over Mitt Romney. We’ve been googling about David’s church since the time we’ve chosen to follow him. Funny, but those things didn’t make me laugh when I learned about them. It just made me go “Too Much Information!!!!”

And so I left it alone because I still need to preserve my best thoughts about my beloved David Archuleta.

Now that Mormonism is getting another look in the media, I find myself cringing.

And I don’t know how I feel about whether or not a person’s faith should be a deal-breaker in how people vote for a president (or follow the music career of an artist for that matter).

Part of why I try not to dwell too much on David’s faith is because I have to respect David’s choices for himself, and since from all that he’s shown of himself, I see that it hasn’t done him much harm, why make it an “issue”?

Oh, it’s definitely an “issue” when it disrupts his career for two years, I get that. But the inner workings of the church? Do I really want to get caught up in all that? Besides, David is so good, so thoughtful, so conscientious, so compassionate, that I have the hardest time reconciling that public image with the other image other folks like to bring up: the stereotype of the brainwashed, cult-following Missionary who can’t make any decisions for himself except to follow religious dogma that, at best, believes in weird things about Jesus and the afterlife and, at worst, turns you into a bigoted homophobe.

That stereotype doesn’t work on David (at least not for me), and the only reason some fans think David would be in danger of fulfilling such a stereotype is because they deny him any agency. I think David knows what he’s doing and I trust his good judgment, whether or not I agree with the tenets of his faith.

Still, whatever issues we may have about David and his Church, I do realize, having watched the Bill Maher episode, that this does affect his public persona in bigger ways than what affects his fanbase.  It’s because David makes no apologies for who and what he is that I have to admire him as he keeps on keeping on.

Posted on January 18, 2012, in public image. Bookmark the permalink. 55 Comments.

  1. good post hg.it seemes here in america that the newas media tryes to put down any body in the public eye instead of looking for the good side ,me i have more respect for mormons then every,if what david is ,is what they teach

  2. Bill Maher is a misogynistic slob who admitted in an interview that he hires hookers and sends them home if he deems them too ugly for his taste. His home must lack mirrors because he said it without an ounce of irony. Maybe you should be cringing over the fact that Bill Maher has a fanbase rather than cringing over his views on Mormonism.

  3. Interesting how the first two comments elicited such different responses.

    Firstly, thanks Ray, for understanding the point I’m making – which is that, in the public eye, rude remarks can elicit ridicule and the kind of laughter that audiences like the one on Bill Maher’s show exhibit.

    I freely admit that I’ve been just as guilty in laughing at the cruelty and cynicism of the mean-spirited likes of comedians like Bill Maher.

    Having said that, I’m not sure what to make of the comment from Marsha, who thinks that

    1. she must educate me about who and what Bill Maher is (I know who he is and the ridiculously sexist things he says about women, and yet, despite his crap, some really sharp feminist public figures like Rachel Maddow and Melissa Harris Perry have no qualms showing up on his show just because they share the same liberal politics).

    and

    2. she must tell me HOW I’m supposed to feel about Bill Maher. Why, pray tell, should I be concerned that Bill Maher has a fanbase more than what he says about Mormonism? I care very much that, because he gets to frame to the public what a LIBERAL view is, that liberal Christians like myself get erased from media and, therefore, it becomes harder for people to understand why I, a black woman who favors feminism, liberal politics, and read awesome books written by the likes of Melissa Harris Perry, can also occasionally tune in to what Bill Maher and John Stewart have to say about our politics, and still be madly, passionately and unconditionally a fan of someone like David Archuleta!

    All this is to say: if you want to take issue with Bill Maher’s misogyny, fine, but don’t try and derail the conversation by pretending what he thinks about Mormonism isn’t relevant when we could find among David’s own fans (RIGHT HERE ON SOUL DAVID NO LESS!!!) similar comments that, at best mock his faith, and at worst, treat it as a dangerous doctrine.

    • This is a great subject HG. I share your experience of having developed some sensitivity to negative comments about Mormons.

      I believe my change is related to the word Mormon becoming humanized through my personal feelings and personal thoughts for one Mormon individual. I think “following” someone like David leads to identification with him and empathy for him. We know at some level the added hurdle he faces because of his faith. When someone pokes fun at Mormons, I take it more personally – probably because my feelings have generalized to all Mormons

      At the same time I do not agree with some of the teachings or expectations of his faith…hope acceptance of his related decisions will follow.

    • If a church took leadership in an effort to take away YOUR marriage, even if you had children in that marriage, wouldn’t you think it was dangerous to you and your family? (And what if it was your church that had performed that marriage?)

  4. Tough subject. I’ve tried to form a response and am having trouble. IMO, Maher no more speaks for all liberals or atheists than Romney for all conservatives or Mormons. I would hope that a majority of people would be able to sort that out.

  5. As a general rule I don’t pay attention to the opinions of men who hire hookers and then demean them. You knew he did this and still look to his views? What can I say?

    I wouldn’t put him in the same category as Jon Stewart who seems like a decent guy..

    • Eh. Maher lost my attention a while ago. Too cynical. I adnt heard about his personal choices. And I am a Stewart fan. But I get HGs points and concern.

    • Yeah, John Stewart, who when challenged about hiring more women on his show, got his undies in a wedge rather than deal with the implications for excluding women’s views.

      But that’s okay, I gather, because it’s easier to accept closet misogynists than outward ones like Bill Maher who make no pretenses about being a proud hedonistic chauvinist.

      What can I say except that I prefer people who are upfront about their flaws than the ones who pretend they don’t have any.

      Carry on…

  6. Guess I’m choosing to step around the religion debate. I live in a country where circumcision on infant males is now a common and secular practice. People are just odd.

    • I do believe the medical profession already showed that a circumcised penis actually cuts down on the risks for women contracting STDs and cervical cancer, so even as a “religious” practice, it’s not necessarily “odd.”

      But I get your point! 🙂

    • Oh, Kathy…you just hit another of my hot buttons.

    • HPV (human papiloma virus) causes up to 70% of cervical cancers.
      This is classified as a “sexually transmitted disease” as it is contracted through sexual intercourse – though there is debate as to whether it is a typical STD.

      In typical STDs, the male would also be infected with the virus, and it is transmitted to the woman through the sperm.

      HPV is thought to be present in the skin folds of the penis, and transmitted to the woman through sexual contact between skin and vaginal wall/cervix.

      HPV then affects the cell proliferation in the cervix, eventually leading to cervical cancer.

      Unfortunately, by being labeled as a STD the erroneous view of “stop sleeping around” comes up. there are many women who have HPV cervical cancer who have only had one partner (and whose partner also only had the one partner).

      So where does HPV come from? Well, where do warts come from? Warts are also caused by the HPV virus – though it is just not attached to the cervix. This has led to people thinking of it has genital warts – this too is incorrect.

      As it is thought to be a virus spread by contact between skin folds on the penis, the idea that male circumcision could help prevent the spread is plausible – though not proven.

      Now that there is an immunization for HPV, the better option is for all women to be immunized before they reach sexual maturity – in the same way that 15 year old women (in Australia anyway) are given the immunization for German Measles – so they are not affected by it while pregnant which would be disasterous for the baby.

      Interestingly…cervical cancer rates are higher in women who have had children (whether this is due to sexual intercourse or the affect of birth on the cervix is not known) whilst breast cancer is higher in women who have never had children (thought that breast feeding protects from breast cancer).

      Source(s):
      Cancer Researcher

      • It seems to me that vaccination is a much better alternative to wholesale male genital mutilation, especially since the infants have no say, and it is not reversible. If you go from site, to site, you will find various conflicting “evidence’, although much of FOR circumcision seems to be affected by predisposed beliefs concerning it, and not the evidence.

      • http://www.homiegfunk.com/RIC2.htm

        Another article about the subject, David, with apologies to HG for the splintered thread.

      • Kathy, thanks. I’ve actually read hundreds of articles on the topic. Statistics can be skewed, presented, interpreted to serve an agenda. The most seemingly unbiasted assertions by medical practitioners (and there are medical people who disagree) are highly negative of any medical benefits derived from circumcision.

  7. HG, a sincere and heartfelt “Thank you” for your honesty and your clear-minded thinking. So refreshing, as our favorite guy likes to say!

    LDS fans of David walk a fine line all the time in what we want to say and what we do say. The foremost thing I have wondered, but have never said, is why those who are critical of his religion can make no connection between the person he is and what he believes. I have often wanted to ask: “Have you ever met any other Mormon in real life and drawn your own conclusions about their character or their values, or do you just parrot back what you read or hear without context? Do you realize that you ridicule not only David, but real people with feelings that can be trampled on, and that somehow it is OK to do so?” So this quote:

    Besides, David is so good, so thoughtful, so conscientious, so compassionate, that I have the hardest time reconciling that public image with the other image other folks like to bring up: the stereotype of the brainwashed, cult-following Missionary who can’t make any decisions for himself except to follow religious dogma that, at best, believes in weird things about Jesus and the afterlife and, at worst, turns you into a bigoted homophobe.

    . . . is particularly meaningful.

    As for strange views, as has already been pointed out, religion and spirituality are most often at odds with the everyday reality in which we live our lives. But isn’t that really the point of it? To take us out of the baseness of much of life, to find beauty, to find hope and to find answers to the problems all of us face in mortal existence? Religion is based on belief in things that are hardly logical or scientifically proven. So when people talk about “magic underwear” – well, that is just a phrase that someone who thought they were being funny made up and had no understanding that temple garments are an outward expression of an inward religious commitment – much like the ritual fringes worn by observant jews and other similar practices – even the wearing of a cross necklace all the time or rosary beads. And that baptism for the dead is tossed out by the apostle Paul in the New Testament, not as something new and shocking, but in an explanation about resurrection of the dead – sort of “Duh? Of course we live after we die, why else would we be baptized for the dead?”

    Anyway, I didn’t want this to get really long. Thanks for letting me ramble. You also might be interested in this clip that speaks to the same issue:

    Also, I may have missed it as having been discussed here, but David has a piece in a book now out on Deseret Book called “Why I’m a Mormon.” It is what you expect from David – sweet, simple, sincere and gorgeous. You can find it here:

    http://deseretbook.com/Why-Im-Mormon-Joseph-Cannon/i/5061899

    • Julee, I love that clip. Thanks for bringing it here.

    • Julee, enjoyed reading your comments and listening to the clip. I think most of David’s fans admire his values and understand that these values are related to his faith. He’s been a terrific ambassador by just being himself. The LSD qualities mentioned in this clip are obvious in David, and I suspect most of the individuals that influenced him.

      My concerns for David are probably most related to my years working with college age students. Those in their early 20’s can be unrealistically idealistic. I certainly have wondered about some of his decisions and have to remind myself that most people his age are not required to struggle with such weighty burdens.

      Thanks for the perspective you add here.

  8. Some background: I am a 58 years-young male, non-denominational Christian, but not as devout as I should and need to be; married for 39 years with two adult children, one an educator (age 35) and the other an engineer (age 31). All things considered, I am a plain and simple person (a white, anglo-saxon, fill-in-the-blank, if you will). I have enjoyed and followed David’s progress from the Star Search days.
    I’m well aware of Mr. Maher and his ilk, and admittedly, I too, have laughed on occasion at his witticisms, but I have mostly winced and recoiled from what I perceived to be his imbecilities, especially when they were a reflection of my own shortcomings (I have not seen or heard about him for many years – life required that I redirect my time and attention elsewhere). He is not unlike one who speeds along the highway of life without the benefit of headlights – they may do fine in the light of day, but not so much in the dark of night, nor in feeling their way among the shadows of doubt.
    Most of us learn the value of light sooner, rather than later, and it is often provided to us by unlikely sources – the people we meet along our life journey and influence us in positive ways that make the effort worth the while. David is such a light-giver,and Mr. Maher – not so much…a dim faint distance away from the likes of David.

    I spent much of Monday reflecting on the contributions of MLK, from watching a lifetime documentary to reading quotes attributed to him. I thank God for the likes of Dr. King, such a Heroic figure, accomplishing so much, for so many…here are just a few quotes to perhaps contrast and compare David to Mr. Maher (Mormonism or atheism or any ‘ism’ notwithstanding):

    All labor that uplifts humanity has dignity and importance and should be undertaken with painstaking excellence.

    Every man must decide whether he will walk in the light of creative altruism or in the darkness of destructive selfishness.

    Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.

    The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.

    Read more: http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/m/martinluth115056.html#ixzz1jpTJF0lx

    • Kames, thank you.

    • Great comments!

      “I’m well aware of Mr. Maher and his ilk, and admittedly, I too, have laughed on occasion at his witticisms,…”

      I’ve also periodically laugh at the likes of Maher, Chelsea Handler, TMZ reporters, etc. But when it comes down to it, I wouldn’t want to spend an evening chatting with any of them. I prefer the light givers such as David. I honestly believe that as great as D’s voice is, he will one day become more known for his ability to uplift others and bring people together.

  9. My immediate response to Maher is “Well, wait until folks start to google Catholicism and Judaism.” But that wouldn’t be funny because it’s not okay to ridicule religions with larger memberships and more clout.

    I loved this quote from Dennis Prager (thanks for posting that clip, julee):

    “Every religion to an outsider has wackiness and it’s none of our d*** business to judge it.”

    • Maher totally ridicules Catholicism and Judaism–I haven’t seen “Religulous”, but I think his point is that ALL religions are superstitious nonsense. He’s out to be more of a provocateur than a comedian.

  10. KathyH (@KathyHsayshi)

    Testing.

  11. HG, it makes you uncomfortable because it goes beyond the good natured making fun, and steps over the line into mean spirited degradation of a group to excuse bigoted treatment and behavior towards members of that group. You’ve been on the receiving end, I’m sure, of such bigotry, and your soul recognizes it and doesn’t like it.

    • I was raised Catholic and I question and yes at times ridicule my own religion. But I would not call myself religious. The sexual abuse that was allowed to go on by priests and covered up was just shameful. That is just one of the many issues I have with my church. However, I am very sensitive to and understand others that feel their church is being ridiculed or misunderstood because I am sure at times it has been. Everybody’s sense of humor is different so I am not going there. lol Off topic but I miss wiki today but I understand their point. I never realized how much I use it. That is yet a whole other issue.

    • Shylock–The Merchant of Venice—Shakespeare: “Hath not a Jew eyes? Hath not a Jew hands, organs, dimensions, senses, affections, passions? Fed with the same food, hurt with the same weapons, subject to the same diseases, healed by the same means, warmed and cooled by the same winter and summer, as a Christian is? If you prick us, do we not bleed? If you tickle us, do we not laugh? If you poison us, do we not die? And if you wrong us, shall we not revenge?”

    • I’m not normally a Bill Maher apologist, but I have to say that he’s well-known as an equal-opportunity offender. I wouldn’t make any connection between his ideas and bigoted treatment or behavior. People like him, or George Carlin, Richard Pryor, John Stewart, even Will Rogers or Mark Twain (who wrote a chapter of one of his books mocking Mormonism), are allowed to have varying degrees of outrageous opinions without being accused of trampling people’s rights. Maher’s show was called “Politically Incorrect” for a reason.

  12. hi guys! i didn’t know that david- great grandfather was a LDS missionary in the philippines, i wonder david would go there because he went there!?

  13. Re the last thread- I was also impressed with Huntsman and sorry to see him not garner support.

    • Yes, I agree with you rae as I stated in the last thread. I was really impressed with Huntsman and his daughters. I thought the “Huntsman girls” were all very politically sharp,savvy and attractive. I usually do not like Republican candidates so for me that is a big endorsement. lol

    • He was our pick too 🙂 , we really liked his moderate views about sensible issues and the respect to express his opposition to his fellows republican contenders …. too , too bad he’s not an option anymore. :/

      • I liked Huntsman’s moderate views also. He would have been a strong #2 pick for me, but now Romney would have to be my #2 choice. The incumbent is still #1, and even though Romney is stronger competition than the other Republicans, I’d still prefer to have two good choices, than have any possibility of someone more extreme.

  14. david is learning to speak philippines langange, it me thinks that he is going philippines for his missionary, just saying. i pretty much doubt it that david will be going to south amercia anywhere for his mission.

  15. Oh well, what i can say …..
    first at all I know who is Maher , but i really don’t follow his show, so i imagine his ”sarcastic humor” is something similar to ‘John Stewart ‘ Steven Colbert and other ”Political humor shows ” so i assume that the targets can be totally in line with the comments in this shows (religious people, some cultures, politicians , stars.) , yeah some times i laugh, sometimes i’m said ” Ummm no ” , but inevitably make you think about or maybe do a research just with the goal to understand and give context to their ‘ Jokes’ ….. that’s.just. happen and tbh actually you make me curious about this guy now 😐

    Second , ”We’ve been googling about David’s church since the time we’ve chosen to follow him. Funny, but those things didn’t make me laugh when I learned about them. It just made me go “Too Much Information!!!!”
    And so I left it alone because I still need to preserve my best thoughts about my beloved David Archuleta.”

    That maybe should be the right political attitude , exactly for the reason you exposed ….. bad or good , many of us early or later did the same ( i mean go to internet ), sometimes i glad i did it, sometimes i regretted , i never laugh :|, that depend in what measure , people want to link David to his Church or want to overpraise their influence on his career or personality , so again is inevitable to try make and build a complete picture from the all information you have … but then that picture coming from each individual is always subjective.

    Three, being a Latinoamerican person, US political has being always part of our interest, you now ‘ who’s gonna be the president of the ‘Big Dad’ , so to me the debates are like to see AI new season lol. So in that context i know religion is a very important issue , not only for Romney but for every front-runner specially in the Republican party ( that yes is a mess right now ) and every candidate aspiring to be president of US , or you forgot already about Obama being ” accused ” to be Muslim? ….. and like by then jokes around all the internet gonna hit each time with more intensity ….. so be ready ? because is what happen in each election time ….. and the rude comments come from everybody, yep even from fellows LDS against his own fellows LDS candidates , Jon Huntsman anyone? or against Obama if you want … so again It’s. just. happen

    Four , so now before to be accused to derail the conversation , yes i have an answer and opinion about your call, i hope in understand about you HG want from us ( your posters) to be the right position but i gonna post later …. i gonna see AI new season that start tonight 🙂

    • I am watching AI tonight too. Although I do not really like the auditions as they are so drawn out.

      • marie, i guess we may never knows where david may ended up going to the LDS mission, (i think david will keep it private). some people are saying that david is going to beilze, i had never heard that place before, so look it up and saw pics, it seems to me it more like a vacation spots to me, just my opinion but there maybe some LDS missionary there.

  16. by looking at the pics of the BTS of the mini series, it doesn’t seems that david is not hanging out any of the casts members, he is hanging out with the people behind the scenes like with the directors and kari.(not the casts members)maybe g/f/friend charice doesn’t want him to hang out with the ladies, just saying!!.

  17. i think david and charice are secretly dating, if that is true, i hope she is handling well about david going away on a 2 year mission because he won’t see her for that long and only can write letters and email her and also i guess call her. david and charice did a very smart thing not seeing each other while they were both in the philippines at the same time, if they ever did caught together, it would have get into the media and that what they were protecting from happening and sure they were very bummed not seeing each other but i am sure david will see her in LA when he get back from singapore, just saying. again goodnite everyone, charice did said to the press at her mom’s birthday party that she was very happy for david doing the mini series.

    idolfan

  18. Idol episode tonight ended already and i’m here thinking that like Kathyh said ” Is tough subject. I’ve tried to form a response and i’m having trouble.” …. and I’m in trouble not because idk what to say , but because i really don’t know if you HG want an answer or you just want to make your call ( well expressed by ray in the first post of this thread) and us just to shut up (in a nice way) and move on , works for me either way , so i confused lately , because i’m want to be sure posters don’t gonna be stigmatized just to replay to your post ……. so under this circumstances and taking that risk maybe i gonna say .

    ” i just and I don’t know how I feel about whether or not a person’s faith should be a deal-breaker in how people vote for a president (or follow the music career of an artist for that matter).”

    Politics is a very different matter , but this is not happening with David, this is not a reality in his fan base, that at the end of the day care less about what he believes, people still admiring his personality though , but his voice was the first reason to follow for most of the people and if people are leaving and discouraged about him is most because lack of action or orientation with his career than for anything else …. not religion, if he was LDS , was not the first concern about him on his sites.

    You think is disrespectful to think he’s having trouble to take decisions by himself ? , I don’t see why, is normal to see kids his age in the same situation , that’s coming with the age, so what was the problem ? that some of us see him like a normal person who can have that kind of conflicts , confusions and pressures? clearly he’s maturing and slowly taking control of some situations and tbh this opinion about him be a controlled person came since idol days , not because his LDS roots , but because his father image of dominant male and controlling person highly exposed by then .

    Religion is slowly becoming a recurrent subject ? yes , sadly ….. some want to have this romantic approach about , some are just more realistic and rational and you even have fansites pushing hard the religious agenda, but is up to each one to sign in for that.

    In any-case i really, really don’t think is a deal-breaker to stop following him like artist, because like i said before , people really don’t care about the life style or beliefs of the artists, until maybe they ( the artist) become too preachy , risking to try to alienate their fans. ( in that case become just annoying ) ….. or until their attach to the artist became too emotional and spiritual , but again that is to each one .

    I can going and going about this,,,,but i just don’t see if help somehow …. so i better gonna stop.

    • Don’t worry about me, Tibi. Say what you want! 🙂

      Just don’t derail a conversation or be disrespectful, and I never thought you were guilty of doing either.

      • “In any-case i really, really don’t think is a deal-breaker to stop following him like artist, because like i said before , people really don’t care about the life style or beliefs of the artists, until maybe they ( the artist) become too preachy , risking to try to alienate their fans. ( in that case become just annoying) ” I agree with this tibi.

  19. Linda Soderquist

    Thanks, HG for your post, especially the last line, I am sure if David has a chance to know you, he would think the same thing about you.

    Thanks too for thinking Mormon bashing isn’t funny. Bashing of any kind shouldn’t be funny. We have become sensitive to bigoted remarks about other groups (races or religions), but we have more work to do.

    David has been open about his values and they are values which most people would agree with, but he has never tried to preach his religious beliefs. I appreciate that and I am a Mormon! I just enjoy his music. He came on my radar screen because of the press in Utah, but also because one day during 2008, I had a pedicure and the lady next to me was David’s step-grandmother and she was nice and she talked about David, so I started watching IDOL and got hooked.

    About the mission, my theory is that the LDS Church will send him somewhere off the beaten path like Armenia or Nigeria or Uruguay. (My brother went to Uruguay….) He may do some singing while he is on a mission, because some missionaries do that, but I hope that he can have a break from stardom and the press and come back refreshed.

    It’s going to be hard. We will miss him.

    • I think that the focus should be David’s music and his career. David’s going on a mission for 2 years did make his religion more of a focus and I think that is unfortunate. I have stated before that I really do not even care to know the religious beliefs of any music artists I listen to. That is their own personal business. I think it is ridiculous to generalize anyone based on their religion this day and age. I also believe that not all “Mormons” are as devout as David or go on missions but lead good Christian moral lives. Just like members of any religion or even non religious folks like myself.

  20. David would be David even if he was brought up Catholic, Baptist, Jewish or no religion at all. He is who he is.

    His relationship is with GOD, not the church. That he is Mormon is a fact of being born into a Mormon family. He is following the path that he was taught he should follow from a very young boy as all young Mormons are taught.

    David said his character as Josh is like himself and if the script brings up that Josh is Mormon as well…I believe THAT may be a deal breaker for many who are already sad & puzzled about him taking a 2 year “break”, and because THAT will be too much.

    Would we even be discussing David’s religion if he were not Mormon? Why not just except that David is a very highly spiritual individual?

    Jus’ sayin’.

