Keeping Fans Happy While We Wait

Let me offer my congratulations to Beyonce and Jay-Z, who just became proud new parents of a baby girl, Ivy Blue Carter, born on Saturday, according to various reports.

I’m bringing up Beyonce as a subject because I had thought, before she made her pregnancy announcement, that she was working overdrive to release a whole mess of singles from her 4 album, and in the wake of her pregnancy, managed to release four music videos plus a Live Concert DVD!

I’m very happy to have my Glad Christmas Tidings DVD and everything, but I can only play it at Christmas time, and guess what? January is here, and the holidays are over.  This is when I wish I were David’s manager.  For real, y’all!

Because, I’d be working overtime to keep David’s public presence out there in preparation for his two-year disappearance.  Had his label managed to get 3-4 singles from each of his albums released to radio, you do realize that’s a good number of songs that could have been playing in rotation in the next few years?  At least 6 songs that would satiate our appetites?

And how many Live Concert DVDs might we have gotten out of the deal, with all the touring David has done for one so young?

So, I must give props to Beyonce for keeping her music and her image out there, so her fans can be happy as she retreats from the limelight (we’ll see how long that lasts) to tend to her new duties as a mother.

I just wonder, if we had more of David in the mainstream media, would the prospect of his two-year mission be greeted with less sadness and disappointment? And no, I don’t count a Hong Kong released music video and the prospect of appearing in a soap opera in the Philippines as “mainstream media.” The American market matters more than anywhere else.

Posted on January 8, 2012, in current events, David's career. Bookmark the permalink. 159 Comments.

  1. I don’t see it as bashing. Understand that the mistreatment of gays is not what that religion, or any other is ALL about. Would be same as saying people standing up for blacks and their rights in the 60’s are bashing the constitution and the U.S. And…people said that it was..along with the Bible! It also wasn’t what the U.S. was all about, but It WAS wrong, plain and simple. Please understand that it would be personally irresponsible of me to be silent, when it is so personal me, and to children who ARE gay, and born that way. But, unlike blacks, they are not born sharing that characteristic for which they are persecuted, so do not have a built in family which helps bolster them in tough times. Many are, in fact, rejected by their families for it. It can be the saddest of sad stories.

  2. Oh, and for everyone saying it wasn’t about prop 8 (stop bashing stuff)…i just “control F’d” it in the thread. Couldn’t really tell, but I guess I had to have a moment to get on my soap box about it. 😉 But prop 8 did come up in the thread, so I felt compelled to put my 2 plus cents in. Thanks, everyone, and HG for giving me this opportunity.

    • I kept saying on another site that as a result of David’s decision to go on a religious mission – it wouldn’t come without ramifications. One of those is already painfully obvious – the division of his fans.

  3. LCT–I don’t really think it’s a division. People will settle down. I put my two cents in a couple or three times a year. Why the heck not, it’s important to me. I think it is rude, though, to try to diminsh or dismiss a religion, or to criticise and dissect the actual religion that someone belongs to…from its structure, to its practices, symbols, clothing, history, you name it…it’s just a waste of time, and not nice. I only weigh in on the issue of how actual people “treat” other people. When it comes to that, it’s just so hard for me to always be quiet.

    • Thanks theotherdavid I appreciated your comment.

      This is the part that has been hard for me:
      “I think it is rude, though, to try to diminsh or dismiss a religion, or to criticise and dissect the actual religion that someone belongs to…from its structure, to its practices, symbols, clothing, history, you name it…it’s just a waste of time, and not nice.”

      In the end it really is how each individual chooses to treat another individual.

      Lct – I guess each fan will have to decide if they feel that way. Even though I’ve seen things on the fansites that have made me uneasy I don’t see any reason to have an against them mentality. I choose to see us all as fans of an incredible talent. I don’t divide people in my regular into those sorts of categories so I don’t feel the need to here. I think it will settle down as well.

      I know there is a new thread but don’t want to keep opening the floodgates so I kept it here but really wanted to tell theotherdavid I liked his comment.

    • theotherdavid’s previous heart-felt comment made me tear up, because treating people equally has been my point all along.

      I hate to have it come down to a whole theme of “certain people are constantly bashing David’s church”, because of one ill-considered remark about a specific policy that I questioned. Marsha complained, I thought about it and apologized (and explained a little with my link), and there wasn’t any other rudeness that I could tell.

      I did invite anyone to call me out on it if there was anything else I said that was rude. If people don’t like me questioning things, I’m sorry, I can’t help wondering, but I promise that I’ve only given my ideas on topics that are already opened up.

    • Shanny in Australia

      Cc halo, it is not just your one little remark. It is a culmination of your many remarks over many months. But you know that. As you said yourself…you have an agenda against the LDS church.

      David….I appreciate you acknowledging this too because this is what a lot of people have had enough of…..“I think it is rude, though, to try to diminsh or dismiss a religion, or to criticise and dissect the actual religion that someone belongs to…from its structure, to its practices, symbols, clothing, history, you name it…it’s just a waste of time, and not nice.” And I think others are just tired of the topic in general.

      Thing is….the LDS people could make all sorts of refutations and rebuttals and explanations to what gets said here but mostly they don’t….I assume because as it is in my case….this is a fansite and not a place to get into lengthy theological discussions.

      I’m with Julee…completely amazed at HG’s patience to allow her fansite to get so taken over with it to be honest. I know theres freedom of speech and all that but there are just plain old good manners too.

  1. Pingback: weekend getaways in new england

