All This Talk about Prince…

Got me nostalgic for his music! Major, major Prince fan here! I think I once told y’all how, if Michael Jackson was my mother-approved boyfriend, Prince was the one I had to hide underneath the bed! 😛

Anyways, even though he’s gone down the religiously devout route as a Jehovah’s Witness, I think there were signs in his earlier music (even at his sexiest) that indicated he was really caught up in theology.

That’s the beauty of complicated artists, which is all we here want for David: to be complex.

Anywho, I do remember David tweeting about having the best time at a Prince concert. So, naturally, I’m wondering which of Prince’s songs he should cover  (and which he’d feel comfortable singing).

Here are some of my choices:

Purple Rain:

Of course, Fantasia does a kick-butt rendition by “taking it to church” (she’s such a Patti Labelle/Mary J. Blige mixtape isn’t she?) so I think David could come close (or even surpass!).

Mountains:

Diamonds and Pearls:

Nothing Compares 2 U:

Sinead O’Connor did a famous rendition, and made the song her own, so imagine The Voice on this one (and subsequently making it his own).   🙂

Adore:

OK, so this is a serious BABY-MAKING song right here (Ahem!), but we all know Ballad Boy can handle it, right? 😉

So, what say you, SD readers? Please take my latest poll! 😀

Posted on November 6, 2011, in David's influences, polls. Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. Love this post hg. I also am a big Prince fan. I will never forget seeing Prince in concert twice when I was younger. He is incredible live in concert. For the song choice I was torn between David covering Nothing Compares 2 U and Purple Rain but I picked Nothing Compares 2 U. My favorite Prince song is “Little Red Corvette”. Prince also had major issues with his label Warner Brothers and was at odds with them in the past. He has changed labels frequently and I am not sure who he is signed with now.

  2. I chose “Nothing Compares to You” but I’d also like to think David would do well with “Most Beautiful Girl in the World”. I think “Let’s Go Crazy” could be a good, lively mid concert song for introducing the band.

    I never saw Prince in concert but I hope to catch him at one of his upcoming shows. I won’t have vip tickets though, lol.

  3. edit oops …

    I chose “Nothing Compares to You” but I also think David would do well with “Most Beautiful Girl in the World”.

  4. Generally, I think David needs more life experience — something along the lines of twenty years — to be able to do a cover of a Prince song.

    That said, I think “Nothing Compares 2 U” would work, and I think MIC would approve the lyrics.

  5. I picked ‘Adore’, not sure why, but I just tried to imagine David singing it. I know very little about Prince, so I looked him up in Wiki & here are some things I found especially interesting. He has a huge bio. What a talent!

    Info from Wiki:

    Prince founded his own recording studio and label; writing, self-producing and playing most, or all, of the instruments on his recordings. Prince also has several hundred unreleased songs in his “vault. Rolling Stone has ranked Prince No.27 on its list of the 100 Greatest Artists of All Time. Prince has a wide vocal range and is known for his flamboyant stage presence and costumes. He has sold over 80 million copies worldwide. He became a member of the Jehovah’s Witnesses in 2001 and occasionally knocks on people’s doors to discuss his faith.

  6. Billboard chart for this week:

    David Archuleta:
    Glad Christmas Tidings, Mormon Tabernacle Choir/Orchestra At Temple Square Feat. David Archuleta With Michael York:

    Christian Album 49 (NEW);
    Holiday 34 (29);
    Classical Cross-Over Album 7 (7)

  7. Peter, let me get this straight. David, who is 20 years old (and incidentally the same age Prince was when he released his very first album – hmmm, methinks I need to resurrect the “Being 20” series with some new artists featured), and who penned a song like “Nothing Compares 2 U” when he was all of 23 years old, needs TWENTY more years to be able to cover songs the man was singing and writing when he had not reached age 30?

    You’re funny! heh.

    • Yes, I honestly think that David needs more life experience to be able to credibly cover a Prince song, regardless of the original writer’s age at the time of writing the song.

      There is a world of difference between “Dream Sky High” and “When Doves Cry.”

  8. YEAHHHHHHHHHH – Let’s have some fun here! I want to hear David sing a whole song in falsetto. He could do it, lol… How would he sound singing ”Kiss”? Yowsa!

    • Well, if we’re gonna go there and have David do a Prince song completely in falsetto, what about THIS baby? 😛

      Yeah, Peter, I know what you think about 20 years time and all, but let’s have our fantasy! haha!

  9. Ohhh, you ain’t playin’, lolol… weeellll, I see you ‘The Beautiful Ones’, and raise ya…

    BAM!!

    🙂

  10. Pretty nice interview from earlier this year…

    4-13-11 Prince Shows off Guitar, Talks Being Vegetarian, & Discusses Music on Lopez Tonight

  11. OK, GG, since you went there and just raised the stakes and all…

    TRY THIS ONE!! 😛

    • While we fans may never get to hear David sing Prince’s songs, I bet when he was at the concert he sang every song right along with Prince. 😉

  12. love this post and Prince.. I say if we get the honor of David covering a song of his we get the heels and the duds too!
    hmm my favorite Prince song is Little Red Corvette.
    also my guess is more along the lines of Peter that it will be a long time or never before he covers one though but hey a girl can dream.

  1. Pingback: cell mania

