Breaking the “Sound of Silence”

Thanks for alerting me to this performance, Burkey! How in heck did I miss this? (Notice this particular video was uploaded on April 26, 2011 for the Invisible Children in Nashville).

Posted on November 4, 2011, in performance. Bookmark the permalink. 72 Comments.

  1. Reportedly (FOD comments), this is from the LDS Living Magazine article:

    From his decision to audition for American Idol to the songs that he chooses to sing and the way he conducts himself personally, Archuleta strives to stay spiritually strong so he can receive inspration and know how best he can serve God and other people.

    “The reason I did all of this in the first place is because of Heavenly Father,” he explains. “I’m not doing this for myself. I’m just trying to live my life in a way that will be pleasing to Him. I’ve realized that Heavenly Father wants me to do this, and He wants me to do it this way. You’re supposed to share what you’ve been given. right? For me, it’s not just with music — it’s with everything I do. I always ask what I need to do in my life to make it the most meaningful. It’s like a calling, I guess.”

    As a 20-year-old LDS man, Archuleta is often scrutinized or criticized for living a less traditional life and for not currently serving a full-time mission. But Archuleta has unshakable faith in his ability to know what his path is.

    “People will always have their opinions about my life, but I know what I need to do and what I don’t need to do,” he says. “I think about how decisions are going to affect me and affect other people, and I am always seeking to know how I can be the most useful in my life. Sometimes the answer doesn’t make sense until later, or sometimes it may not make sense to other people, but I try to listen to the feeling I’ve always felt. Sometimes it can be scary, but I’ve learned to trust it.”

    He adds, “Some of my decisions — both personal and professional — will be surprising to people in the future. I hope people understand that whatever I do, I’m just trying to do what Heavenly Father has asked me to do.”

    About Jive:

    It was certainly a dream come true, but behind the scenes, he was constantly clashing with the record label.

    “Record label management wanted to make me into a person that was so different from who I presented myself to be on Idol. People would say, “You don’t know who you are. You don’t know what you want to be. This is who you are.” But I told them, “You know what? That’s not who I am. Regardless if that’s what will get more radio play, that’s not what I’m supposed to do. I don’t want double-meaning lyrics. I don’t want things to be taken the wrong way. Music has an impact, and as an artist I can influence the way people think, the way they feel. No one can tell me what I am and am not. I’m just going to be true to myself.”

    • “Record label management wanted to make me into a person that was so different from who I presented myself to be on Idol.” What is interesting is that record label, Jive, is no longer around. lol The label management was probably so desperate to make money that my guess is they did put pressure on David to make money like JB. However, I hope that David realizes that not every label operates that way even though it is a business and they all want to make a profit. There is a label out there that is the right fit for David. I just hope he finds and signs with one.

      • I agree Marie. I hope David hasn’t let this one experience deter him from signing with a label again.

    • thanks, peter……..it does clear some things up.

    • Shanny in Australia

      You go David! All power to you!

      Just more evidence why this guy is worth my admiration and respect. Keep on keeping on David. You’re doing just great!

      Thanks Peter for posting it.

  2. Not matter what happens in David’s career I really do respect him for what he said here:
    “Record label management wanted to make me into a person that was so different from who I presented myself to be on Idol. People would say, “You don’t know who you are. You don’t know what you want to be. This is who you are.” But I told them, “You know what? That’s not who I am. Regardless if that’s what will get more radio play, that’s not what I’m supposed to do. I don’t want double-meaning lyrics. I don’t want things to be taken the wrong way. Music has an impact, and as an artist I can influence the way people think, the way they feel. No one can tell me what I am and am not. I’m just going to be true to myself.”

  3. What’s impressive about this performance to me is that it appeared to be impromptu and Landon sang the melody, and if you watch and listen to David he is coming up with the harmony on the fly. A couple of times Landon went somewhere with the melody that David didn’t expect but he always adjusted so they would harmonize. I noticed David did that on ai with onerepublic as well. David is such a gifted singer and musician.

    • Landon messed up on the words some too, but David, always the diplomat, was paying attention and not ever overpowering or making it about him so you don’t really notice (and yes I’m crazy and checked the lyrics to see who had the right words, haha). David is so generous when he sings with someone. They both could have tried to out sing each other but David just compliments the other singer and blends so well.

      • yes, I also noticed that he did not overpower Landon and we all know that he could have done that easily.

      • Shanny in Australia

        Oh man, I was so impressed with David in this performance.for all the reasons SJ mentioned. And I plain old love the sound of the performance even if it was a bit rusty because they’d only just decided to do the duet moments before. lol I remember I became a bit obsessed with this at the time. lol I would sooo love David and Langdon to get together and do a more tighter version.

        After being exposed to Langdon at this event, I checked him out and found I really dig his sound. This vid of Langdon’s is fun to watch too…i like the song but the vid tells a neat story. Would love David to do a vid like this sometime in the future… 🙂
        Here… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kLfjhSmvFjM&ob=av2e

    • I agree , i always said that he’s very good to duet without overpowering his partner ….. he make look everybody very good even to Jim Cantiello from MTV lol. 😉

  4. Stopped by my local Deseret Bookstore to pick up the LDS Living magazine and scored an autographed CD as well!

    Peter has posted the most interesting parts of the article. I don’t recall David being so forthright about clashing with the label before.

  5. Re: him signing with another label, I remember him saying that the other labels he spoke with basically wanted the same thing from him, and his answer was “Why would I want to go back to the same situation I was in?” So, yeah….I think that did deter him. Unfortunately.

  6. The article just reemphasizes, to me anyway, my thought that he is just perhaps a tad burnt out by all the internal/external pressures of the business, and is going to take his time to regroup before he gets back into the thick of a head on full bore music career. I get it. Pressure, expectations, deadlines, trying to balance and keep one’s integrity when it seems everyone around you seems to have lost theirs – I get it. I also get how little we really know about what transpires behind the scenes, how much the smiling facade hid/may hide a lot of internal and external push and pull, from all sides. One thing that is for sure about David – If you wait long enough, and are patient enough, he does eventually reveal the truth of the matter. I can’t wait to learn more details of what really went on behind the scenes during the Idol and Jive years. It will put a lot of unanswered questions into context, and provide a fuller picture of what life for him was really like as a big label artist…

    • People were freaking out about the story’s last quote the other day, but when read in context of the text that comes before it I don’t interpret that quote as going on an M at all.

      Also, WEG was not a good fit for David but I hope it does not deter him from signing with a firm again. One reason the HK trip was a pleasure to follow was because it was done and conducted right (and yes, classy and not always by the cheap) by a team of professionals.

      • Yeah, I like his feisty attitude. He’s telling his hometown people that not only is his current path what he needs to be doing, but that God wants him to do it. So back off.

      • Shanny in Australia

        Haha, GG, Freo and Cchalo, I tend to agree with all of you!
        And….I think he says pretty clearly here that music is his thing. 😉

      • Well, freo, it can be interpreted either way, I think. Guess we’ll find out at the end of the year. But one thing’s for sure…he is one head-strong guy. lol. Which can be both his strength and his downfall. Ngl, though, I like that side of him. lol. And it’s such a contrast to the sweet, innocent smiley guy we see.

      • I suppose you’re right VJ. That quote is pretty suggestive of a mission. I don’t know what else could be surprising personally and professionally and that he hopes people will understand. 😦

  7. Thanks for posting that performance. Man, I love that song. I watched it back when the silence was broken but had forgotten about it. David sure does any of the classics soooooo well.

  8. David is so good at keeping us guessing on the “M” word. You can interpret his answer either way. I do love the “Sounds of Silent” duet with Landon. He is a wonderful duet partner. I really thought he’d have a duet on his last album, but it didn’t happen.

  9. i agree with GG about him being ”a tad burnt out by all the internal/external pressures of the business….” , but is not unexpected, Label are business people in a industry in crisis and i’m pretty sure David case is not an isolate case, many artist had and are having the same experiences, remember Ciara and the rap guy from Jive saying exactly the same about Jive wanting make of them another Rhianna and Lil Wayne …..so look to me that is the path many new artist should walk in order to have success …..so like David they all left Jive to pursuit the real type of artist they want to be …..so i hope all of them find the label that fit their artistic ambitions and persona.

    Still thinking though that Jive and Idol played a big part , not only in a negative way in what he’s today and his current popularity, i mean he is living very comfortable from the process with them , so sometimes i hesitant to celebrate his comments because i find them a little ungrateful? and make his fans react with angry and hated against all this people without to see that in this years something works well for David in comparison to a tons and tons of new artist out there …… so i’m ready to be object of criticism for this unpopular opinion . so hopefully i can find arguments to change my thinking about. :/

    And about the ‘M’ situation , i think is not the first time he answer in this way, ”Is between me and the Lord” he said two years ago ….so like VJ said ( not in this way) , is something that still open to any possibility .

    Oh and Freo, i don’t see why his extremely short relationship with WEG going to prevent him to have a good management, they were part of his life , just because he lacked of rapidity to find one in the year precedent , so his Label did what they should do, to present an alternative, doesn’t work? then move on to another, not the first time this happen to an artist and i seriously doubt he was traumatized for that. .

    • Your opinion about the label isn’t unpopular with me–I agree. I remember a while after Jeff Fenster and the president of Jive left the company, David’s fans were going on and on ragging on the label. I was thinking, “Why complain? Who’s even left to criticize?”

      They were pushing what they knew had the best chance of being successful, but ultimately let David do his own thing. The only double-meaning song I remember, was when he sang “Bubbly” (about sex) and that was his choice.

    • “Still thinking though that Jive and Idol played a big part , not only in a negative way in what he’s today and his current popularity, i mean he is living very comfortable from the process with them” I agree with you on this point tibitibi and your other points. I have always felt that many artists out there would love to have the opportunities that David had. Artists are not happy and change labels and managements all the time. I still don’t understand why David is not making that change right now when he has the options to.

    • Tibitibi, I don’t disagree with you. It’s just that I’ve always heard David state how appreciative he was re. Jive, WEG, Idol, etc. On one hand he’s made a comfortable living; perhaps on the other, the process for making that money was demoralizing. In retrospect, and as an individual who is now 3+ years wiser, I can understand David having mixed feelings.

  10. There’s one thing that bothered me about the article. Well, two things actually, because that last, vague sentence keeps that dang M word alive.

    “I’m not doing this for me.” If this is a direct quote, it sounds like either he’s not enjoying his music career, but feels like he has to pursue it or he can’t allow himself to do anything for his own benefit. He’s then quoted as saying, “You’re supposed to share what you’ve been given. right?” It strikes me that he’s trying to justify a career that he feels guilty about. I’m probably over analyzing this, but that first quote really jumped out at me when I read it.

    • You’re saying he feels guilty for pursuing the talent that he’s been given, as opposed to going on the mission that everyone expected of him? Yes, very likely. I think because of the expectations placed on him, he has to justify his choice, and doesn’t want to give the impression that it’s for his own benefit.

    • David’s quote: “I’m not doing this for myself.”

      Influenced by the fan letters he’s received, his interactions with kids from make-a-wish, etc., i think David is pursuing meaning in his life amid social pressures to conform to something else.

    • I think that quote is consistent with what he has said in his book- that he believes his talent is God given and he has a responsibility to use as God ( or Heavenly Father) intends.

      In my mind, it was “To whom much is given, much will be expected”. However, the statement does drive home something IMO. We know David is modest by nature, not one to boast or brag. It has probably been a real dilemma to come to terms with the enormous praise, screaming fans etc because he probably feels a bit like- Well it is not like I cured cancer, or rescued someone from a burning car. Add to it the ego driven, self centered show business- I would imagine it has been challenging to have a foot in two worlds.

      It does seem over time he is starting to believe there are other ways to save a life- and while he may never be comfortable with the fame side of things having the opportunity of doing good works & charity things certainly must help offset the challenges

      • I know that he feels that he’s doing what Heavenly Father wants of him, but he should also be doing this for himself. There’s nothing wrong with that, and there’s nothing wrong in admitting that. You can pursue meaning in your life, dedicate yourself to the Lord, but do things just for yourself and your benefit without feeling guilty. idk, it’s just unsettling to hear him say “I’m not doing this for myself.”

      • He probably does feel guilty–not that he should at all–but if his way of giving back involves traveling the world, meeting talented famous people, staying at luxury hotels, and as rae says, enormous praise and screaming fans, that could make anyone with a conscience feel unworthy.

        Meanwhile, his missionary peers are having hundreds of doors a week slammed in their faces, to the point that the few hours of service they’re allowed to do, such as painting a house, or digging in someone’s garden, seems like a relief–doing something “normal”.

      • Oh, and contrast his ability to eat at wonderful restaurants all over the world, with basic, or even below basic living conditions and doing all the cooking, shopping, cleaning, laundry, etc. with a very meager budget, that he would otherwise be doing for two years.

      • maybe they’re dozens of other things he’s doing for self gratification or maybe he meant to say that he’s not doing music solely for himself.

  11. Maybe I’ll go back to Deseret Book tomorrow…did I make you look, desertrat? 🙂

    • yep, i looked, lol. now i’ll call out tibi. when i see the name “tibitibi”, i think about a book, “the kon-tiki”. 🙂

  12. Well maybe “Whatever happens in David’s career”, is exactly what you are seeing right now, or a big part of it. He has been showing us his career path now for a few years but perhaps it is still hard to except.

    “David Archuleta Performs At Children’s Miracle Network Hospital Event
    Look To The Stars
    … support of our mission to save and improve the lives of as many children as possible”..

    ‘Missions’ come in many different packages but can each have the exact same intentions and results.

    SB

  13. I don’t believe that David has to justify anything that he does but if he gives further explanations in interviews it is because ‘we’ are somehow asking for it…

    SB

  14. See what MasterClass Lady has to say about the X Factor…..lip syncing evidence!

    The X Factor Lip Synching Competition. Welcome To The Twenty-First Century.

    Have a quick look of Leroy’s epic fail on The X Factor courtesy of one member of the MCL Community, malden.
    And if you need further evidence, check out The Stereo Hogzz survival song below. About 1:11 minutes in, you will strongly notice the presence of back-up vocals – but without the actual singers. All four forgot to bring the microphone up to their mouths

    http://masterclasslady.com/2011/11/05/the-x-factor-lip-synching-competition-welcome-to-the-twenty-first-century/

  15. This is pretty amazing. Kena in many ways reminds me of David, Young, positive, strong fan base cultivated directly by her. The video described below has over a million hits in two days.

  16. Wow……..saw this over on twitter:

    pastelpastel
    The VIP packages for Prince’s show in Toronto are $750, & you don’t get to meet him.

    • Sounds like a ‘Princian’ kind of move, lolol… He’s a true enigma… one that is genius level talented – still a bit of an enigmatic odd duck, nonetheless. He comes across as both extremely shy, and full of a certain hubris… introspective and religious, with a highly developed, unabashed celebration of sexual energy wrapped in the trappings of a humble, going door-to-door Jehovah’s Witness. And he still sells out wherever he plays, still has fans of all ages going crazy over him. I have held onto my MAD love for him, but I’d draw the line at paying that kind of money to see him. And paying it, and not being able to have the option of seeing him? I loves ya baby, but there are limits 🙂

    • *chokes on sandwich*…$750 and you don’t get to meet him??? Pray tell, what DO you get to do? lol.

      • a tee shirt & a good seat, lol

      • Actually this is the full list of what you get for your 750 bucks:

        Each Prince Purple Circle VIP Package includes:
        One intimate table seat on the floor, very close to stage (limited availability)*
        Early entry into the venue
        Specially designed Prince concert shirt
        Limited edition tour lithograph
        Commemorative tour laminate
        Commemorative VIP ticket
        Exclusive tour gift item
        Complimentary drinks
        Crowd-free merchandise shopping
        On-site VIP host

      • And a big sign on your back that says “sucker”.

  17. X Factor UK is entertaining, and Marcus Collins was excellent tonight:

  18. Burkey~ Tks for the list. So that’s basically the same thing we get, minus the guest of honor and minus 500 more bucks. lol.

  19. Prince is a good example why making assumptions about people, w/o knowing a little of what lies behind the mask, the smiles, what you think you know about what has shaped their character or their lives can be shortsighted, and wrong. You can sing about sex, and have a sexy image and still be a child of God. Imagine that. 🙂

    LOL Peter… don’t go offering up any ideas 🙂

  20. He’s young, so much out there for him to learn, to experience, depending on the choices he makes. He’s going to have to just live his life, then hopefully draw something from the wisdom gained he could then impart in his singing and songwriting – to add that extra texture, depth and maturity some feel his songwriting presently lacks. Only time will tell if his life lessons will make their way into his future music…

  21. Someone posted this link from David’s wiki page of David’s website before 2006. I found it really fun to read David’s journal entries from that time period. It was really interesting reading about the New York trip when MIC was taking him to visit labels and the time in LA when David went to the American Idol finale, and the Star Search days.

    http://web.archive.org/web/20050603011440/http://www.davidarchuleta.net/

  22. Shanny in Australia

    GG, I completely agree with you that it is important to look beyond the persona because you very well might find a completely different person underneath. I would only add that the persona an artist portrays is still very much a part of who they are underneath too, just like a book cover is still a part of a book. Sometimes I think artists like to say… ‘It’s just an act, it’s not really who I am’. But I disagree with that because who you really are is a person who finds it acceptable to behave in certain ways in public in the name of entertainment and probably to get a little (or a lot, lol) money and fame. Somewhere within his religious self

    does in the name of entertainment.
    That’s where it seems from all appearances that David is different.

    • Shanny in Australia

      Argh! Sorry, I accidentally hit ‘post’ while trying to edit my comment. That line was meant to say…..
      ”Somewhere within his religious self, Prince obviously finds it acceptable to act and sing the way he does in the name of entertainment.
      That’s where it seems from all appearances that David is different. ”

      • Shanny David may grow into himself.. always felt he has it in him to.

      • Shanny in Australia

        Kim, I think that humans are sexual beings, no matter how they do or don’t express it, so I don’t doubt David has ‘something’ in him. And I absolutely think he will grow and evolve and probably even be comfortable writing love songs one day. I’m just really hesitant to think David will depart so far from his current self that he will become truly edgy. But then..people have done more surprising things before in the history of the world so i’ll (in a JB singing voice, lol)…never say never.

  23. Shanny hmm truly edgy well was more thinking edgy for him.. then what Prince has done with his career or in other words just experiencing more that life has to offer and being able to write and sing about it?

    • Shanny in Australia

      Kim, yeah, I thought that you just meant edgy for David since we’ve kinda discussed it before but since edgy can mean so many different things to so many different people, I just kind of went with ‘truly edgy’ so as to encompass many people’s possible ideas. (since others might read and comment too..?) Especially since we are talking about it, kinda in the context of Prince. lol Sorry for the confusion. 🙂

