David’s Music Mission

I guess it’s not surprising that, every time there is no new music (or no new musical performances for that matter) folks here on Soul David start the hand-wringing.  Yep, Halloween weekend – when I was feeling quite uplifted with all the fun and joviality that surrounded me offline and tried to bring some of that trite fun here, but to no avail.

We’re just waiting for that perpetual shoe to drop:

“David is making covert plans to go on a Mormon Mission!”

“Read between the lines of that interview!”

Whatever! All I can think of, now that David is in Hong Kong to film a music video, is that I’m hoping it features enough of Hong Kong’s urban landscape in the background.  Because, you know, it seems to me that the only mission David’s gearing up for is his musical one.

You know: the one that led us all down the path of involuntary Obsessive David Disorder, aka ODD? 😛

I dunno.  Maybe it’s because I already bought my VIP ticket for David’s Christmas tour, I’m feeling really ZEN right now (especially since it took two years for this alignment to happen between a David tour and a time and location where I could make one).

Maybe it’s because I’ve adjusted my expectations (even if I still have faith in his superstar resurrection down the road. In the words of little Natalie Wood’s character from Miracle on 34th Street: “Faith is believing in something even when common sense tells you not to”).

Maybe it’s because I recognize David is already serving a mission through his music, and the love, kindness, and spirit he inspires has everything to do with HIM and not some church that he belongs to.

I know LDS believers would love to credit their religion, and obviously his faith has influenced his yearning to be a positive role model.  But for every David Archuleta who inspires, there’s a MIC who does the complete opposite for the faith, so, you know, let the average fan draw their own conclusions.

No proselytization needed! Live by example!

And the more David inspires non-Mormons through his example, the less inclined folks will believe that the church is a cult and just another legitimate way to practice Christianity.

Anyway, I don’t really care because, as David once said, his faith is “between him and his God.” I wish more good people (LDS and otherwise) would realize this and just stop all the dang worrying.

If David does disappear for 2 years (versus 4 years at college or something), then I wish him the best and will find another hobby besides blogging, and wait patiently for the comeback that is sure to be fabulous, what with his newfound maturity and time away from the fam.

If he’s still on the scene – albeit below the radar – then as long as vids and mp3s and new pics are available, the journey continues. As always.

Posted on November 1, 2011, in David's career, music. Bookmark the permalink. 101 Comments.

  1. *Thumbs up HG*

    • Thanks, GG! Glad to see you back here! 🙂

      Would love to hear David do a rendition of “Let It Be.”

      • I would love to hear him sing this too. I believe he wanted to sing it on AI but Brooke won the coin toss so she sang it, which makes me want to hear David’s version all the more.

      • A couple of years ago, Brooke White, Benton Paul and Michael Johns were performing in Utah, singing “Let it Be.” David made a surprise appearance and joined in. His soulful voice just kinda took over. Not sure how to embed, but here is a link to one of several videos.

      • Thanks for posting “let it be”; it’s been a long time since I watched it. This was my fav Idol song for Brooke.

  2. Awww, HG. I thought of you last night. I was like, “Here HG made a light Halloween blog, and we’re completely ignoring her & not taking the hint.” lol. I dunno what to say…we’re just naughty fans, I guess. lol.

    Seriously…I’m VERY happy that you’ll be able to see David this year, and even a VIP. Cool beans. 🙂 I wouldn’t recommend rehearsing what to say to him. I tried it, and was so nervous that I came across as a drunkard. David just looked at me like “You are really really strange.” lol.

  3. Yeah, I pretty much gave up on the hints and decided to just hit y’all upside the head today! 😛

    • HG We need your leadership here to guide us in celebrating the Soul music dimensions and other aspects of David Archuleta’s artistry.
      Thank You for hitting “us” upside the head. Can you do this more often?
      It seems no matter how much music and good deeds David does, some will go off on tangents and harmful speculation.

      I too am looking forward to the Christmas tour and enjoying the warm welcome David is getting in Asia.
      I’m enjoying GCT. David has been more productive than anyone else on his season.

      Let it Be for the Win. Thank you GG. Good to see you back.

  4. Shanny in Australia

    Thanks HG. 🙂
    I find the sociological/psychological dynamics of the online fan community endlessly fascinating. Someone needs to do some research into it and produce a thesis. lol
    But I’m with you – pretty zen about David. Sometimes it crosses my mind that maybe i’m a bad fan and I should care about his success more, then I realise…oh I don’t believe in that silly label. lol Actually now that I think about it…maybe i’m pretty zen about his career because my definition of success is probably quite close to his and doesn’t include hit songs,huge fanbases and radio play. Hmmmm….as I said, the whole psychology of it all really intrigues me.

  5. HG – love this post – especially this:

    “And the more David inspires non-Mormons through his example, the less inclined folks will believe that the church is a cult and just another legitimate way to practice Christianity.

    Anyway, I don’t really care because, as David once said, his faith is “between him and his God.” I wish more good people (LDS and otherwise) would realize this and just stop all the dang worrying.

    If David does disappear for 2 years (versus 4 years at college or something), then I wish him the best and will find another hobby besides blogging, and wait patiently for the comeback that is sure to be fabulous, what with his newfound maturity and time away from the fam.”

    For me however this part for me could have a “some” in front of LDS:

    “I know LDS believers would love to credit their religion, and obviously his faith has influenced his yearning to be a positive role model. ”

    I am LDS and was thinking about this the other day, I sort of likened it to when the hometown boy does good, you feel proud that he’s from the same place you are – it’s not that I want to “credit” my religion for David being who he is but proud that he is such a marvelous example associated with my religion – hope that makes sense – that’s how I look at the whole thing anyway –

    But thanks again HG for this post, really great and made me feel so much better this morning. Wish I could express myself as well in writing, but posting on some of these blogs has helped some… I think, haha.

  6. Thanks HG, for the common sense! OK, stop ‘ll stop worrying & just look forward to the concert that is coming up for me in Verona. I am really excited about that.

    33 DAYS BEFORE THE CONCERT! 🙂

  7. WOOT! 34 days for me! Time is sure to fly by and I couldn’t be happier for it!
    HG, your guidance is much appreciated. Our connection to David is different in many ways, although at the end of the day, we just LOVE all that he is! 😉

  8. I just want to add that I love this post too. One of the things I would miss IF David were to go on a mission would be this blog. Well, actually several David fansites that I visit daily. But, I too am going to just “Let it Be”.

  9. Oh, and did everyone hear the good news – David won the “Hot Boy” poll so all is well-lol. There are fans that like to vote on these, but I think most of them have decided to not do it next year. The lesson learned – Q101 is not going to invite David to their Jingle Ball even if he wins all their polss. He needs a label to have a chance to be invited and even that didn’t work last year.

  10. Love the post, HG! I’m ready to move past the worry — just wanted to voice my thoughts because I’d finally gotten a handle on them, myself. I’ve been ridin’ an Elevator lately in terms of all thoughts David. Ready now for the “up” that comes more naturally to me.

    And I’m glad David won even if it means that basically a few Q102 listeners and (possibly) more poll takers know about it. US radio is so messed up. Not sure how they can turn things around, but for now, they have to stick with the handful of hyped singers every other station plays and supports.

  11. As I said, it’s his BIg M interview:

    “Some of my decisions – both personal and professional – will be surprising to people in the future.”

    Things that make you go M — sans handwringing, though. Whatever, David.

    Let us know if and when there will be new music.

    • I could not agree more Peter, “Whatever, David. “

    • yeah, we sort of stopped talking about the “M’ word, but FOD is finally discussing it.

      “whatever David” is right…

      • Just gotta say – if it is to be I’d much prefer to think – “Let it be” rather than “Trust the Archuleta”.
        He needs to do his thing – whatever it may be – but i’ll sure miss the blogging aspect of fan life.

      • u never stopped some of you love the handwringing. david said music is his mission, but why let facts stand in the way of angst?

    • “Some of my decisions – both personal and professional – will be surprising to people in the future.”

      He can’t be more vague lol. The last time he tweeted about “decisions” he left his label and his management… Maybe he’s trying to say that he’ll form a duo with Sunny and that they’ll essentially sing about Angels or that he finally decided to work at the burger place that he tweeted about in the past… With David, we can’t tell for sure what’s in his mind. TBH, I’m kind of tired about the evasive answers and the lack of real infos. But whatever !

      Also, when he said “surprising to people”, is he talking about people in general or about those who are supposed to read the magazine ?

      • from a fan at FOD

        The 2 paragraph before says:
        As a 20-year-old LDS man, Archuleta is often scrutinized or criticized for living a less traditional life and for not currently serving a full-time mission. But Archuleta has unshakable faith in his ability to know what his path is.
        “People will always have their opinions about my life, but I know what I need to do and what I don’t need to do,” he says. “I think about how decisions are going to affect me and affect other people, [and I am always seeking to know] how I can be the most usefule in my life. Sometimes the answer doesn’t make sense until later, or sometimes it may not make sense to other people, but I try to listen to the feeling I’ve always felt. Sometimes it can be scary, but I’ve learned to trust it.”

      • lol cmoi. The duo with Sunny. That is so funny. Someone basically tweeted the whole article on twitter. Who knows what it all means for sure but I guess we will know soon.

      • yeah, just like there’s The Civil Wars, they’re going to form The Civil Angels. I heard that they are writing together some great songs all inspired by Sunny’s tweets lol

      • “The Civil Angels”. lol

      • Are the Civil Angels a trio that includes a trumpet player? 😉

    • Saw an excerpt of the article with the previous 2 paragraphs to that statement. Putting it in more context makes it sound to me like he’s continuing on the his own path–which has always been music. They point out the pressure he’s under to do a mission and call his life “less traditional” than a typical 20-year old LDS man.

      It sounds like he’s walking a tightrope between the two worlds–Mormon and non-Mormon. He’s vague, because to rule out a mission would make a lot of the Mormon fans unhappy. Being unclear keeps both sides from being too upset.

  12. Hello FOD!

    This is a group card for Hooked who unexpectedly lost her husband. She is a great fan of David. I met her in San Diego for the Del Mar concert, she was at Motab, and more recently in Arizona. She’s also Silverfox sister.

    http://www.groupcard.com/c/m0YplTvV-_w/&utm_campaign=new_card&ec=HmN6NW61NjG

  13. Sorry HG!

    That’s what I get for copying and pasting!!

  14. i read that david is taking a music break!?!?.

  15. man! a lot of fans are piss at david. i doubt it that he going on a mission, i think he just want to spend time with a someone specia, maybe charice because she just said that she is taking a break herself but be back in the music scene next year, all sudden he says this when charice father died??? just saying

    • idolfan I actually like your speculation on this. At least it is not about religion. lol Maybe you are right. Who knows at this point.

      • marie,i cannot believe david saying this right now when he have a chirstmas tour coming up!!!?? not a very smart move on david to says that, maybe after the tour, he could have say. i wouldnt be surpised of any of his fans showed up at his concerts now!?

    • If you’re talking about the LSD interview, I think he did it before the news about Charice and her dad.
      Also, I don’t understand why David would take a music break because of what happened to Charice’s father ? I know it’s tragic and that she’s a friend of David but I don’t see the relation with his music career ?!
      But I applaud you for always trying to find a “logical” link between Charice’s decisions/schedule and David’s alleged actions 🙂

  16. And, idolfan, where did you read that David was taking a music break? Sheesh!!! Did you just make that up???

  17. marie, i mean who knows again, i mean charice says yesturday that she taking a break from music now david says, he is doing the same thing today interview, very fishy there. i think it had to do lot with charice why he is taking a break rom music, want to spend more time with her and no fans, no music and no twitters and just have a lot more private time with her. just sayng.

  18. Anyway, I didn’t read/hear that he said that.

  19. now i am confused , i thought the fans on twitters are talking about the interview he did in hong kong today???

    • That’s news to me. Maybe I missed something. Mostly they are talking about the interview he did for LDS Living magazine. He does not say he is taking a break from music in that magazine interview. He very well might be, but he doesn’t say he is.

  20. fans are saying that he is taking a break, it on twitters and fansofdavid website?? i am wrong or not here??

    • idolfan, they are talking about the magazine interview and not an interview in Hong Kong. People are just speculating about whether he was going on a mission or not. He didn’t say anything about taking a break from music. Nor did he say anything about going on a mission. Just speculation.

      • mango,maybe that it, idk i just got home because i just saw on his fans twitters that he is taking a break?? i thought it david says in hong kong interview or something??

  21. if david is not taking a break than why fans are saying it??? fans on twitters and fansofdavid, they are confusing me now???

  22. lol…he’s been taking a break for a year….

  23. Sometimes, at the worst of times or during the most confusing times you people are very funny! It helps to get us over the usual state of the unknown…well that sounds as confusing as it all is.

    Anyway, you made me laugh and that is a big accomplishment right about now…

    idolfan, I don’t know, she breaks the ice and then we say…what is she talking about??? Good for you idolfan, you are a stress reliever I think!!

    SB

    • sandybeaches, (laughing) i am stress relieve and break the ice comments, that is funny, you know what i am still confused right now?? i come home than all the sudden i read on twitters that david is a taking a break from music, i was like huh???.

    • glad she makes you laugh..i just want to hit a wall;

  24. now david just tweeted that he is doing interviews today, my lordy!.

  25. Some fans are worrying that he might be going on a mission based on a piece of an article that was posted on Twitter. More of the article was posted later, which helped to clarify. The extended explanation made it seem very much as if David understands that he reaches people through his music. I’m thinking he’s moving forward with the plans he’s told us about — to write and share his music.

  26. kathyH, oh now i get it, thank you for letting me know more information, now i am not confused (laughing).

    a question here: i thought guys who are LDS go on a mission when they are 21 years old????

  27. Think there’s a window starting at 19 and extending to 25? Could EASILY be wrong.

    • by article, maybe david is going on a mission but i doubt it thought. i mean if david is going, i don’t think he will let his fans know that he is leaving, just keep it private himself, well i hope he does thought??.

  28. David Archuleta will “Make a Difference” for children battling cancer, as he joins fellow FOX’s American Idol alumni David Cook and Constantine Maroulis for a star-studded concert at Ronald McDonald House® New York on Tuesday, November 8th.

    http://davidarc​huleta.com/home​/?p=2224

  29. Burkey, you beat me to the news about David performing with David Cook. David is certainly not on a break now. His schedule is getting to be jam packed!

  30. LMBO! Idolfan, I have tears from laughing at your comments and the responses! Your starting to grow on me. 8)

    Dashed awkward about David taking a break from music. Now what am I supposed to do with these 3 tickets I bought for his tour in 30 days?

  31. idolfan

    you are hilarious!!! bwahahahahahhhh

  32. HG – Great post – I gave up wringing my hands a few weeks ago. Whatever happens will happen and we will deal with it.

    PS – When I first came and saw that “David in the Buddha” picture I thought Rascal had shown up 😉 LOL

  33. Idolfan makes me say “Who’s on first?” 🙂

  34. ”Yep, Halloween weekend – when I was feeling quite uplifted with all the fun and joviality that surrounded me offline and tried to bring some of that trite fun here, but to no avail”

    lol, well HG the ‘Mission’ discussion was the most haunting way to celebrate Halloween in this fandom ….since is the subject that still causing fears on his fans, and looks like today is not the exception . 😉

    Be worry means interest, and that’s gonna happen from times at times until some real fact or new about come out …… when is the question?

  35. It seems I’m still not tired of this subject, as I sit here with our puppy sleeping in my lap….. but please forgive me if I’m stating the obvious.

    David’s passion has always been music, and through a combination of a good upbringing and a loving disposition, he wants to pursue it in a way to benefit many people. Without the expectation from his particular church of giving back in one particular way–a mission, I don’t think he’d have the slightest desire to interrupt his own way of doing good in the world, to go door to door.

    Even though only 30% of LDS 20-year-olds serve a mission, 80-90% of active LDS young men serve. So the expectations from his culture must be very high. But it’s an opportunity for more typical young people to expand their horizons that David is far beyond–in terms of getting out in the world and of serving people.

    From what I’ve read, a mission is hard work, and the training is hardcore sales tactics. They’re under strong pressure from leaders to teach and baptize as many people as they can–and to come up with creative ways to attract people, much like anyone in sales or advertizing. One missionary said they decided to go around to all of their neighbors and borrow things as a way of making an opening to proselytize to them. Or they’ll teach English classes in a foreign country to attract interest. Keeping complete records and meeting specific and difficult weekly goals are also a big part of it.

    To those who say that David might want to go on a mission as a break from the pressures of the music business–I say research it–it makes the music business look like a walk in the park. It’s not all that rare for missionaries not to complete a mission, or even to come home with PTSD or lifelong health issues.

    This is probably just my bias, but I don’t buy it when people say that it’s pressure from the fans keeping him from realizing his heart’s desire of serving a mission. This recent interview strengthens my opinion. And again, it made me realize that the pressure from his own people TO serve a mission is probably just as strong as from most of his fans NOT to serve–so he is being intentionally vague–so as not to disappoint either side.

    • Well whatever decision he takes is not because his fans, that is my latest opinion about, i guess he has his own advisers to make clear his mind, and a all community reminding him the way should be, so of course is his right to decide what to do with his life in the same way is our right to have an opinion about the way that decision can affect the public side of his life , his singing career. That doesn’t make of us the ‘managers pretenders’, or ‘pseudo moms’ or ‘personal guides’ ….that is a little exaggerated like description for something that is perfectly normal and expected to happen at this point : His fans expressing their thoughts and worries about his artistic futur , i mean seriously , is not that abnormal, right? 😐 ….. yeah maybe the over analyzing exercise can take us to a more profound and for someones dangerous discussion, but i guess HG is well controlling the situation 🙂

    • David has only shown complete respect and appreciation to his fans, no judgment, no disappointment, no demands or expectations, never pushing his thoughts or beliefs on anyone, working tirelessly to give us music and hear his voice, and at such a young age while being pulled in so many directions…wouldn’t it be awesome if we could return the favor.

      Being an LDS fan, I tire of the blanket statements made about his religion and the never-ending angst over the mission question (thanks HG for encouraging us to “shift gears” a bit, and yet I feel compelled to add my two bits as the conversation seems to keep surfacing). Can I just say that I have never met anyone in the church who expressed disappointment or criticism of David not serving a mission. Having said that, I know there are some out there. However, all I personally have ever heard is how wonderful he is and how impressed people are with him and all that he does. I, like many who I have spoken with, believe he is serving a powerful mission with his music, and don’t believe it is necessary for him to serve a 2 year full-time mission. However, being the parent of two missionaries, and seeing the amazing growth they experience, and the incredible experiences they have had, and their increased capacity to love and serve and see life with a much broader perspective…I would also be happy for David if he chose that path as well. Like he said, “It’s between him and God.” I can’t think of a better adviser.

      And when I hear people talking about “the pressure from his own people” , I truly feel the pressure comes more so from David himself deciding what the best path is for him to take.

      • Several LDS fans here have said similar things, that no, no, there isn’t pressure to serve a mission, and I had pretty much accepted that idea. But this is stated in the LDS Living article: “As a 20-year-old LDS man, Archuleta is often scrutinized or criticized for living a less traditional life and for not currently serving a full-time mission.” That’s pretty much an inside source, to me.

  36. “Some of my decisions – both personal and professional – will be surprising to people in the future.”

    Oh Boy!! Lol, i have hard time thinking in something that can surprise me like decision :/

    – A duet with Sunny like someone suggested , is not that surprising
    – A relationship with Charice neither, since the lovely and creative Idolfan spamming us in a regular basis with this theory , actually i’ll be happy for Idolfan.
    – Him going in Mission had been over-speculated already

    So i have not idea, but i can tell that my worries are slowly evolving in a funny feeling of adventure and expectation ….like ‘what is gonna happen with the lead role of this story? ” …..kind of exciting at this point tbh. 😉

    Like many here are saying to day , ”Whatever, David”

    ”Joymus Says:
    November 1, 2011 at 6:34 pm
    Just gotta say – if it is to be I’d much prefer to think – “Let it be” rather than “Trust the Archuleta”

    Yeah !! i agree 🙂

  37. I am with Marlie above. TBH, I am tired of the angst and online rumors regarding M. The interview was vague, but an interesting read. He reminds me a lot of the 20-year-olds that I meet in my job in many ways.

  38. The magazine spot does not surprise me; probably part of MOTAB contractual stuff, as are the Deseret signings.

  39. I’m with tibi – “So i have no idea, but i can tell that my worries are slowly evolving in a funny feeling of adventure and expectation ….like ‘what is gonna happen with the lead role of this story? ” …..kind of exciting at this point tbh.”

    David’s life from AI on has read like a mystery. I am never sure what is going to happen next.

    • Shanny in Australia

      Haha, yeah I’ve always said this fandom thing was an adventure. Never know where it will take us next! lol I’m with you Tibitibi and Grammyj. 🙂

  40. i am sorry everyone that i was so confused about today. have a goodnite

    idolfan

  41. David seems really happy lately. JMO… nite all!

  42. BTW, JULEE, i just want to let you know, that i thought on you all day long since yesterday, because i have the feeling you feel our worries are and sort of strong resistance to all the aspect of your beliefs ….so let me know when you come back to ,… i would say complete my statement about, to make the peace and clarify that part. 🙂

    G’night

  43. HG, it looks like everyone found that “trite fun” up thread – “mission” accomplished.

    I am now enjoying my new mantra, “Whatever David.” It’s quite liberating.

  44. am i the only soul davider awake right now? 🙂 david is singing wait, wait, wait don’t go – acoustic – now!!!

    http://events.casbaa.com/front/template/convention2011/external/webcast/

  45. Acoustic “Wait”

  46. “Wait” is exquisite! Something new for the fan to spazzz over lol

    This is another of my favourite, “Everyone wants to rule the World” !

    http://www.youtube.com/user/westlifeshialabeouf#p/u/5/fOfsXgPpRLE

  47. It is really absurd to read about the people who know so much about David yet do not understand the work that he is doing around the world and the difficulties he encounters to get there and do that. For anyone who wants to have an opinion on what his future should be, well it is a good exercise in writing I suppose.

    I said to him a year ago, “David you have been blessed as we see when you perform” and he said, “not everyone sees it that way”…
    whether you are LDS or any other religion or of no religion at all, perhaps we can surely just say “Bravo David, well done.”

    SB

