If the Rumors are True…

And David performs with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir for an NBC Special relating to the 10th anniversary of September 11, please take this poll!

Also, don’t forget to order your David and MoTAB DVD/CD! And, yes, order again when PBS sells it during one of their pledge drives (which they most likely will do when they air the concert during the holiday season).

Posted on August 20, 2011, in appearances, performance. Bookmark the permalink. 46 Comments.

  1. I voted “Amazing Grace”. I’ve wanted to hear D sing the song in its entirety ever since seeing this clip of him with the Osmonds 2nd Generation.

  2. Amazing Grace would be awesome! 🙂

    I see no one has picked “Imagine” so far.

    In other news, check out this article about Carlos Santana calling the Grammys “racist”:
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/08/18/carlos-santana-calls-grammy-academy-racist_n_930620.html

    • I like Santana’s music but I don’t fully agree with him on this issue. The quote below is from the Grammy website. I think they frequently honor trends and popularity (hip hop, country, pop and rock) over “proficiency” and “excellence”.

      “The GRAMMYs are the only peer-presented award to honor artistic achievement, technical proficiency and overall excellence in the recording industry, without regard to album sales or chart position.”

      http://www.grammy.org/recording-academy

  3. I have always been a big fan of Carlos Santana. I hope the David can work with him one day.

    • I’m a fan too and I would love a Carlos Santana/David collaboration ! (not only because he’s a talented and recognized artist but also because he can bring so much to David musically)

  4. “Be Still My Soul” or Amazing Grace” would be awesome, but any song would be great. Maybe he can surprise us with a song he has never sung. I hope this rumor is true !

    I always thought that the Grammys are all about politics, even more after the JB nominations. For me, the Grammys now are just like any other awards show. Their “prestige” is not the same as before. That’s what happens when music is considered more as a business (like any other one) than as art. But I would LOVE to see David winning one (or several) in the future (yes, I’m a little hypocritical lol).
    That being said, I’m not sure that I would call them racist like Santana did, even if I understand his points and I agree with them.

  5. “Be Still My Soul” at the Rexburg show

    I love how you can feel his emotions in this video. He makes it so easy to connect with him and the song when he sings !

  6. I think when JB was nominated for best new artist that did me in as far as any respect for the Grammys. At least he did not win it.

  7. I hope the rumors are true, will be nice if David can participate in this event with a song, a little speech , with the choir or not …will be an honor in any case.
    Now about the song i guess a patriotic song or Amazing Grace can give the right feeling that the event require .

  8. I think it would be neat to have a clip of David singing God Bless America as a young boy to the Fireman in New York one year after 9/11 and a medley now kind of like he did for SOF.
    sorry,I don’t know how to attach the You tubes.
    Of course singing in front of the MoTab choir would be great too!

    • Or in a second thought , maybe is the MoTab who was invited and not David, the lady on twitter said that she meet David back stage and that same day David was signing the booklet of the CD #justaguess.

      • She was the makeup lady. Do you think she put makeup on David backstage for nothing. Or did she bump into him backstage in another building from where he was signing.
        Time will tell. Still would like to see a clip of Young David singing to the Fireman post 9/11

      • I think you might be right on your guess but who knows.

      • lol Heidijoy IDK ??? it was just MY guess based in one tweet that say : ” Any David Archuleta fans??? It’s official–he’s a cutie, just said hi to him back stage” , but now that i read the all tweets sequence i probably retake the first theory ‘ Is David the one invited” 😉

  9. …….followed by a current David singing a Patriotic medley like he did @ Stadium of Fire

  10. I’m keeping my fingers crossed !

  11. “Amazing Grace” is wonderful, but I’m not sure how appropriate it would be on the occasion of the 9/11 anniversary on NBC. It’s too Christian. Same with “Be Still My Soul” and possibly “Prayer of the Children”. I hope they would try to choose something more sensitive to all religions, as people of many faiths lost their lives.

    I like “Imagine” for the occasion, but if he were to sing it with the MTC, it would be weird to have an explicitly religious group, co-opt “Imagine” and sing about “no religion too”. (I really didn’t like it when he sang “Imagine”, third verse only, at BYU Rexburg. Or when Jeff said that people joined their church because David sang “Imagine”. Whaatt?)

    A patriotic medley would be best I think, though I voted for “Imagine”, if he were to sing it without the choir.

  12. OT but I was listening to David’s first album during all the day. I forgot how good this album was, even more when you know that he didn’t have a lot of time to record it. Barriers, My Hands, Running, … I particularly love his voice on those songs. I don’t know if it’s because it’s been a while since I listened to his eponymous album but David would have being rewarded for it, or at least for the hit song Crush. I think that listening to his first album made me feel a little nostalgic today.

  13. “Excited to announce that I will NOT be serving a 2 year Mission in Jan because I appreciate my fans and hope that I can serve through music!”

    Is this for real? Somehow I don’t think David would say he’s excited to not serve a mission. I’ve never heard anyone ever say that in all the years I’ve been a member of the LDS church.

    • Ditto ! Puzzled by the excitement !?
      Think his account got hacked!!

    • He’s drunk lol ? totally fake :/

    • raelovingangels

      hmmmm…. I have mixed feelings about it. I was puzzled by the used of the word excited also. I was thinking perhaps he was seriously pondering it these past several months- and came really close to thinking that was what he was going to do- ( MUCH closer than we likely know). I remember reading a rumor about him possbly returning to India for a misson, He likely prayed and thought, took a hike wth nature, and came to a decison. I think the excited is more for the future- than “not serving” the mission. Once you make a decision if you feel it is right, and where God is leading you, there is an excitement.

      • raelovingangels

        sorry, no source on the “India” thing. Can’t even remember where I read it. ( sitting in the corner with Idolfan)

  14. He’s in a Tigres del Norte Concert !!! and his mom is a opener for them? ……. Good Job Lupe 😉 that is the way to progress in a career. 🙂

  15. i don’t think david’s twitter was hacked at all, it sound like david and maybe he was using two different phones from his sisters or his close friends. if it was hacked david would have seen it and deleted it right away. david did mentioned on his twitter a nice meeting yesturday, maybe it had to do with something with LDS Missions?

    • This for sure sounds like it was hacked. David has not ever said anything about his religion or anything like that in his twitter. In addition, He would never say he was excited to not be doing a mission. If the hacker is someone he knows who is just trying to tease him, they are going to lose his trust. David’s tweets reach so many people and he is not going to be happy.

      • raelovingangels

        I will say the “appreciate my fans” sounds a tad off also. Interesting. Regardless, if for example someone with a “C” in their name ( just hypthetically) posted that tweet, I still think it means he was giving the matter some serious thought, Gotta think that Asian tour may have helped hiim realize what we all know. David has a gift for the world to be shared. Maybe now he will get a real manager?

  16. I’m lost, why are some of you saying that MIC talks too much? Has he said something recently?

  17. david had metioned couples of times thinking going on a mission to his fans before and i don’t think it was personal anymore to david. i guess we will have to wait and see what david says on his twitter if was hacked or not? if it was hacked, yeah david would not be a happy camper for sure.

  18. Oh wait he still twitting about?

    @melissad309 Thank you and yes I did give it a lot of thought!
    59 minutes ago

    @MaggieFOD Haha it was a tough decision but I hope everything works out. Back to the concert now!

    So is him? If he is i just hope some LDS fans don’t give him a difficult time, because he sound almost relieve of a pression.

    Now back to the concert ! 🙂

  19. i really don’t know if david twitter was hacked or not but david not going on a mission, i cannot believe he would turned like something like that what was so important to him? it sound like he cares about his fans and his music more than going on a mission. if it true aww david is soo sweet and loves his fans so much!!.

  20. i forgot to post ” turned down”

