Ballad Boy Series: #4

What would David sound like singing this song?

Posted on July 8, 2011, in Soul David Series. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. raelovingangels

    One of my favorite covers David has done-

    • raelovingangels

      lol David just tweeted he went to a Five for Fighting concert, Freaky, I was watching this video earlier & posted it….da, du, da, duh…had no idea..

      • Freaky for me too! I have loved John Ondrasik (FFF) and his songs for a long time (since “Superman”) Just yesterday I was checking his tour schedule to see if he was coming near where I live. Sadly, no, but lucky David! I loved David’s cover of “The Riddle”

  2. This was one of my favorite covers also. David sent a tweet out today that his good buddies “We The Kings” have a new album out. We The Kings are #6 on itunes. Good for them.

  3. Songwriter Lisa Murray tweeted that if we want to know what David went through on his last album, then we should watch Bravo’s show, Platinum Hit. From her tweets it depicts what artists go thru as they work with different songwriters and their A&R rep. It comes on in 30 min. in my area. Has anyone watched it? Is it a good show?

    • raelovingangels

      Yes, I have been watching it. It has been fascinating.

    • raelovingangels

      One of the judges ( not sure if every episode) is/was from Jive, Also, Kara DiGuardio one of the judges also. It has been interesting to me because I have noticed that the songs that I like are not necessarily the ones that get props from the judges.
      The group writing process is interesting. It is a “contest” for aspiring writers.

  4. I thank David for introducing me to Five for Fighting and you can see that he really connected to “The Riddle”. He looks so young with that faux hawk. 🙂

    I’m glad We the Kings are doing well on itunes. Earlier this week one of their songs was offered for free.

  5. No, I haven’t watched Platinum Hit but it does look interesting. I will have to check it out.

  6. I just looked at the the contests for Asian fans on the new David Archuleta site, and I have to say I’m impressed. Both the survey and the Radio promo are great ways to promote David, with a great incentive. Really liking the responsiveness of the admin and the proactive updating of the site.

  7. Watching Platinum Hits, I learned that to make a pop hit, pop songs must be written such that a four-year old can understand and repeat the lyrics. I believe it was Bonnie McKee, songwriter of Katy Perry’s “California Gurls” and “Teenage Dream”. Hmmmm…. she’s probably right.

  8. Just listened to HG’s suggested song… I love this song… was looking for it the other day but didn’t know who sang it. This is exactly the sort of song I wish David would come up with. His voice would really soar on a song like this… and the emotion…

