David’s Interview at BYU

(Thanks for the link, Junnie!)

Posted on June 5, 2011, in interviews. Bookmark the permalink. 38 Comments.

  1. I think the deal is that David WROTE or co-wrote a song that MAY be included on their CD… It’s out on the ASCAP database if one wants to look it up… The duet rumors are a bit premature, I hope beyond hope 🙂

  2. I got time on my hands today – and ya’ll know I like research,
    data and facts 🙂
    ==============================================

    HEYA Work ID: 882755409

    Writers:

    ARCHULETA DAVID
    HORN VICTORIA
    SQUIRE MATTHEW

    Performers:
    BIG TIME RUSH

    -SNIP-

    Publishers/Administrators:

    NOTTING HILL MUSIC (UK) LTD
    C/O SONY/ATV TUNES LLC
    ATTN: LACEY CHEMSAK
    8 MUSIC SQ W
    NASHVILLE, TN, 37203
    Tel. (615) 726-8300

    Email: info@sonyatv.com

    http://www.ascap.com/ace/search.cfm?requesttimeout=300

  3. Liking the relaxed air David has about him in this interview… don’t know what’s been going on behind the scenes in Nashville businesswise, but hoping there has been some forward progress being made that we’ll be hearing about soon…

  4. David talks about Coelho’s “The Alchemist” which is one of my favs too. I just read the text for the Dr. Seuss book he mentions. Both books are about pursuing your destiny regardless while overcoming obstacles. I’m sure David can relate to that message.

    If anyone’s interested, the text for “Oh! The Places You’ll Go”.
    http://www.teamhope.com/seuss.htm

  5. I liked that David made a point of saying that he wasn’t doing country music when he goes to Nashville . He specifically named groups from Nashville that aren’t country. I think he mentioned that Ke$ha, Kings of Leon. and Paramore are all from Nashville. He is right that none of them are country music artists. Good point David.

    • i was glad he made that point too. now that he’s no longer has the pressure from a label, i wonder if he would give new york songwriters a second chance.

      as for Big Time Rush, i’ll have to google them and see who they are. i know jordin sparks did a duet with them about a year ago.

  6. Big Time Rush are Disney stars. I read that Heya was going to be put in a video game. If the song is used anywhere would be great for David as the songwriter.

  7. raelovingangels

    Hey wardrobe watchers…. no jeans. 🙂

    • Rae, this is absolutely off topic 1000% but I just had to tell you…
      On Friday we were driving back from FL to NC from my dad’s memorial service. 8 hour car ride and I had a lot of day dreaming time on my hands when I wasn’t required to drive. I was thinking about the DA fan sites and how great they are and all of the nice folks who participate in them. I started thinking about Soul David and all of the regular, faithful posters. I was ticking the names off in my brain when all of a sudden I thought, “Geez, why can’t I remember the name of the poster with the lion avi? Dang it, what is the name? Oh wait… it’s… RAELOVINGANGELS!!!!” I blurted your name out loud, heh heh!!! Mr. A was like, “Uh, excuse me? What did you just say?” Ha ha! 🙂

      • Jen A – please accept my condolences on the resent loss of your Dad. Will keep you in my thoughts and prayers.

        Hey Rae – *\o/*

      • Jen, I am sorry for your loss.

        I am glad you posted because we are planning to visit your city this summer and I’d love to meet up!

      • raelovingangels

        I am also sorry about your loss. That is sooo funny. One time I called my teen son David.

  8. Raelovingangels, Yeah, I noticed that. Maybe they are like Dockers?

  9. ((HUGS) Jen A…..

  10. hell0g0rge0us

    {{Hugs}} Jen A. You have my condolences.

    • Thank you all very much, I appreciate all the hugs. 66 is too dang young to die. We still needed that man around!!! One day at a time. We have wonderful, happy memories.

      • I am sorry to hear that. I lost my father at age 62 and it was way too young. So envious of folks I know my age who have both of their parents healthy and in older age.

  11. archiesfan4life

    Jen – so very sorry for your loss.

  12. My thoughts go out to all of you facing some type of difficulty in your lives. My personal experience has been that during those times I was my most reflective. So if you’re reflecting, here’s to good thoughts!

    Someone tweeted this an hr ago. WASISHIAN ?? 🙂

    “David Archuleta is at my hotel right now. I will not freak out. I will not freak out…”

  13. Cody Simpson and Bieber may have to step aside. Below, 12-yr old Ronan Parke of Britain’s Got Talent is singing Kelly’s “Because of You”. He finished 2nd. I don’t know if he dances but he has a really nice voice.

  14. I’m sorry for your loss, too, Jen. Yeah, 66 is way too young. 😦 It kind of puts things in perspective for me…My parents, also that age, will be moving to my city in a few weeks. They live 500 miles away. It’ll be a huge adjustment. My mother’s a bit overinvolved & controlling, & neither of them accepts the amount of time I spend on David stuff. Even 15 minutes on the internet upsets them & causes a heck of a fight. Plus, having them here means not having nearly as much time to myself anymore. So I’ve been mourning the fact that I won’t be able to follow David & visit w/ fans like I’ve been doing for 3 yrs.

    But I also know that it’s time for them to come, before they’re physically unable to do it. They’re already slowing down & developing health issues. In some ways, it’ll be nice having them close. We can be there for each other when needed. And when it comes time to take care of them (hopefully not for a loooong time), I won’t have to quit the job that I love to move to their town, where there are no jobs. Doing that, or being far away if there was an emergency, would ALSO make me incredibly sad.

    Sorry, a little TMI, I know. It’s just been on my mind alot. I guess if life seems ideal, it’s best to just enjoy it while ya can.

    • VJ, I hope all works out just fine for you. I don’t mean to come off as presumptuous but it has helped me being able to follow D on my smartphone via twitter, esp. while at work, lol. I don’t know how to post messages using it but I can follow D, all the fansites, and quite a few fans who frequently “retweet” David sightings, new photos, etc.

      • Desertrat- Tks for the idea. I don’t have a smartphone or Twitter, but I’ve been checking some out. Maybe I should stop checking & actually buy one now, huh? lol….Seriously, David and his fans have become such a big part of my life. The thought of having to make it a small part kind of tears me up inside. So I’m hoping it doesn’t come to that.

    • hell0g0rge0us

      Good luck with these arrangements, VJ. I know what that can be like as I had to let my mother live with me last year for a while until she was able to resettle in her own place when she decided to retire. Somehow, I found a way to keep up Soul David, so I’m hoping you’ll keep up with David news the best you can! 🙂

      • HG- Thanks for sharing that info- that’s good to know! 🙂 No idea how you were able to keep up with it all, but I’m glad that you were. Must’ve been a big adjustment for you, too, I’m guessing. I think you deserve a medal or something, lol….so maybe there’s hope for me yet. 🙂

      • hell0g0rge0us

        Fortunately for me, my computer is also in my bedroom, so I found the time to devote to Soul David in my late night hours before bedtime, that’s how I did it when I had my mom living with me.

    • raelovingangels

      You are to be commended for taking care of your parents. Gotta laugh however my dad got connected to the internet late 60’s & over 10 years later he Surfs the net, shops on line, e-mails his relatives, sends jokes, graphics etc… Maybe get them hooked on line on something they are interested in?

      • lol. That is too funny. Sounds like your dad uses the net more than I do, haha. My dad did ask the other day if I could teach him how to use it….hm. However, it’d be helpful if they actually HAD a computer. 🙂 …And I’m not taking care of them yet. Hopefully that’s a long ways down the road. They just like to be involved w/ my life a little more than is necessary sometimes…

  15. Jen I was very sorry to hear of your loss. Hold on to those many wonderful memories. They will help you through your life. (( a big hug ))

  16. It’s been a busy weekend, and alas, I couldn’t squeeze in the BYU signing. I’m guessing he didn’t sing tho and since I’m more of a fan of the voice, rather than a fan of standing in line for an autograph, I’m okay with it.

    I’ve been trying to catch up tonight.

    Jen A, I’m so sorry to hear about your father; it’s tough to lose a parent. I’m glad you have happy memories to look back on. Today is the anniversary of my father’s passing.

    There was some discussion on the previous thread about whether David might have felt pressured to do CFTH. I distinctly remember him saying in an interview that he enjoyed recording CFTH the most out of all 3 albums. I remembered that because I was surprised he hadn’t said TOSOD even though he was more involved in that one. (Of course, now we’ve heard him say that recording TOSOD wasn’t so enjoyable.) Anyway, it doesn’t sound like he was coerced to do CFTH, or if he was, he must have changed his perspective.

  17. I also want to express my condolences to Jen A and GG doorsfan. Some of you might know that I lost my mom to cancer in 2008. She had just turned 49. We all knew it was coming, but I still couldn’t comprehend it actually happening. As I’ll give birth to my first child next month, I could really use my mom right now. But I suppose she’s up there guiding me and the baby.

    • SandyBeaches

      Embe…There is a book called “Motherless Daughters”, and I read it when I was 23 and about to have my first baby in a similar situation. She is always there and you are being guided as you have found yourself a magnificent voice to listen to and you have all else that is with it.

      SB

    • raelovingangels

      oh Embe- I have tears because there is something so special about being a mother and so many things you would want to share and also get advice on. I also lost my mother before I was a mother myself.

  18. ((HUGS EMBE))

  19. I’m sorry Jen A., GG and Embe. Losing a parent, or watching them suffer, is so tough. I’ve been there, too.

    So excited for all of the upcoming David events, and as each day passes I figure we’re closer and closer to knowing a little more about how he’s doing what he’s doing.

  20. It’s been a little over 6 years since my dad passed away at barely 60 years old. It seems like yesterday he was here. I miss him terribly. My condolences to those of you wonderful David fans that have experienced the loss of a parent. Their time on Earth wasn’t near long enough.
    I hope to live my life as respectfully and as happily as I promised my Dad I would do before he was gone.
    My ODD is apparent to very few family members, although David and his music have helped immensely in my goal to keep that promise to my Dad.
    (VJ, I have faith in you. You will find your “ninja-skills” to keep up on all-things-David! ♥)

