Daily Archives: April 25, 2011

The Other Side of David

So, as I’m driving home from visiting family for the Easter weekend, I’ve got my stereo blasting in my car, zipping through the New York thruway, and bopping my head to The Voice.  “Other Side of Down” and “Look Around” are particularly adrenalin-pushing, and three times, I had to really slow down from my 85+ speed when passing by state troopers.

What can I say? David lets me loose (as ironic as that might sound).

And yet, despite the feel-good feel of his last album (TOSOD really didn’t get its due), this past week really showcases how we still ain’t heard nothing yet from The Voice.  Indeed, was David holding back on us these past 3 years?

I mean, I thoroughly enjoyed his debut and sophomore albums, not to mention Christmas from the Heart, but I swear I only heard a hint of what David gave us of late on these albums, with his rendition of Stevie Wonder’s “A Ribbon in the Sky” and his latest Star Spangled Banner.  And let me tell you, just envisioning David at a Prince concert (PRINCE!!! GAH!! I still get goosebumps thinking of that one concert I attended years back when he rose out of a bathtub – just like his “When Doves Cry” video – *fans self* – even if that was a long-ago Prince) simply blows my mind.  David taking in Prince and, of course, getting all excited by Sheila E and Chaka Khan’s “Sweet Thing” put a smile to my face: “Soul David is back!”

Yep, that’s the Soul David I’ve been waiting for.  Who has been all underground on us, post-“Shop Around” with a slight surfacing come “And So It Goes” and a few versions of “Angels” and “Apologize.”  Let me tell ya, dear readers, I’m all hot and bothered by what musical directions David is considering. I mean, he seems so free of late. Musically free!

Can’t wait to hear The New Voice, which is itching for a performance and possibly also for a studio.

With this countdown to a new website in less than a month, will there be a whole new musical journey to go with it?

I suspect there is another side of David he’s itching to reveal to us in this post-Idol, post-Jive era.

Can’t wait! 🙂

