The Promise of Grammys

Tonight is the music industry’s “biggest night” with the latest Grammy Awards. Yes, I’m planning to watch (even if one of the most promising young talents IMO won’t be there tonight, while one of the most tedious young talents will be).

So, I got to thinking: since Grammy Awards are now based on nominating and awarding pop music that was heavily promoted (rather than point the public to overlooked gems),  how might David’s nomination/award prospects have been different if some of his songs from his two album efforts had received radio play?

I’m hopeful that, all in good time, David will get his due, but in the mean time, which songs from his previous albums do you think might have been Grammy-Award/Nomination worthy?

What I’ll be rooting for in tonight’s Grammy Awards:

Jay-Z and Alicia Keys’ “Empire State of Mine” for record of the year, Sade’s “Soldier of Love” for Best R&B Duo/Group Performance, and Janelle Monae’s The Arch Android for Best Contemporary R&B Album and “Tightrope” for Best R&B Performance. Other than that, meh.

Posted on February 13, 2011, in awards, music. Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. I will be rooting to anyone else but JB for Best New Artist. I think Drake has the best chance of winning against him. lol that one of the most tedious young talents will be there .

  2. I love the pic you chose, I thought I saw all David’s photos but I never saw this one.

    I voted for Crush and for TOSOD. I think CFTH is grammy worthy. I don’t know if it was possible to suggest it or if there is a category for it, but everything is great about CFTH : the voice, the emotion, the production, the arrangements, etc … Also, “Senseless” would have been a great choice too, even more when you see what songs are nominated lol

    Apparently you need to be a commercial success in order to be nominated now. I mean, Swift won album of the year. The songs may be good (I’m not a fan at all, I know I’m in the minority considering her sales) but it’s far from being a master piece, IMO.

    • same songs I voted for. 🙂 David should have attended the Grammy’s to be seen and network- in my opnion. Not sure if he does not like that type of event but seems like it is important when building a career.

  3. I’m also pulling for Drake to win best new artist; we’ll see. I noticed D’s pride and joy, “Elevator”, is missing from the list. It’s one of my favs on the album. Compared to many of the songs nominated for Grammys this year, I believe most of David’s songs are worthy of nomination consideration.

    • Forgot about “Elevator”! I guess I thought of some others, which is why I put “Another Track” if you had a different song in mind.

  4. Wow, Janelle Monae was awesome! She did her thing tonight! I hope this brings more attention to her music! 😀

  5. So Kanye tweets this foolishness just a minute ago:

    “NINJAS… YESSSSS!!!!!!!”

    Whatever…

  6. Hmmm, Usher and “Jayden” Smith are trending on twitter but the Bieber isn’t? Interesting.

  7. OK, allow me a moment to just … Squeeee!!!

    My second favorite Idol alumni, following right behind David, Melinda Doolittle tweeted me back:

    “mdoolittle Melinda Doolittle
    @ @hello_g0rge0us Most definitely!”

    This was in response to Ezperanza Spalding winning Best New Artist.

    I haven’t had so much fun watching the Grammys live. Following it while tweeting is the best! You never know who’s going to send you tweets! 😀

  8. Hi Everyone!
    Just wanted to let you know that once again I will have the pleasure of backing Andrea Bocelli with my chorale group – Master Chorale of South Florida as he performs his Valentine’s Day concert in Ft. Lauderdale. It is an honor and a privilege for this small island girl to be so blessed with such opportunities in this great country. I am also lucky that I can then share those experiences with this e-family that appreciates fine music so much regardless of the genre.
    I too express my hope that one day David will get his moment to shine for a respected body of work, as opposed to “heavily promoted songs”.

    • Wow, that’s awesome! One day your chorale group will be able to back up the likes of David Archuleta! 🙂

      Now excuse me while I go look up this Esperanza Spalding, now that Melinda Doolittle directly implored me to. 😆

      • HG – Thank You!
        I was following right after you on youtube to check out this Best New Artist LOL!. WOW! I am definitely going to get her album. There’s also quite a debate about her winning over Beab on the YT – ES Grooves. YESS!!!

      • I need to get her album too! Wow, the Grammys really pulled out some WTF moments tonight! haha!

        I wonder if this is their attempt to make up for Taylor Swift winning every award she was up for last year.

        I’m still loving the huge upset Esperanza pulled over the Bieber! 😀

  9. Kanye West’s latest tweet:

    “Kanye West
    Damn… I can’t find the words to explain how I feel about the best new artist award… Don’t wanna say the wrong thing”

    😆

    Bet he’s regretting that he backed the wrong horse!

    • I’m shocked at his restraint. who was he backing?

      • Well, I thought he was backing the Bieber, but his latest tweet after Album of the Year has me rethinking this conceit:

        “#Arcade fire!!!!!!!!!! There is hope!!! I feel like we all won when something like this happens! FUCKING AWESOME!”

        Hmmm, sounds like he’s glad that the Grammys made unconventional choices in the awards, so maybe he was pleasantly surprised that Esperanza Spalding won Best New Artist since he’s elated that Arcade Fire took the grand prize?

        Or maybe he’s just glad that this win represents that full 180 that the Grammys did from last year when TS won.

