Daily Archives: June 3, 2010

More Davidisms

On NOT winning American Idol (spoiler alert):

“I made it so much farther than I thought I was going to, and I got to have a musical experience second to none, so at the end of the day, how could I not be completely happy?  But because we live in such a competitive world, I think people have a hard time understanding that.  I keep trying to explain that the whole thing for me was essentially about being given the chance to share music with others, because that’s one of the things in life that makes me happiest.  That’s why I tried out to begin with.  Everything else was icing on the cake” (page 146).

(As someone who was completely bummed out when David didn’t win, I needed to read this.)

On the Challenges of Songwriting:

“Maybe it’s because I am still young and have a lot to learn about music and life, but I have always found it easier to slip into the sentiment of a song as opposed to trying to come up with it myself” (page 165).

Or, maybe, sweetie, you ARE the gifted SINGER I know you to be instead of some songwriter your record label is forcing you to be. Keep slipping right into those sentiments. It’s what you do best! :)

(Just some quick “Davidisms” before I head out for the rest of the day.)