Daily Archives: May 24, 2010

David Archuleta: The Calming Effect

For the first time ever, I had a panic attack last night. I don’t know where it came from.  I must have been having a nightmare. I had woken up in the middle of the night from a dream I couldn’t recall.

All I know was my heart was pounding.  I was waiting for my heart rate to get back to normal, but it would not.  My heart kept pounding for a good 20 minutes! I’ve never had that feeling before! And the more it was pounding, the more panicked I became, the more I had trouble breathing and starting to feel like I was on the verge of a heart attack or something.  I had to call a friend, who talked me through my panic.  I focused on a part of a room and took deep breaths. And the more I focused, my heart rate started to get back to normal.

After that experience, I could not sleep, so fearful was I to have that experience again. But once I realized I needed to remain calm, I decided to do what I could.  Sure enough, I felt my heart rate going up again.  So, it dawned on me: Listening to David keeps me calm!

Well, to keep myself calm last night, I shuffled all David’s songs from my ipod and listened to them in an effort to calm myself down.  It worked! I have to agree with the McFlys, who thought that “talking to David is like doing yoga.”  Well, I didn’t have another attack. In fact, these are the songs that really kept me at peace until I fell asleep.  This particular order of songs really worked their magic:

1. “Angels”
2. “Joy to the World.”
3. “The First Noel.”
4. “Somebody Out There.”
5. “Waiting for Yesterday.”

I don’t remember what came after WFY because I fell asleep.  Something about drifting off to the words and that Voice saying: “I’m the one for you tonight / I’m the one for you forever / If it takes a little time…(whatever it takes, whatever it takes)”

I once said David was a Heart Soother, not a Heart Breaker, and he needs to be marketed as such.  After last night, I’m convinced!  I now mean that literally! 🙂

Thank you, David, for soothing my heart.