David’s Solo Part in Somos El Mundo

So, it looks like David has a solo in the Spanish version of “We Are the World” (Yay! Then again, how could he NOT?).

Next phase in speculation: which part does he get to sing? I hope he gets his idol Michael Jackson’s part (or maybe even Stevie Wonder’s!).

Hope this rendition is much better than the We are the World 25 for Haiti version! 🙂

Posted on February 22, 2010, in music. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Since producer Quincy Jones has been involved with the WOTW re-make and now with this Spanish-language version (along with Emilio Estefan) – I’m ‘speculating’ that the Spanish version will look more like the newer English-language version than the older one.

    In the new English-language version, all of the solos are very brief. Janet Jackson had the honor of singing along with the Michael Jackson part. So, I’m prepared for David to have a small solo in the Spanish-language version. I’ll be thrilled if he has more than a brief solo, and, I’m proud that he has any kind of solo since it is a strong line-up of popular, established, Latino artists.

  2. I’m thrilled just knowing that he’s a part of this and that he met so many wonderful artists. With Carlos Santana on guitar, a few seconds of David, and the appearance of Luis Fonsi :-), I expect this song will blow us away. I hope they sell a video version.

    As an FYI, Larios, the restaurant D tweeted about, is partially owned by the Estefan’s.

  3. on Fans of David they have the audio of David’s performance last night.
    Jwipe was there. Gah… the introduction by E-man is SO sweet and what David says ” cause I love these guys” so touching. For some reason listening to this gets me all emo… takes me back to the relase of Crush and somehow it feels like a circle has been completed. David seems to be firmly on his way and getting so much respect from people in the industry. I stopped worrying about his career some time back. But now, I just feel a sense of pride, like when my son does good in a baseball game.

  4. There was a funny tweet last nite about when he sang grown men screamed like 14 years old girls. 🙂 hey~

    • Speaking of garnering respect from people in the industry, how about this tweet:

      @finatikNzac: @DavidArchie Hey David, We just worked w/ Jackie Boyz 2day, they had gr8 things 2 say abt U, we’d luv 2 work w/ U sometime.
      about 2 hours ago via TweetDeck

    • I can relate…

  5. Bright_Light I am thinking the same as you:

    ” Since producer Quincy Jones has been involved with the WOTW re-make and now with this Spanish-language version (along with Emilio Estefan) – I’m ’speculating’ that the Spanish version will look more like the newer English-language version than the older one.”

    Even if they have brief solo parts, if they can manage to get people on there who can actually sing half the battle is won. I am sorry to say I did not enjoy the vocals on the remake except with a few exceptions. The second part of the challenge is to get it to flow and sound sincere and heartfelt.

    I saw the lyrics for SOMOS EL MUNDO and for me if they can inject any emotion into their vocals the words in Spanish will take them a long way. Just my opinion. I am giddy with anticipation to see how this version will be received in the international community.

