23 comments on “Les Miserables

  1. I can’t wait to see Les Miserables, the movie. Loved the play. Thank you Hg for making me even more excited to see the movie.

  2. I lurk here everyday and always love your David articles. Thank you for still being here.

    I highly recommend Les Mis the film too and have seen it twice already. (and seen the staged production 3 times). Empty Chairs At Empty Tables is also my favourite song from the film and like you, cried huge tears right through it. Listening to the soundtrack now is still sending waves of goosebumps through my knees.

    I agree with you that David should be part of an epic musical like Les Mis, and having him in the part of Marius would send me straight to heaven.

  3. Loooooved Les Miz. There has been alot of talk about the singing abilities of some members of the cast and while I agree with the truth of that, it didn’t take away from the emotion of the movie for me at all. Already being familiar with the story, I did not expect to be as moved by the movie and certain scenes as I was. Altogether a very enjoyable and soggy experience! lol.

    I, too, would dearly love to see David play the part of Marius. I might be slightly biased ;)

    I also really enjoyed Lincoln and Pitch Perfect. Two disparate movies but time well spent nonetheless!

  4. I’m looking forward to going to Les Miz as I haven’t had a chance to go yet.

    I’m glad that David did leave us two albums and four music videos since leaving on his Mission. I hope he continues to make lots of music when he comes back. If he is never a big star but is able to record, I will be happy. It’s really, really hard to have a big career in music these days, but I’m sure if anon could manage David his career would skyrocket because anon would know exactly what David should do.

    • lol grammyj. I am actually really surprised at all that David has left us and I do not think that he has been forgotten in any way by people in the music business. Careers ebb and flow and different opportunities arise but most people do not have the true depth of musical talent and charisma that David has and whether or not he ever becomes a “superstar” I do not doubt that he will be able to support himself and have a lifetime career in music. Even while he is gone his twitter followers continue to quietly increase from 50-400 every single day. In fact, whenever he is in the media in any way, it goes up around 400-600/day which is about what people still getting more media attention like Scotty McCreery and phillip phillips see in their daily increases. It will be interesting to watch their twitter numbers during Idol when they should all spike.

      • So why aren’t these folks buying his music? What is the purpose of having millions of twitter followers and millions of likes on FB when you are a singer if your last album sells approximately 25k in the U.S.? It hasn’t gone gold in any Asian countries either or I’m sure they would’ve announced it.

        I, too, would love to see David get a musical movie role. That’s one of the things I was saying on the last thread. The last good movie I have seen is…dunno.

      • Anon, unfortunately that is the state of the music industry for most artists. Sales are dismal except for a very few and those artists would have sold more also before digital music came about. Most albums released in the U.S. sell less than 10,000 units. Also, David was not in the country to promote the album and it was released on a small, independent label with very limited marketing. Unfortunately twitter followers don’t mean that much and not all David’s twitter followers are fans.

  5. I have not seen Les Miz yet but I am looking forward to it. I would love to see David play the part of Marius. Adam Lambert gave quite the interesting critique of Les Miz on twitter. It created some controversy which I am sure Adam did not mind. lol. I agree with you Ali. I liked Lincoln and Pitch Perfect too. I would add Flight to that list.

    • I think that AL was just upset that he wasn’t asked to be part of Les Mis the movie, lol. Don’t care for his music, but he does know how to sing, so therefore knows good singing from bad…..got to give him props…got him a lot of buzz…I think he has a show call Divas coming up soon, don’t know what channel, but I’m sure he will be out there trying to get buzz for that show.

  6. I’m looking forward to seeing Les Mis, too. I loved the stage performance and the music was spectacular. In the past few weeks I’ve seen Lincoln …which was wonderful with stellar acting….and Life of Pi….thought provoking and visually stunning.

  7. I just saw Silver Linings Playbook and I just loved it. Went to see it Friday afternoon all by myself to take advantage of the “Young at Heart” pricing and just Wow. I talked my husband into going on Saturday. He’s pretty picky about his romance/comedy type movies and this one involves some mental health issues. He works in that field and typically movies play social workers, police officers in a poor light. Well that doesn’t happen here. The story shows respect for each character and the acting is stand out. It’s touching and funny and sweet without being syrupy. I think most people would like it and my husband said it was a big hit for him!
    Haven’t seen Les Mis yet and I don’t know that I will. I think it’s such a powerful story and I don’t know if I could tolerate it that close up. I need the space of the theater for that. My daughter (aged 17) saw it and said it was hard to watch and when I asked why?, she said it was so sad. I kind of know I’d be a basket case.

    • goodkarmaseeker, I know what you mean about hard movie to see. The one movie that I cried from the beginning to the end was Schindler’s List. I will never regret seeing it, but I can’t bring myself to see it again, what a phenomenally powerful movie.

  8. Going to see Les Mis today for the second time. Last time, on Christmas day, I felt as if I might go into loud sobs. (LOL) Hoping that this time I can keep it to tears. Very emotional story, and I enjoyed this movie version. I’d love to see David sometime play Marius, also.

  9. Saw Les Mis this past week too. Yes Would love to see/hear David play Marius. Such an emottional song :(
    Couldn’t help but think of six year old David seeing Les Mis Video and how he took on various parts and sang his heart out. Amazing to me. Going back to read COS.
    Think the Movie was great. The Director having the Characters sing LIVE was amazing. Saw Adam’s critique :( Have seen quite a few interviews on Talk Shows when actors were advertising movie and had quite an appreciation for the Process.
    I’ve since ordered the Les Mis DVD of the Broadway Cast. Want to experience it from that perspective and David’s.

    Some great movies I’ve seen Parental Guidance. Bette Mideler and Billy Crystal Loved it.

    Life of PI was amazing Fantastic.

    Saw the PBS Documentary on Bin Laden and not sure about seeing the Movie yet. Lots of Controversary on the Water boarding accuracy in the beginning of the Film. Being investigated by Congress/CIA

    Thanks HG for the Post.

  10. the last movie i saw was “sparkle” and i wasn’t very impressed with it. i thank all of you for the movie suggestions and i look forward to catching some of them before they leave the theaters.

Comments are closed.