22 comments on “Voice of Peace in a Culture of Violence

  1. HG, this is a beautifully written article. I shed tears again this morning while reading it, as I did yesterday hearing the details emerging about this tragedy. It actually felt too heavy for me to discuss on any form of social media yesterday. It felt like something that just had to sit on my heart for a while before I could talk about it or even logically process. Sigh. So much sadness.

    What also made me sad though was hearing so many people say that there was nothing good left in this world, that it was all violence and killing and essentially that we were doomed. That’s so not true. Yes, we need to fix this culture of guns but there is SO MUCH good that we never hear about on the 5 o’clock news, that’s never sensationalized in 3 inch font on the front of CNN. I am not trying to diminish in the least the magnitude of this atrocity but I also hate that many times all we hear are the bad things that have happened because that’s “news”. Or maybe we hear the bad because the good is the norm. And it really is. I see so much good every single day in little gestures and in grand projects. But now I’ve gone off on a tangent, I apologize.

    HG, I also wanted to say that one comment you made really reminded me of an article I read a few weeks back after another tragedy — this one with Jovan Belcher. It’s an op-ed piece about how we need to change the ideals that boys are raised with to include ways to express themselves without violence or being seen as ~less of a man~. This part especially resonated with me:

    “For the past several years, I have privately advised and counseled several professional and amateur athletes, and entertainers, all men, all grappling with very warped definitions of manhood. The recurring theme over and over is fear of expressing themselves fully, fear of letting others down, fear of not being the tough and rugged men they were told they had to be. And on the inside so many of them are damaged as a result. The very definition of manhood they’ve embraced is more an emotional prison than anything else. …

    We must struggle, harder than ever, as men, as boys, as a nation, to reach the point where a heart-to-heart conversation is the first and only option, not a gun, not gun violence. The lives of Jovan Belcher and Kasandra Perkins will have been in vain completely if we do not go deeper within ourselves to teach and show our sons, our husbands, our boyfriends, our fathers, our men and boys, that there is another way.”

    It’s a really good article. If anyone wants the read the full piece, http://www.cnn.com/2012/12/03/opinion/powell-football-manhood-suicide/index.html

    I do hope that we find a way to create goodness out of this tragedy, whether it’s through gun control or (imo) an even more important discussion on how we can raise our children to know there are much better ways than violence to resolve problems.

    I hope you all find peace in your hearts today <3

  2. Such a well written and thought provoking post hg. I think that this tragedy just hits home with everyone because we all realize that could have been our loved ones that were shot and killed yesterday. It does not matter where you live or how safe you believe your community is. There are also those inspiring and positive stories from yesterday about how some of those teachers and school staff protected their students from harm. Things need to change in regards to gun laws and violence that is so evident in some movies and video games. David is a soothing Voice of Peace. Well stated hg.

  3. HG, thanks for the thoughtful post. My feelings right now are still all over the place. Something has definitely got to change.

  4. I do not see everything that happens through a “David prism.” However, I do turn to his music — for me it was “Broken” on replay.

    FYI, it has come to my attention that an “Anon” has posted at least once on another fan site and that some of you responded to that “Anon” as if you were responding to me — the one who posts here. I assure you, we are not the same “Anon.”

  5. As a rule, I don’t watch graphic, sensational TV or listen to music that glorifies guns and killing. But if I did, I know it wouldn’t make me want to go out and use my gun to kill people. Where there is good, there is evil. It’s been there since the beginning of time. It takes a village to raise a child and our villages have become obsolete.
    Grammyj, how to raise children like David? His Dad said he just “came like that”. Wouldn’t it be wonderful to “patent” him? :-)

  6. I do not see everything that happens through a “David prism.”

    Which is why it’s so odd that you choose to frequent and post on a fan blog, whose very mission it is to interpret things through this “David prism.”

  7. I am devestated by what happened. I can’t even put it into context or find a frame of reference to fit.
    I am struggling to make sense, and to me, it feels like Sept 11 did.

    • I do appreciet your thoughts and insights , HG. I want to honor the families in some way, and find a ways to support them… but it is hard for me to even think about it or look at the coverage.

  8. ‎”When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping. To this day, especially in times of ‘disaster,’ I remember my mother’s words and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers – so many caring people in this world.” – Mr. Rogers

    On another tangent, mental illness doesn’t always depend on how well or badly someone was raised. It’s so true that David is good largely because “he came out that way”. I have many fears on both sides of this tragedy, because not only do I work in an elementary school classroom, but on the other hand, I have experience with the alienation and rage of several very well-raised boys (even from a Mormon family, fwiw) who suffer from conditions like schizophrenia, bi-polar, depression, and Asperger’s. Their thinking isn’t always rational or empathetic, no matter how much love and care they’ve been given. All they know is that life is so unfair and they want to lash out and hurt everyone, as they are hurting.

    This is why the gun part of the equation is so important. All the mental health treatment in the world may not be enough, if the person can’t be compelled to get help, or if the help isn’t really helping them. People who have had a mental health hospitalization can’t own guns for five years in our state, but it is way too easy to get them anyway. The real insanity is the idea that there is a legitimate use for assault weapons.

    I could go on and on about the fallacy of guns for self-defense in our society, but I’m probably preaching to the choir.

  9. Thank you HG for your article. I agree with you Raelovingangels.
    I thought I had lived through the worst tragedy I would ever see, 9/11 – but this feels just as bad. Perhaps not as many killed, but the fact that they were children so young and so close to Christmas, just makes me ill. Just hoping and praying they will find strength through all of this knowing they are not alone in their grief and that the world understands and feels their pain and grief too.

  10. SNL payed tribute to Conn. shooting victims last night by having the NYC children’s choir sing Silent Night. ” Beautiful tribute. I thought of David’s stunning performance of that song.

  11. Beautiful, helpful article and comments. Thanks, HG and all. I’m also at a loss for words right now. I do know that as I spent some time yesterday shopping for my college daughter’s visit home, I noticed so many parents, guiding their children with loving hands. Holding them close, talking to them gently — enjoying them. Over and over, I noticed this, and maybe this is their normal interaction and I was merely noticing more. Or maybe they, like many of us, appreciate even more, the preciousness of the very young in their lives and care.

Comments are closed.