34 comments on “Caption This!

  1. What? I know it’s not Thai food, and it’s all fried, and not healthy at all. But it’s almost American and I miss home. Don’t judge me.

  2. That caption is perfect…I am too taken back to make a caption. Miss the boy, the man, the Voice! But finally, finally for the first time since Christmas…and I am not exaggerating, he appears to be rested and healthy and not pushed beyond his limits. His smile is getting back to normal. Tons of candy in the background! Nice hair David!

    SB

    • I agree with you SB. I just thought that David looked way too thin and tired the last few years since AI. Maybe it was the pressure of the music business? idk. He sure does look healthier to me. I like desertrat’s caption. lol

    • It’s nice to see him alive and well, but I doubt he’s very rested, given his full work schedule 6 days and 7 nights per week. One of the Chile missionary blogs that was linked on a fan site, told of a recent inspirational talk from a visiting leader, who said that when missionaries go home, there should be an ambulance waiting for them at the airport–that’s how hard they’re to work.

      The recent “Message from Elder Archuleta” sounds as if his head is in a very serious place—“….this challenging life here on earth. Enduring to the end is not easy. It is a hard thing to do…..” etc. Plus he doesn’t have the usual outlet of listening to music. To quote another blog: “…Hah, as a missionary you crave music so bad!” Another current Chile missionary tells of being rejected, cursed at and flipped off every day, frustrated by constant missed appointments, and always being tired, wet, cold and hungry. (And yet he loves what he’s doing).

      These two years sound really difficult, but David has shown that he can thrive and be cheerful even under tough conditions, and I’m sure that like most missionaries, he finds the rewards worth all the hardships.

      • P.S. It sounds like you can skip the “hungry” part for David, as he’s being fed well by the members of the local church.

      • I think David was more prepared for his mission than most that go because he had such a hectic schedule while in the music business. He actually gets a decent amount of sleep at least. This seems to be a rite of passage for Mormon young men and I’m sure David knew what he was getting into. I also read that music is heard all the time out in the streets of Chile so I think David is actually getting to listen to music a lot. He just doesn’t get the chose what the music is.

      • I don’t understand why they don’t have the outlet of listening to music. That just sounds to extreme to me but then again I would not really understand any of it. It does sound like it is difficult to be a missionary. It is hard for me to believe that any of the other missionaries had a music career like David’s that they are sacrificing for 2 years . It is David’s choice. I guess.

      • I do believe that most of missionaries are just fine and I choose to believe that David is among these, but don’t tell me that all feel that happy. I’m sure that if (which I choose not to) I really researched, I would fine quite a few horror stories. And don’t tell me that these missionaries that have be told off weren’t a bit pushy, after all they are trying to sell this view of their religion as being the only correct way to whorship God.

      • Marie – they are allowed to listen to music. Its just supposed to be religious or inspirational. I saw a letter where one missionary was thanking his mom for sending David’s Christmas album and a Taylor Swift CD. lol. Not sure how inspirational Taylor is but they seemed to be allowed to listen. I would say its another one of those things where it depends on how strict your mission president is. Guess we won’t know about David’s particular requirements. He has been singing himself though so at least there’s that. :)

      • I think there could be an emotional toll, depending on how serious the missionary is. One top church leader says that the appropriate response when someone rejects the missionary’s message is for the missionary “to be devastated”. They believe this is life and death.

      • Ali, the quote about missing music is from one of the missionaries pictured in David’s travel group. He’s in the same area. He was happy that one of the people he taught kept the music on in their home, so he could listen, even though, strictly, it was against the rules.

      • cc – you seem to be very focused on looking at the absolute worst scenario for this mission. i understand that you don’t agree with missions but why does that mean you have to dwell on any possible negative aspect? that’s life. you take the bad with the good.

        i have a cousin who joined the peace corps and thought it would be the best experience of her life. i won’t specify where she went but she absolutely hated it. hated. does that mean everyone who joins the peace corps will be miserable?
        every person’s experience is unique. i could go to disney world and hate it. doesn’t mean it won’t be the greatest place on earth for someone else.

        i don’t have an agenda here. i’m not mormon. i don’t understand all the particulars of the religion. i did have some missionaries come talk to me though. they were quite pleasant and didn’t seem to be experiencing the worst 2 years of their lives. and, after their 3rd visit, when i told them i appreciated their information but i didn’t feel mormonism was for me, they were respectful and thanked me for my time. maybe they were horribly devastated after they left but they were holding up pretty well when last i saw them. thousands upon thousands of missionaries return every year from their mission. i’ve not seen any giant mass of traumatized individuals reported. i’m not saying there aren’t people who have bad missions. i just don’t think its epidemic.

        from everything i’ve read, they ARE allowed to listen to religious music. and from reading blogs, i know that david is singing at church meetings there. so he is not going without music in his life for 2 years.

      • I’m sure Ali is quite right that most missionaries are doing just fine. Perhaps most missionaries don’t take those gung ho type statements by their leaders that seriously. It’s common on the blogs I’ve read, that the missionaries are very attached to the job they are doing on their mission, and often don’t want to leave their areas when they are transferred. They seem to take most everything in stride.

        I’m just trying to balance some of the statements I’m seeing about David seeming well-rested, looking radiant, etc. with the truth that there is ample evidence, including David’s own words, that the missions are difficult, and a real sacrifice. Nobody’s saying that David is having a bad mission, unless you want to interpret his words that way. Apparently even mentioning the basic realities is “looking at the absolute worst scenario”. Nope, just being real–like I said, I think it’s hard but rewarding for them. (As far as dwelling on any possible negative aspect–there actually are a ton of horror stories that could be mentioned, but that wouldn’t be the point).

        As far as the quote about not getting to listen to music, you can believe it or not– whatever.

      • I am quite sure that he is able to listen to religious music or some other music as that would make sense. For some reason every time I see a pic of David with his “Elder” badge and shirt and tie on I think of the musical “The Book of Mormon”. I think he is going to start singing a song from the musical. lol That is not in any way meant as a put down or being negative but that is just what I think when I see it. I am sure David is happy as if he was not then he is free to leave at anytime.

      • Ali, I know that the experience that a missionary must have has to be great, or else the program would have no takers. I just have a hard time with the whole mission thing because I don’t belief in proelytizing door to door. I have been approached by two religions at my door, JW and LDS and both were fine when I told them I was happy with my beliefs, but both still wanted to leave reading material, which I rejected. At that point both walked away. Now I have a peep hole, so I don’t even open the door, problem solved.

      • I agree cq that is the way to solve the problem. I don’t even answer the door anymore if I don’t know who it is to be honest about it.

      • cc – i’m not looking to turn this into a back and forth debate but you are the one that mentioned multiple times about mission horror stories and “life and death” emotional tolls and offered a quote about missionaries needing an ambulance when they got home. to me that sounds like focusing on some pretty worst case scenario aspects. unless those are the basic realities you were referring to?

        i’m not living with rose colored glasses here. i understand that david isn’t tripping through fields of tulips for the next two years but i also don’t believe he’ll find it the worst experience of his life. yes its a sacrifice and yes there will be some crappy things he has to endure just as there will be some amazing memories, i’m sure. welcome to the real world, of which i’m sure david is already well acquainted. as you said, the things that are hard are often the most rewarding. and given the schedule he’s been living with, i don’t think the missionary work schedule will be much of a problem for him.

        i guess on this we’ll just have to agree to disagree. one thing we do agree on — we both care enough about david to care about how he’s doing. so i guess we can just build from there. all i can do is hope for the best for him.

      • LOL cq, i feel ya on the door thing. that’s generally my m.o. but the first time the missionaries visited i was outside doing yard work so the usual method was kinda shot.

        i’d be less annoyed by the JW if they hadn’t spent 2 months knocking on my door at 9am every saturday morning. i’m not very happy about it when you wake me up early on the weekend ;p

      • Ali, the missionary that talked about the ambulance story, was relating it as a really inspiring talk he heard from his leader. I thought it was a pretty potent story of how seriously the missions are taken. The quote about being devastated is in the training materials the missionaries use. I was just trying to illustrate my point, which is that this is not a break from the rigors of show business for David. I don’t really get your objection. Personally, I prefer having a realistic view of things rather than all sweetness and light, but I actually don’t think we’re in basic disagreement. My understanding of the LDS proselytizing effort is that “a matter of life and death” is really how seriously they see it.

  3. Caption:
    “Have some fries desertrat and then you, too, can have a surreal glow.”

    Have a good Friday everyone!

  4. Love the pictures from Chile….the thumb up picture makes me think that he knew that it might get to us fans, awe. I’m kinda surprised that being that he is fairly visual all over Chile, that there isn’t more pictures taken of him. Oh well, glad to get one now and then.

  5. Sigh. I will never understand why some of us continue to infantilize David, wringing our hands, worrying about how he’s taking care of himself in the big bad world.

    Really? After four years – count ‘em: FOUR YEARS – in the music industry, one year on American Idol, a commercial entertainment world where he’s encountered all kinds of characters, all kinds of amoral power-hungry types, and struggled to maintain his integrity and being true to his core self, do we really think David can’t handle a mission (even in a foreign country)?

    More than any other young person (especially those who never left the state of Utah or wherever they may have dwelled in their young adult lives), David is so ready and so equipped to do this two-year stint.

    I wish him well, as always.

    • Hg, totally agree with, yes, David of all people is so equipped for missionary work. Not worried about him at all. I remember an interview or article (one or the other) that he said he would love to experience living in another country/culture….so really he is doing one of those bucket list things. Now, as a fan, am I happy that he is away..NO, but I’m not worried about him.

      • Actually I do have to agree with you cq that as a fan I am not happy he is away from his career but it is his choice not mine.

    • Agreed HG!! David is better prepared and capable than most. Most Blogs I’ve read are pretty positive including one that entered the same day David did and is now stationed in Chile. He loves it and so does his Companion. He says his companion will be leaving the assignment in a month and doesn’t want to leave. He himself is saying he doesn’t think he wants to leave either. He takes loving pictures holding babies and visiting with families. I’m glad I happened upon the good stories.
      David is looking good and I was so happy to see the Signature Thumbs up on the Bus photo. It looks like he has a Strong Companion. It’s pretty rare that Missionaries mention David in their Vlogs anymore but one did say David sang at the Youth group in his area. JR has some posted.

      • Yes, it is nice to hear how he is doing or see a picture every few months. It is not like we do anything with the information except be pleased to know something. It seemed that the restaurant picture was a posed, thoughtful picture that he might gave thought would go somewhere. There is nothing that can compare to a little news or a picture now and again.

        So thanks for the mention that JR even had something. As nice as it is to converse with Kari, a little news is appreciated.

        SB

  6. “These two years sound really difficult, but David has shown that he can thrive and be cheerful even under tough conditions, and I’m sure that like most missionaries, he finds the rewards worth all the hardships.”

    I’m quoting from my first post on this thread–so I hope I’m not being accused of infantilizing him.

  7. I for one am very happy that you all post pictures of David now and then. I don’t think there is
    anything wrong with it because you do it with respect and decency. This is the only website that
    I know of that does this. I love seeing that smile we all have come to love.
    David knows that when a picture of him is taken it can end up just about anywhere. I honestly
    think David does this for his fans. GREAT JOB SOUL DAVID!!

      • I too am glad that you post these little David tidbits that come out of Chile. The other David fan-sites I visit don’t because of the big “don’t post missionary blogs” controversy. It is still insinuated by some that we are bad fans because we look at the David-related blogs and David pictures from Chile. By now I think we all can tell that David has told those closest to him in Chile not to have their blogs public so I think anything we see now will be a picture now and then from someone not close to David.

Comments Allowed

