23 comments on ““Elevator” Music Video Concepts

  1. LOL! I could envision that video. Would be so cool! Also, throwing in the ZG song it just a great idea.

  2. HG, I love your idea; mine’s not nearly as creative. I think David should do something that shows his sense of humor and his affinity for cartoons.

    On his way to a concert, he rides up an elevator with some of his friends. They exit the elevator and enter a room w/a band playing. The band consists of him and his friends doing a spoof of the cartoon “Archie” characters while they sing “Elevator”. The scene w/the band would appear in pencil-sketch animation (eg, A-Ha’s “Take on Me”).

    Talk about surreal, look at David & his mom on the elevator from 3:40-3:47.

  3. I prefer my idea:

    I’m the leading lady. I’ve travelled all the way from Finland to see David in concert. I’m in the hotel lobby, dragging my luggage to the elevator. I get in and the doors begin to shut, when a beautiful hand with long fingers stops them. David steps inside and sees me standing in the corner. He greets me with a joyful “HI!” and I can’t say a word being gobsmacked.

    “Hey… are you okay?” he asks, but I remain silent. David starts to get worried. “Is something wrong? Why won’t you say anything?” he keeps asking while I try to come up with something, anything, even a sound! “Well… maybe this’ll get you talking” he says and starts taking his shirt off. I watch him open-mouthed when the vision in front of me starts to blur and suddenly all I see is black.

    I wake up to David giving me mouth to mouth, so I pretend to be unconcious for a while. I flutter my eyes open seducingly and David smiles at me, saying “Thank goodness you’re alive! Listen, let’s go to my hotel room so you can lay down”. The elevator doors open and David leads me to his suite. The door closes behind us but opens one last time as David hangs a “Do not disturb” sign on the doorknob.

    The friggin’ end.

    But yours was okay too, HG.

  4. Great ideas all. Elevator would surely make a great video, So many great concepts there! ( guys in suits with “manager” label on their jackets standing at every floor, hehe) :lol:

  5. David gets into the elevator by himself but there are people already in it. Some people he recognizes. They are people who have helped him on his musical journey. He gives them a little smile. The other people he doesn’t recognize. He gives them a nod. David pushes the button to go to the top floor. As the door opens to let others out, David recognizes that the door has opened to images of some aspect of his life. It’s good. One of the people on the elevator invites him out where he briefly relieves that part of his life in a whirlwind of memories. The person is someone that has helped him during that time or someone that David has helped. The person stays in the room (or not) and David is suddenly thrust back into the elevator. The next stop is another aspect of his life and the same thing happens. This time a person abruptly pushes him out the door of the elevator. David has fallen to the ground and no one is helping to pick him up. He is in a dizzy whirlwind of people shouting at him and trying to tempt him to do something that he doesn’t want to do or is unsure of. He desperately wants to get back on the elevator to escape. With people grabbing him he finally breaks free. This goes on for two more stops (good and bad) until David reaches the floor that he wants. At the top, the door opens and it is his family, friends, and fans smiling and welcoming him into their world which is really the world he wants. David is relieved. As he steps out of the elevator the doors close behind him and he moves towards his goals (maybe the stage with a mic in his hand that someone has given him) with these people encouraging him with words like, we’re so proud of you, good job, we’re are with you all the way, we love you, we’re here to support you, etc.) . David, beams with joy as he shakes hands with fans and hugs family. Everyone is happy for him.

    Well, that was fun! I haven’t figured out what the bad and good situations would be but you get the idea, I hope.

  6. I love your video idea! LOL
    Jumping of your great idea…..

    David gets into the Elevator alone talking on the phone to someone – re an appointment- what floor are you on again Huh? Sorry I cannot hear you. He mutters to himself- hmm.. maybe it was 4- stops at 4- no that is not it…. stops at 5- no that is not it…. then says must be 6. Doors slam shut loud.

    Zero Gravity is playing on the elevator- he starts humming along to Zero Gravity- muttering- wow what a great song that is- wonder why I never heard this before on the radio?

    He starts to get lost in the song. shuts his eyes and starts floating out to the arena- Cut to the arena- where he is performing …He is performing Elevator with screaming people- ( sort of like that black and white touch my hands video)

    Final scene, David on stage singing, toward the end of Elevator you see fading out…………….and you hear a man’s voice saying wake up, wake up. David is wakes up startled! He is on a plane in a seat ( first class of course)…. Standing over him a man in an Airplane Steward uniform zoom in- It’s Bob Newhart- saying- Sir we have arrived at your destination. David says- Wow, you won’t believe the crazy dream I just had. The end.

  7. haha- and when he is humming along to Zero gravity he mutters- who is that artist- he sounds familiar. Sorry- I need to stop or I will keep tweeking for the next hour and spam myself 50 times.

  8. :-) Love the pencil sketch part.
    Also, on a side note- can you believe how young David’s mom looks? More like an older sister than mom.

  9. Newhart was one of my fav shows, esp. Larry, Daryl & Daryl. I just watched the last 10 min. of the final episode to see that dream sequence. I had forgotten all about it. Thx for the laugh!

  10. 356 138 DAVID ARCHULETA Elevator 23 2 21 0.056

    Elevator is #138 on top 40 radio

    it might be fun to watch these numbers :)

Comments are closed.